We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast, Wonderful Room”
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Ranked #36 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed June, 2011. Sorry about the late review. The breakfast at Hotel Uhland was excellent. I got hooked on their delicious yogurt and museli, along with the other options. We had room 38, upstairs, and it was clean, quiet, comfortable and simple. The bathroom was clean and had a hairdryer which my wife was happy about. The location is good; it would be excellent if you were to stay here for Oktoberfest. It was about a 20 minute walk from the train station, and about the same distance to the old city area. Don't be put off by the simple web site: check out the photos on TripAdvisor. This was a good value, and we had a great time in Munich.
To save you time, just skip the other beer halls and go direct to Der Pschorr. The prok is wonderful; the beer is the best!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Uhland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 873 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Helpful staff does not begin to describe the degree of hospitality we experienced at Uhland. The size - BIG for Europe! - and quality of the room, the generous continental breakfast options, the location - 20 minute walk to Marienplatz, and the reasonable price made our 2 night stay a most enjoyable one. In short, Uhland is a great way to experience large hotel convenience in a homey Bavarian setting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclessard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Munich for 2 night 3 days which is not enough, but this hotel has a great location on a quiet street and if its during Oktoberfest it is right by the grounds.The staff here was great all around, especially the man at the front desk he was very friendly and knowledgeable about the city, we found ourselves bs ing with him at the desk quite often. This hotel is very well priced, clean,quite "at least when I was there"and has a great staff, so I recommend it to anyone staying in Munich.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hillsvillepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. One driving down to Italy from Berlin and one on the return leg. We were a party of four - 2 adults, 2 children and also had our dog with us. The staff were unfailingly courteous, friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and has excellent beds and showers. The breakfast was a varied continental style buffet and a cheerful waitress provided freshly made hot drinks. On the first night we were given two rooms in the attic, one of which had recently (and beautifully) been refurbished. We were asked to keep the dog in the second room which had not been recently refurbished which seemed like a very reasonable request and we were happy to comply. One the return journey we were able to book the generously sized family room which was slightly cheaper than two rooms. There is free wifi at the hotel. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but we ate dinner around the corner at the Lenz restaurant. The hotel is just around the corner from the U-bahn and the large park where Octoberfest parties and other festivals are held. There is a carpark. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The attic rooms were very warm at night. Book early as the hotel is often fully booked.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A great place to stay. Extremely welcoming, knowledgable and helpful. The entire Staff was focused on helping us make the most of our family stay. The hotel is beautiful and the room we had was very spacious and well furnished. The location is on quiet street near the Octoberfest fairgrounds, which is about a ten minute walk from the train station and 15 minute walk to the heart of the downtown. Definitely the place we would stay on a return visit to Munich.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I cannot say enough good about this lovely little hotel! We had an EXCELLENT stay in early March, 2013. The staff was gracious, helpful, interested and well spoken. The hotel was clean, comfortable and convenient. The breakfasts were plentiful and available for a good period of time each morning.

I traveled with my three teens and one younger child and was in Germany for 5 days. I was a little concerned about staying at a youth hostel as this was my first trip to Germany with my kids and I wanted to be stress free about our lodging. After searching for a lengthy period of time, this hotel was the only one found to offer us a family room in which there were enough beds for the 5 of us as well as more than adequate space for our luggage and etc. We had a large corner room with two beautiful sets of windows that opened to the fresh air.

The hotel is located two blocks from the main train station. It was both convenient and easy to use. Of course there are maps and train tables at the hotel and the staff will help you to confidently get wherever you want to go.

It is within walking distance to numerous restaurants and bakeries and is also just across the road from Oktoberfest.

The staff were very good to my children and willing to converse about all sorts of things of interest in the area. They are friendly, multi-lingual and knowledgeable about their city!

We appreciated every aspect of our stay at Hotel Uhland, found it a great value and will most certainly choose them at any opportunity!

Room Tip: The Family Room on the front corner of the second floor was spacious, airy and we loved it!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked this hotel for a two night stay at the end of our Bavarian vacation with my husband, mother and adult son. The hotel is down the block from the Octoberfest grounds which is on the fringes of the downtown area. The train station is a walk or a taxi is about 10Euros into town. The hotel is on a small street and is up a flight of stairs. Once inside the hotel there is an elevator to access the 3 floors of the hotel. The hotel has charm and is staffed with very friendly, kind and attentive staff. They were available for help at any time. The hotel has wi-fi throughout and a computer on the reception level. There is a breakfast room that serves from about 7am until 10am. The breakfast has a nice variety of cold choices; cereals, breads, cold cuts and hard boiled eggs. The rooms are clean and neat with basics. There was only liquid soap, no shampoo,etc. so bring your own. It was basic.
It was a nice stay with a little local charm instead of a traditional hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speak2me2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 385 in Munich
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#24 of 385 in Munich
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabell
Hotel Mirabell
#16 of 385 in Munich
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $90 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Flat screen TV in every room Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing