We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, however ....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel an der Oper

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel an der Oper
Ranked #170 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, however ....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The location is great- within stumbling distance to the Hofbrauhaus and an easy walk to the Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt but.. the decor is terribly dated, the beds and pillows are less than comfortable, staff was so-so, and the price was high. No free wifi and breakfast not included. Not a great value- certain there must be better values out there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zaichek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    59
    52
    17
    6
See reviews for
33
50
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Fram reservation to check out our experiance was excellent
Very helpfull staff , Clean rooms ,Excellent Breakfast No need to mention the location
I m having difficulties to add further nice points I would highly reccomend to any one and surely i ll stay there during my next visit

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AL C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

the location of the hotel is very good - close to all Munich sites: cathedral, beer houses, shops. the hotel itself is an old style hotel, but renovated and clean. the beds though are not very nice - narrow and low. the staff is helpful.
we stayed two nights there but for the next visit to Munich will try to find another hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SomewhereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was staying here on business and paying 191 euros a night for bed and breakfast. I booked a single room but at these prices and in an alleged 4 star hotel, I did not expect to be in a room that was dark, dated, dingy and small with only a single bed. Not only that but I had to cross the road to get from reception (and breakfast/restaurant) to the building with my room. My room is also beside a lift and the soundproofing between rooms is inadequate. The bed is comfortable but only one low pillow is supplied. The bathroom has no bath and the shower head was loose. When sitting on the toilet At these prices I certainly expect something far better

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Small, lobby, expensive breakfast otherwise nothing to complane. The location of the Hotel is excellent, in the middle of the city centre. Prices in the pubs and bierhalle are really normal. lobby in the Hotel is really tiny, but does the job, garage is in the nearby garage center, staff was really freindly.

Room Tip: Great location!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trampucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olen
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

It is a good value for money hotel, old fashioned rooms with style. Clean. The reception definitely needs a complete renovation, it is not client friendly. The staff was correct but not really friendly. Breakfast is very good and the Italian restaurant in the evening is a great place, good food, great service, pleasant,
If you have suitcases to carry, there are stairs everywhere even when you take the elevator.

Room Tip: maybe ask for renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johan_christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

i can recommend a small nice hotel to minutes from the opera in Munich.
Excellent location location, very nice people working the, a very nice breakfast buffet. Reasonable price. It is not luxury but very good value for money.
It is also only three minutes from Residenz, the former Royal Palace with more than 90 rooms as well as two very fine restaurants in Pfisterstrasse: Boettners and Pfistermühle.
Birte, Copenhagen

Room Tip: Quiet street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#12 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Falkenturm
Hotel Falkenturm
#280 of 391 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maximilian Munich
Maximilian Munich
#66 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Concorde Munich
Tulip Inn Concorde Munich
#120 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#15 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Oper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Oper

Property: Hotel an der Oper
Address: Falkenturmstr. 10, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Munich
#78 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel an der Oper 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel surrounded by historical monuments, the splendor of renowned boulevards and crisscrossed by narrow streets, tucked away and protected from noisy streets in central Munich. Enjoy most central location, beautiful facilities, close proximity to the Bavarian State Opera and the Marienplatz. With fine, Italian cuisine, we welcome you in our Osteria Il Tenore. Munich enjoys a well-deserved reputation for its hospitality and we're glad to be a part of that ongoing tradition. It is our sincere wish to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel an der Oper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Der Oper Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing