We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best recommendations...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel an der Oper

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel an der Oper
Ranked #174 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best recommendations...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

All good things about this hotel you have already in other reviews. Just want to add that it is enough warm in winter, enough cosy with bathrobes and silent ambience, very close to all tourist, shopping and food attractions and very friendly. Rooms are small, but if you do not plan to spend a lot of time in a room - choose this hotel with no doubt.

I almost forgot about check-in in the morning, but here we waited for a room just 20 minutes...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    54
    49
    16
    6
See reviews for
32
47
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Clean and comfortable rooms. I had a suite with a sunny and spacious bathroom - a wonderful place to come back to after hiking all over Munich from this central location. I am a fast sleeper, so the noise, almost inevitable in a downtown location, did not faze me, especially given the double windows. Service was quick, even though I stayed in the Annex across the street from the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zig11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although this little gem has a convenient location in the old part of Munich it is still quiet (especially if you ask for room in the back). One block away is the famed Maximillian Strasse with the elegant shops of the world. In the other direction is the hustle of beer halls, the Marienplatz and the U-Bahn (the underground). I have been staying there for years. But don't expect a large lobby--there is none. Or the amenities of a large urban hotel. This one is older and small, with free WIFi. The breakfasts are terrific.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theatertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

for this hotel it is about 3 things, location, position, and situation. this hotel is great because in muechen one would almost never spent much time in the hotel unless is too drunk to keep dranking too much beer. The hotel is only a two minute walk to the hofbrau and a three minute walk to what i believe to be the best beer pub in muechen, Schneider Weisses brauhaus. however, at night, there are often drunks walking around the area of the hotel and the windows are not very soundproof

Room Tip: the rooms ard the noise are a bit lacking, but who gives a damn when one is gonna spent all their ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SadisticPlatypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location! Walking distance to most sites, markets, great resturants etc... The hotel itself is clean, rooms have air conditioning but are on the small side and hotel is a little dated. Breakfast is lovely with plenty of choice. You do get noise at night but it's a city centre location so you expect some level of noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riz188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The rooms at Hotel an der Oper are functional and clean, the location is good for the Hoffbrauhaus, but otherwise there is not much to commend it.

The price seemed a little steep for what you get at GBP250 for one night mid-week.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RolloMcFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The location is great- within stumbling distance to the Hofbrauhaus and an easy walk to the Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt but.. the decor is terribly dated, the beds and pillows are less than comfortable, staff was so-so, and the price was high. No free wifi and breakfast not included. Not a great value- certain there must be better values out there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zaichek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Falkenturm
Hotel Falkenturm
#251 of 396 in Munich
3.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#133 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.1 mi away
Maximilian Munich
Maximilian Munich
#45 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Oper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Oper

Property: Hotel an der Oper
Address: Falkenturmstrasse 10, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#78 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel an der Oper 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel surrounded by historical monuments, the splendor of renowned boulevards and crisscrossed by narrow streets, tucked away and protected from noisy streets in central Munich. Enjoy most central location, beautiful facilities, close proximity to the Bavarian State Opera and the Marienplatz. With fine, Italian cuisine, we welcome you in our Osteria Il Tenore. Munich enjoys a well-deserved reputation for its hospitality and we're glad to be a part of that ongoing tradition. It is our sincere wish to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel an der Oper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Der Oper Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing