We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in central Munich”
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Opera
Ranked #138 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Regina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real gem in central Munich”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I recently returned from Munich and a delightful stay at the Hotel opera. This little gem is on a quite street in a residential area, yet still centrally located and within very easy walking distance of Marienplatz and the market area. It is a small hotel that is well cared for and elegantly decorated. The service was courteous and helpful. I was really impressed with the breakfast, served at tiny individual tables set with china, a silver coffee pot and a lit candle. The hotel is kept very clean and our room was cleaned and aired daily. We had a charming room decorated in traditional bavarian style with rustic wood furniture and lots of lovely little details. I would not hestiate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRoCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    100
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
42
119
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in Opera Hotel Munich in late June, 2013. We found the location very convenient - in a quiet side street, yet 10 minutes walk from the centre of Munich. The hotel was charming, elegant and cosy, and staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and our breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. We enjoyed the fresh fruit, lovely cooked breakfasts, and elegant tea service. The service was impeccable. I would really recommend this hotel over most others - very welcoming and intimate compared with most large, commercial- type hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margie547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I really recommend this hotel if you want a more boutique experience rather than a business hotel. The staff is very friendly and attentive, the rooms are all individually decorated with cute themes (my mum's was a typical Bavarian room, mine was a black and gold opera-themed room!) and the location is really great, in a quiet part of the city just a 5-10 minute walk away from the centre. There are lots of nice little cafes and restaurants on the hotel's doorstep and the neighbourhood in general feels kind of bohemian, it's great. Also, the subway is 2 minutes away, all very convenient.
The breakfast is sensational. The impeccable waitstaff presents you with a basket of bread and pastries, ham and cheese, fresh fruit, smoked salmon, endless coffee. You can order other items (omelettes etc) extra. It is served in the hotel's lobby which is charming with all kinds of nooks that make it feel like a very private space.
Highly recommended!
Oh and the front desk staff helped me buy tickets to Neuschwanstein castle in advance, they were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWills10026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperaMunich, Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear AWills10026,

thank you for your great review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding our location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. These are all points that we pride ourselves on here at Hotel Opéra, and we are glad to hear that you agree.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Munich.

Kind regards,

Malte Wiedemeyer
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Quaint, charming and comfortable. Lovely, pleasant and conveniently located. Relaxing stay.
Breakast was beautifully served in an old world setting full of charm.
Staff was willing to help in any way they could.

We will go back!

Room Tip: NO A/C in hotel. Suggest you go when weather is mild.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperaMunich, Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear BAHG,

thank you for your fantastic review. It is great to hear that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Munich. We strive to create a special experience for all our guests here at Hotel Opéra and we are glad to hear that you had such an incredible stay with us.

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Malte Wiedemeyer
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel Opera is in a great position, only 100 metres from Lehel underground station and 50 metres from Maximillian Strasse, so therefore a 10 minute walk into the centre of Munich. The reception area of this boutique hotel is somewhat "chocolate boxey" but nicely done. Breakfast is taken around the reception area in smaller anti-rooms, and so quite private. Very good breakfast with waiter service. We were shown to our room (27), and a little disappointed at first, as not very big. However what we didn't see at first glance was the private conservatory attached to the room. This enable us to sit overlooking the inner courtyard. It was warm in Munich and so the conservatory was very welcome. Wouldn't be as useful in colder months. The bathroom was very, very small but usable. No bath, just a shower. The hotel does not offer dinner, but owns two local restaurants, Lehel and Gandl. Both only 3 minutes walk and very good.
Didn't sleep very well whilst there. Corridors quite noisy when other guests walked through.
TV in the room, with German/French/Italian/Arab channels, plus BBC news channel. No Sky sport.
Check in and check out very quick and efficient. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Each of 3 floors have one room with a conservatory. First floor was room 27 , so likely that others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grit0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kasteli
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A lovely small stylish hotel in the centre of Munich. Quite, elegance, a beautifull design with passion for the art. I believe that hotel Opera is an ideal place for discerning people who value individuality and luxury. The owners are very interested people very charms and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A weekend trip to Münich and because of the football matches on that same weekend, most hotels were booked already. It was by sheer luck we stumbled into the last room at this fantastic little boutique hotel. It has all the old charm of the previous century; high ceilings, carvings, antique furniture, all white with draperies, mirrors.
The little breakfast area downstairs was divided between 3 spaces, a lovely combination of white french garden/parlour furniture, silver candlesticks and butter dishes! The cutlery was silver and they even serve the coffee, with fresh cream!! in silver pots and the tea in these lovely little rose detailed tea pots.

The location is very convenient; directly underneath the arches of this National theatre or gallery on Maximilliamstrasse. You have all the grand designer shops of that street just as you turn out and cross that large crossing by the Opera house and University.
As far as I know, all the rooms in the hotel are decorated with its own theme. We got one that was all white curtains, pink carpet and old world chandeliers and glass bedside tables. The room was well proportioned, with a lovely old mahogany round table and white french dining and armchairs. The only thing is that tha toilet is divided from the shower cubicle, but at least each has it own sink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imajesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
Hotel Splendid-Dollmann
#58 of 383 in Munich
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adria Munchen
Hotel Adria Munchen
#124 of 383 in Munich
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 383 in Munich
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#170 of 383 in Munich
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#108 of 383 in Munich
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Property: Hotel Opera
Address: St.-Anna-Str. 10, 80538 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#53 Business Hotel in Munich
#70 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet part of central Munich, this charming hotel offers a pretty courtyard and elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi. Marienplatz Square is just a 10-minute walk away. The 4-star Hotel Opera provides classically furnished rooms decorated with antiques. Your bathroom features bathrobes, slippers and toiletries. Some rooms have a balcony facing the courtyard. Breakfast is served in the Opera's luxurious dining room or on the peaceful grounds. In the evenings, Restaurant Gandl offers Italian, French and regional dishes. Guests can enjoy drinks in the bright conservatory. Lehel Metro Station is just 650 ft from the Hotel Opera. Trains run to Munich Central Station in 5 minutes. Hofbrauhaus Beer Hall is a 10-minute walk away. Altstadt - Lehel is a great choice for travelers interested in Opera, Shopping, People Watching and Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing