We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly & Unhelpful Staff”
Review of Hotel an der Oper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel an der Oper
Ranked #156 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unfriendly & Unhelpful Staff”
Reviewed December 3, 2010

My mother booked this hotel at a "discount" price of €417 for three nights without breakfast. Due to heavy snowfall in Ireland, she couldn't come to Munich. As it was booked at a so called "discount" price, a refund wasn't possible.That's understandable but women were so unfriendly & said "the weather is your mother's problem, not ours". I didn't even ask for a refund at that stage but asked if they could even give a voucher of some kind a a good will gesture. They told me to get in touch again the next day so I forwarded them an email I received from the Mercure hotel nearby (the rest of her friends were staying there). The Mercure were fantastic & refunded 50% of the cost. Hotel an der oper replied saying they would not offer anything even though their competition were willing to. I found the staff rude wouldn't recommend the hotel as a result.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firefly081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    71
    57
    18
    6
See reviews for
38
53
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Fantastic location IF you can find it. No parking at Hotel. Rooms very old and worn. Lots of street noise. Way overpriced for what you get!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanffAcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderoper, Inhaber at Hotel an der Oper, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Dear guest,

thank you very much for sharing your experiences from your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that we did not meet you expectations during your stay. You are wright that we do not have own car parking in our street - city centre. But we have a parking garage nearby for our guests. This garage is only a few minutes away. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience due to noise pollution. We are also sorry that we didn’t meet your contentedness with your room. If there is someone not satisfied with his room, we are always taken the opportunity to offer another room.We would be very grateful giving us another opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel

Best regards
Karin Dürr
Owner
Hotel an der Oper Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I went on a business trip that included stays in 4 star hotels in London, Barcelona and Munich. The London & Barcelona hotels were half the price and at least twice as nice!
This hotel has a bar across the street that had patrons shouting and laughing in the street up until 3:45 am on a Thursday night - even earplugs didn't help as there was no aircon - so I had to leave the window open! It was like a German version of Fawlty Towers - but not funny. The hotel is outdated - the room I stayed in had been updated, but I had a single occupancy booking so the double bed in my room came with a single duvet!
There were no tea or coffee making facilities either.
This is definitely not a 4 star hotel and not worth the 200-plus Euro cost.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderoper, Inhaber at Hotel an der Oper, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Dear Cathy,

first of all we would like to thank you for the review of your stay. Feedback such as yours is very important to us in order to constantly improve our service quality. We very sorry that your stay at our hotel was not satisfactory. Due to our location in the city centre we are aware that there may be noise pollution. We are very sorry for that. You have mentioned that you have had just a single duvet at your room. It would have been nice if you had given us the possibilty to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Best regards

Karin Dürr
Owner
Hotel an der Oper Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed at the hotel at the suggestion of a friend. He must have had a different room and area of the hotel than ours. We had booked a standard double room. It was simply worn out. Chipped paint, old carpet and there was small construction underway in the hallway which did not add to the overall ambience. We were only booked for one night so while disappointed it did not ruin the day or evening. The beds were comfortable.
However, while the hotel is well located in Munich old town the noise from nearby bars and restaurants could be heard through the hotel windows which was very annoying. The noise and partying went on until 5 or 6 in the morning.
Not all was disappointing, the breakfast room and breakfast were good. The locale in the old town is very good.
We will not stay there again on our next visit to Munich.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderoper, Inhaber at Hotel an der Oper, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank your review about your stay at our hotel. We are sorry that did not meet your expectations. In the meantime we have laid new carpets in all standard rooms . We also renovate all standard rooms step by step. We hope for your understanding and would be happy to welcome you at another occasion.

Best regards

Karin Dürr
Owner
Hotel an der Oper - Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We changed hotels and ended up at this hotel. Everything is new and fresh (we stayed in the annex rooms across the street). Large rooms with large bathrooms. Very clean and fresh. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was helpful and direct.

The location was what made the big difference for us. We were in walking distance to all major sites. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Very clean and comfortable. Beautiful room.
  • Disliked — Some noise outside on street.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2007

We stayed here in October and found it over-priced. Yes it has a great location but furnishings and breakfast room all look faded, and somewhat depressing. I bet this hotel hasn't been renovated since the seventies. They should invest some of the dosh they charge for the rooms in renovating the place. I also found the staff stiff and unfriendly.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank shaddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 11, 2006

My family of four stayed in two rooms at the An der Oper during the World Cup 2006. I was hesitant at staying after reading the previous reviews, but rooms in the city center were very scarce for that time and hugely expensive. We are so glad that we stayed. I think the hotel underwent a renovation in the past year and there is a new annex across the street from the main hotel. We stayed in 2 rooms in the new annex. They were lovely, well appointed and spacious. All the furnishings were new, the beds and linens were very nice and the bathrooms were absolutely wonderful. We felt so lucky! The best thing though was the location. It is so close to Marienplatz, the Opera, the English Garden, Maximillian Strasse, everything! We walked everywhere and had a fantastic time. The people were very friendly. There definitely is street noise but I think you can get rooms on the courtyard side. I would recommend asking for the rooms in the new annex, as I have not seen any of the rooms in the main hotel. We were delighted with our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 382 in Munich
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#104 of 382 in Munich
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
1,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 382 in Munich
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Oper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Oper

Property: Hotel an der Oper
Address: Falkenturmstr. 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#76 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel an der Oper 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel surrounded by historical monuments, the splendor of renowned boulevards and crisscrossed by narrow streets, tucked away and protected from noisy streets in central Munich. Enjoy most central location, beautiful facilities, close proximity to the Bavarian State Opera and the Marienplatz. With fine, Italian cuisine, we welcome you in our Osteria Il Tenore. Munich enjoys a well-deserved reputation for its hospitality and we're glad to be a part of that ongoing tradition. It is our sincere wish to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, MyHotelShop, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel an der Oper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Der Oper Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing