We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hotel & Value”
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Ranked #19 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Claremont, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel & Value”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Beautiful, well located, reasonably priced hotel in Munich. Just returned from a 3 night stay with my husband and daughter. Hotel is an easy 15 minute walk from the main train station and 20 minutes (through nice shopping streets made for strolling) to Marienplatz. 5 minutes to subway station which can get you anywhere in the city quickly and easily.

On a quiet residential street, the rooms are large (plenty of room for the 3 of us, we have had our cramped experiences in European hotels) and well furnished. Staff is friendly and helpful and breakfast is wonderful -- something to please everyone's taste buds.

All this at a very reasonable price -- I highly recomment the Hotel Uhland!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristineT34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    261
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
236
356
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed June, 2011. Sorry about the late review. The breakfast at Hotel Uhland was excellent. I got hooked on their delicious yogurt and museli, along with the other options. We had room 38, upstairs, and it was clean, quiet, comfortable and simple. The bathroom was clean and had a hairdryer which my wife was happy about. The location is good; it would be excellent if you were to stay here for Oktoberfest. It was about a 20 minute walk from the train station, and about the same distance to the old city area. Don't be put off by the simple web site: check out the photos on TripAdvisor. This was a good value, and we had a great time in Munich.
To save you time, just skip the other beer halls and go direct to Der Pschorr. The prok is wonderful; the beer is the best!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Helpful staff does not begin to describe the degree of hospitality we experienced at Uhland. The size - BIG for Europe! - and quality of the room, the generous continental breakfast options, the location - 20 minute walk to Marienplatz, and the reasonable price made our 2 night stay a most enjoyable one. In short, Uhland is a great way to experience large hotel convenience in a homey Bavarian setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mclessard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Munich for 2 night 3 days which is not enough, but this hotel has a great location on a quiet street and if its during Oktoberfest it is right by the grounds.The staff here was great all around, especially the man at the front desk he was very friendly and knowledgeable about the city, we found ourselves bs ing with him at the desk quite often. This hotel is very well priced, clean,quite "at least when I was there"and has a great staff, so I recommend it to anyone staying in Munich.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hillsvillepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. One driving down to Italy from Berlin and one on the return leg. We were a party of four - 2 adults, 2 children and also had our dog with us. The staff were unfailingly courteous, friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and has excellent beds and showers. The breakfast was a varied continental style buffet and a cheerful waitress provided freshly made hot drinks. On the first night we were given two rooms in the attic, one of which had recently (and beautifully) been refurbished. We were asked to keep the dog in the second room which had not been recently refurbished which seemed like a very reasonable request and we were happy to comply. One the return journey we were able to book the generously sized family room which was slightly cheaper than two rooms. There is free wifi at the hotel. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but we ate dinner around the corner at the Lenz restaurant. The hotel is just around the corner from the U-bahn and the large park where Octoberfest parties and other festivals are held. There is a carpark. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The attic rooms were very warm at night. Book early as the hotel is often fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A great place to stay. Extremely welcoming, knowledgable and helpful. The entire Staff was focused on helping us make the most of our family stay. The hotel is beautiful and the room we had was very spacious and well furnished. The location is on quiet street near the Octoberfest fairgrounds, which is about a ten minute walk from the train station and 15 minute walk to the heart of the downtown. Definitely the place we would stay on a return visit to Munich.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I cannot say enough good about this lovely little hotel! We had an EXCELLENT stay in early March, 2013. The staff was gracious, helpful, interested and well spoken. The hotel was clean, comfortable and convenient. The breakfasts were plentiful and available for a good period of time each morning.

I traveled with my three teens and one younger child and was in Germany for 5 days. I was a little concerned about staying at a youth hostel as this was my first trip to Germany with my kids and I wanted to be stress free about our lodging. After searching for a lengthy period of time, this hotel was the only one found to offer us a family room in which there were enough beds for the 5 of us as well as more than adequate space for our luggage and etc. We had a large corner room with two beautiful sets of windows that opened to the fresh air.

The hotel is located two blocks from the main train station. It was both convenient and easy to use. Of course there are maps and train tables at the hotel and the staff will help you to confidently get wherever you want to go.

It is within walking distance to numerous restaurants and bakeries and is also just across the road from Oktoberfest.

The staff were very good to my children and willing to converse about all sorts of things of interest in the area. They are friendly, multi-lingual and knowledgeable about their city!

We appreciated every aspect of our stay at Hotel Uhland, found it a great value and will most certainly choose them at any opportunity!

Room Tip: The Family Room on the front corner of the second floor was spacious, airy and we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 382 in Munich
1,590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
843 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 382 in Munich
2,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#8 of 382 in Munich
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 382 in Munich
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Property: Hotel Uhland
Address: Uhlandstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#9 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Flat screen TV in every room Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing