We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, small hotel”
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Opera
Ranked #138 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2008

We stayed here one night only. The hotel is nice, older furnishings, very clean and well stocked. The bedding was good.

The location is good for the Hofbrauhaus and the older area in Munich (the name of the area is escaping me). We were able to walk everywhere from the hotel. We even walked from the main train station to the hotel with luggage after an overnight train from Florence.

One nice thing, we arrived at about 9 am from train station and asked to leave our luggage at the desk. The staff was very kind to allow us to check into our room at that early hour. We were then able to get a shower!!! We were very thankful.

We were concerned about theft as another reviewer stated, however, the room had a safe and nothing was bothered. We did have a two room suite, and we only paid 119 Euros on the Hotel.de website.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Longingtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 286 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2008

My wife, teenage daughter and I spent the Easter weekend at Hotel Opera and had a most enjoyable stay! We liked the fact that it is in a residential area yet within easy walking distance of all of the main attractions of the central downtown area. We took the train/metro from the airport to a station within only a couple of blocks from the hotel - very convenient. The daily breakfast was outstanding and the entire hotel had an Olde World charm we really enjoyed. I describe it as the place I'd stay to write my classic novel. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALL_AMERICAN_NOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

I had a lot of money stolen from my hotel ropm and suffice it to say that I am convinced that it was an inside job. The management was singularly unhelpful.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JonahTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

My husband uncovered The Opera when booking a brief layover after our wedding- we've been back many time since. Intimate, impeccably decorated with a few tasteful antiques, the Opera located within a residential neighborhood, easy walking distance of sights, restaurants and shops. The staff is helpful, friendly and attentive. Stay in the room with the "winter garden" and splurge on room service breakfast for a leisurely and decadent breakfast in the glass enclosed balcony (with heated floors in winter!)

I'm looking for something in Berlin and wish the Opera had a twin!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Canobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

I stayed at Hotel Opera for a few nights in December and would never go back. The rooms were overpriced and not as clean as they should have been. We reserved two single beds, and were given one full bed. I asked that the down pillows and comforters be removed or replaced because of allergies, and they were not. The sheets were not changed once during our stay.
One day we returned to the room and found the door unlocked. When I reported it to the front desk their response was, "So?"
The breakfasts, which were quite good, were included in the price of the room but, the one morning I asked for two glasses of juice instead of just one, the juice was served in the tiniest little glasses I've ever seen. It was really cheap on their part.
If I wanted service like this I would have stayed in a youth hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sesBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

We just returned from our second stay at the Opera within a two and a half year period. We found the "Standard" rooms on this particular visit to be below par. The period furnishings are looking worn as are the rugs. The rooms are very small. The bathrooms with these rooms were also tiny.I wouldn't recommend a "Standard" room at this hotel. Perhaps a more expensive room would be better.
Service, breakfast and location are all great.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Roedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2006

After an inauspicious start with a horrible taxi driver who literally threw us on to the snow covered pavement outside the hotel, we were enchanted with the Opera. Set in a great location, we had a gorgeous room at the front, beautifully decorated, with a sitting room. The large size of the room contrasted with the tiny bathroom which could not really fit two people at the same time but was efficiently laid out.

Breakfast was served in a charming room and was good, if a little pricey. I thought it was a bit much to charge 4 euros extra for fresh orange juice. Some of the hotel staff were a little off-hand but that has been my experience everywhere and the assistant (male) concierge could not have been more helpful.

Although the hotel says it has internet access this consists of one laptop in the lobby downstairs and you have to ask the staff to log on for you.

Munich is a wonderful city, we were there between Christmas and New Year when everything was blanketed in snow - make the effort to get out of Munich and see the Bavarian Alps, they are truly lovely.

The food in Munich is to die for, we didn't have one bad meal and prices are very reasonable. I highly recommend La Stanza, an Italian bar/restaurant just a stroll from the hotel where I had the best ravioli I have ever tasted (and I had just spent two months in Italy). We also loved a more traditional place down in a basement just before the arch, turn left when you exit the hotel - this seemed to be popular with locals and the meal was sublime.

The Munchens are charming and really know how to enjoy life, I can't wait to go back there. I had been told in Italy that there is a cross-border love affair between the residents of Munich and Florence, and I can see why. The hotel was packed with Italians on New Year's Eve. My parents will be staying at the Opera in September - my mother insisted and she is very fussy - a testament to the charms of this hotel!!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cmosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
#51 of 385 in Munich
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#118 of 385 in Munich
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#164 of 385 in Munich
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adria Munchen
Hotel Adria Munchen
#117 of 385 in Munich
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Address: St.-Anna-Str. 10, 80538 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#53 Business Hotel in Munich
#69 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $208 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet part of central Munich, this charming hotel offers a pretty courtyard and elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi. Marienplatz Square is just a 10-minute walk away. The 4-star Hotel Opera provides classically furnished rooms decorated with antiques. Your bathroom features bathrobes, slippers and toiletries. Some rooms have a balcony facing the courtyard. Breakfast is served in the Opera's luxurious dining room or on the peaceful grounds. In the evenings, Restaurant Gandl offers Italian, French and regional dishes. Guests can enjoy drinks in the bright conservatory. Lehel Metro Station is just 650 ft from the Hotel Opera. Trains run to Munich Central Station in 5 minutes. Hofbrauhaus Beer Hall is a 10-minute walk away. Altstadt - Lehel is a great choice for travelers interested in Opera, Shopping, People Watching and Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing