We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, beautiful small hotel”
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Opera
Ranked #142 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“great location, beautiful small hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A great location; easy walk to all the main sites of Munich. The staff was polite and attentive. The breakfast is wonderful and served in an open courtyard. The furnishings are unique. The beds are very comfortable.

Room Tip: I suggest you park on the street and use the free parking permit provided by the hotel. Otherwise y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterfall9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    99
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
42
118
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spent 4 days @ Hotel Opera. Great location, very friendly service, nice Italian restaurants in the eighbourhood. Great open area to have breakfast. One negative, though - minuscule bathroom gets awfully hotin summer!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Hotel Opera iis a well-located, boutique hotel with an excellent staff; our stay in Munich could not have been better. Our family stayed in three rooms, all had different decor and all interesting. Our rooms were comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was tastefully served outside on a patio with many varied choices offered. The staff was extremely helpful throughout our stay with many recommendations. When I accidentally left my make-up bag behind, they very kindly forwarded it to my next stop. I would highly recommend the Hotel Opera.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great character hotel, well situated. Subway stop one block away. Can be hot as no aircon, but rooms overlooking the courtyard at the back are great. Well recommended as staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were good with a fair selection of

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are best, but no aircons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vernon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a delightful stay here. The hotel is stylishly elegant with a levely breakfast area both inside and in the courtyard. The breakfast itself was beautiful and delivered efficiently and courteously by well trained staff. The staff were extremely helpful in helping us resolve some travel issues associated with the floods in southern Germany. The hotel is well situated with a popular eating area with several choices only a 100m away. Marienplatz etc is easily reachable by foot and the metro is only a couple of hundred metres away.
We had a standard room initially which was small but comfortable. One advisory is that the rooms are not air conditioned and this could be an issue in those rooms exposed to afternoon sun during hot spells.
Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford to go one up from the standard room do so as ours was on the small side (though ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wozzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I recently returned from Munich and a delightful stay at the Hotel opera. This little gem is on a quite street in a residential area, yet still centrally located and within very easy walking distance of Marienplatz and the market area. It is a small hotel that is well cared for and elegantly decorated. The service was courteous and helpful. I was really impressed with the breakfast, served at tiny individual tables set with china, a silver coffee pot and a lit candle. The hotel is kept very clean and our room was cleaned and aired daily. We had a charming room decorated in traditional bavarian style with rustic wood furniture and lots of lovely little details. I would not hestiate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRoCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in Opera Hotel Munich in late June, 2013. We found the location very convenient - in a quiet side street, yet 10 minutes walk from the centre of Munich. The hotel was charming, elegant and cosy, and staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and our breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. We enjoyed the fresh fruit, lovely cooked breakfasts, and elegant tea service. The service was impeccable. I would really recommend this hotel over most others - very welcoming and intimate compared with most large, commercial- type hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margie547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
#55 of 383 in Munich
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adria Munchen
Hotel Adria Munchen
#126 of 383 in Munich
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 383 in Munich
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#170 of 383 in Munich
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#108 of 383 in Munich
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Property: Hotel Opera
Address: St.-Anna-Str. 10, 80538 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#53 Business Hotel in Munich
#70 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet part of central Munich, this charming hotel offers a pretty courtyard and elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi. Marienplatz Square is just a 10-minute walk away. The 4-star Hotel Opera provides classically furnished rooms decorated with antiques. Your bathroom features bathrobes, slippers and toiletries. Some rooms have a balcony facing the courtyard. Breakfast is served in the Opera's luxurious dining room or on the peaceful grounds. In the evenings, Restaurant Gandl offers Italian, French and regional dishes. Guests can enjoy drinks in the bright conservatory. Lehel Metro Station is just 650 ft from the Hotel Opera. Trains run to Munich Central Station in 5 minutes. Hofbrauhaus Beer Hall is a 10-minute walk away. Altstadt - Lehel is a great choice for travelers interested in Opera, Shopping, People Watching and Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing