We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family run Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kriemhild

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kriemhild
Ranked #4 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family run Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are a family of 5 and we shared one of the joined rooms. From the first moment we got to the hotel we were made welcome by the owners. The hotel is very clean and tidy with good beds and bathroom facilities and bar fridge. The hotel is located near the Nymphenburg Palace and the Nymphenburg Beer garden, in which we spent most nights eating and drinking. The breakfasts were really good and again the hosts were very attentive. The hotel offers great value for a family and would recommend for families and others. The hotel is also close to public transport with the trams and buses going into Munich.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    141
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
204
169
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and very glad we did. Everything in prior posts we found to be true, so no point in repeating here.

Loved staying outside of Munich in peaceful suburbs and the tram service into and out of the centre of town was a breeze.

Also booked a rental car with Sixt for onward journey and pick up location was just a couple of tram stops away from hotel at Mercedes dealership. There are no signs advertising this fact so it took us a bit of investigating to find pick up point, but once we did, ideal location so we didnt have to drive through Munich itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wright-Brighton-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am so glad that I found and chose this hotel on Tripadvisor! Now that I have stayed at the hotel, I 100% agree with all the positive reviews on TA. It is a very nice hotel, very clean and well maintained, great breakfast, short walk and tram ride (total 20 minutes) to the city center and situated in a quite and safe neighborhood.

We reached the hotel really early 8am. But since the room was not available (this was expected), we just left our luggage at the hotel and headed to city center. When we returned back late in the evening, the room was ready and the luggage was already in the room! Our room did not have AC, but it was quite cool in the evenings/nights (even in July) and we were provided a small table fan which was sufficient to keep the air moving and keeping the room comfortable. We had no trouble sleeping, even with windows open, there was hardly any noise from outside.

The breakfast was really good with lot of choices and the lady that was incharge of the breakfast took good care of us.

If we go back to Munich, we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPawar30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Eric learned from his father, and the father from the mother who started in the early 50's. classic German quality. CLEAN. Easy to get to and very accommodating. We took one suite on top floor and another double. As Americans do (flights dictate) we got in early and Eric scrambled to get rooms ready while he served wonderful and classic breakfast. Every question had an eager answer and very helpful in all aspects of our visit.
They even have train passes he sells for same price which makes it easy. #16 or #17 surface train take you within 5 minute walk. Just jump off Kreimhild stop. 15-20 minutes from Banhoff (main train station).

Quiet neighborhood and easy walk to the largest beer garden: Hierschgarden. Killer place.

Note there were five of us. Took a great guy from Taxi stand to and from airport for 80 Euros. Large van took 5 of us from airport to Kreimhild. F.ibishi@yahoo.com. Fahredin Ibishi is his name. Clean van. Email day or two in advance. Very trusting guy. DO NOT USE Munchen chaueffer service. They left me hanging! Terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

When we booked Hotel Kriemhild, we had an idea it was outside of downtown Munich and it is. We knew it was near a palace in Munich, so how far out could it be? It was near the summer palace, which back in the days it was built was about 1.5 hours out of the city by horse or horse drawn carriage.

Hotel Kriemhild is not in the tourist, busy or commercial district of Munich, and that makes it all the better. We were not expecting a hotel in a residential neighborhood with no other hotels or tourists around, but that is what we got. It was wonderful in every way and I am so glad we made the choice. Picture a place where you get to eat, drink beer, and travel into the city like a native and you have the Hotel Kriemhild.

Now why was that great? First, you can walk out the door and walk for miles in parks or at the immense palace grounds, which have free access for all. The largest beer garden is a 5 minute walk down the road and this one is not a tourist trap. We were probably the only Americans there. The nearby restaurants were very nice, down to earth and served delicious Bavarian food to residents of the neighborhood, again, few to no tourists.

Oh! We never had to go out for breakfast. The hotel serves a hearty breakfast for eight Euros. Breakfast has fresh baked bread, lots of German meats, all kinds of cheeses, 3 yogurts and every mix in you could want, fruit, coffee and more. This was a bargain. We went our second morning there and quickly learned do not miss their breakfast.

It gets better as the mass transit in Germany runs like clockwork. Whenever we wanted to go somewhere the 16 and 17 tram took us right into the center of the city. They trams, subway, etc. run constantly. The stop is a 4 minute walk from the hotel. Our maximum wait was 5 minutes. The 16 and 17 go right to Central Station and the old city. From there you can reach anywhere quickly, English Garden, Olympic Park, BMW, shopping, or a cold beer in the old city.

While we were constantly on the go and having fun, the room became a pleasant retreat. It was clean and confortable. There was a sofa that could be modified to sleep on, free Internet access and a private bathroom in the room. One thing that put us off at first was open windows and no air conditioning. It did not matter. The evening air is cool even in July. We slept very well.

We were on the first floor in front of the hotel near the street. That did not matter. Occasionally on Friday or Saturday night you will hear voices of people walking by on the sidewalk on the way home from the beer garden. The noise from voices is limited and tolerable. This is a not drunken soccer hooligan party out on a tear.

Should we go back and we most likely will, we will stay there again. The third generation hoteliers that own the place are very nice, run it well, and make it a pleasure to stay there. If you stay there, you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EttieneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely, family-run hotel in a nice and peaceful location with good parking facilities. Close to the tram for Münich city centre - you can buy tram tickets at the reseption. Clean, large and comfortable rooms with very good matresses. Strong and easy Wi-fi. Great breakfast and nice, service minded staff. The entire hotel is very well maintained and has everything you need for a pleasant stay - it is the perferct hotel!

Room Tip: We had a lovely room at the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, and it was an excellent choice. The room was spacious, included a minibar, and was quiet, looking out over a side street. The hotel is in a lovely residential neighborhood with retail nearby (grocery stores, pharmacies, bakery-cafe) and easy tram connections to downtown. Service was excellent – the hotel is family-run, and all the desk staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, Breakfast was excellent, wifi was free and worked well in the room. My only little quibble was that the towels are rather nubby and rough. But that wouldn’t be enough to keep me away - I would definitely stay here again, and wish we could have stayed longer this time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hester52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
2.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kriemhild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kriemhild

Property: Hotel Kriemhild
Address: Guntherstr. 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Munich
#15 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#36 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kriemhild 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has comfortable, spacious accommodations in a quiet area of Nymphenburg in Munich, just a short walk from Nymphenburg Castle and the Hirschgarten park and beer garden. The bright, well-equipped rooms at Hotel Kriemhild feature all standard modern amenities, including free wireless internet access, and a rich buffet breakfast is served every morning. Modern comfortable Suites with aircondition for familys. Many restaurants and shops are just a short walk away in Romanplatz, and the nearby tram service can bring you swiftly to the main train station (11 minutes away) and the center of the city (4.8 km away). Neuhausen - Nymphenburg is a great choice for travelers interested in Oktoberfest, Sightseeing and History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Kriemhild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kriemhild Munchen Hotel
Kriemhild Munchen Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing