We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good you can't believe it's real”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Pension Mariandl
Ranked #322 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So good you can't believe it's real”
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We've stayed at the Mariandl four times over the last six years, and it's always been magical. The hotel is in mock-Biedermeier style with touches of modern art, and its three floors sit above the Cafe am Beethovenplatz, which has hardly changed in a century (except to get more laid back), has atmosphere you could cut with a knife, great food and drink, and live music every night, from Beethoven piano sonatas to modern jazz. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are spotlessly clean, with very comfortable beds. It's only ten minutes' walk from the mail rail station, but is very quiet. Not a place to go if you want TV, phones, all the trimmings, but highly recommended if you want a unique experience full of character. Warning--there's no lift!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotraveller010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
10
25
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I stayed here for the middle weekend of Oktoberfest this year as part of a large group and we were all very pleased with the hotel. The rooms leave a little something to be desired (there was a bath tub in the middle of the 6-person room) and our bathroom had some shower drainage issues, but if you're looking for no frills accomodations in Munich then this is a really fun spot. The breakfast is included (pretty standard, great coffee) and there's a small "beer garden" next to the hotel. But the best part about the hotel though is the bar downstairs, it is AWESOME! Met tons of great people and they hired a fantastic band for the Saturday night that we stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2009

You can't beat the location of this hotel, especially if you are planning on attending Oktoberfest or anything on the fairgrounds. If you are looking for top of the line accommodations, this place is not for you. The staff was very friendly. The building and rooms are clean but old. We had a room with a "shared" bathroom but it seemed that we didn't actually share it with anyone since the wc and shower were labeled for use by each room. I have stayed in Munich for Oktoberfest before and had to stay a good distance away from downtown for the price I paid. If you're looking for a good deal and don't mind staying in an older more "charming" place than this is for you. Breakfast is included. No elevator. I would suggest trying to get a room on the 2nd (3rd floor in the EU) or higher because the cafe can be loud at night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBadger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

My husband and I and 6 of our friends stayed here from 9-21-09 to 9-24-09. We all ended up in different hotel rooms, but each room had some serious CONS to them. My husband's room with me was # 10 on the first floor with a terrace overlooking the courtyard. The foyer room, which all the first floor rooms lead off of, was VERY smoky. This leaked into our room. At first glance, the room has old-world charm, but then we noticed it wasn' t the cleanest. At night, it was VERY loud. I had heard it would be loud on the first floor, but it was impossible to sleep without ear plugs. Our terrace overlooked the outdoor part where the waitresses and bartenders came to smoke so the smoke was pervasive in our room and so was the noise. The bathroom is typically European, but definitely not a fave, based on everything else. The shower is one of those that is right next to the toilet so the whole room gets wet when you take one- essentially the toilet is in the shower with you. Our friends on the other floors confirmed the same about the smoke and noise, though their rooms weren't as bad as ours. They, though, had no water pressure and no hot water. In fact, the girls on the 3rd floor woke up one morning and had NO water!!
We came for Oktoberfest and to see Munich, and luckily we weren't in the room that much. The hotel is very charming on the outside, and they have a great little bar and restaurant downstairs, which we thought was a fun place to meet up. Breakfast is served in the morning from 7-10, which was a good bonus. It wasn't the best, but the coffee was delicious and the people were friendly. Location is good; only a few blocks to Oktoberfest and a few more the other direction to Marienplatz.
I think if they cleaned this place up a bit, it would be wonderful, and I'm not that picky, as I like a good place with character, but I think this hotel had enough CONS that I wouldn't choose it on a 2nd trip to Munich.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LesleyWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mariandl for a week near the end of Dec 2008 into January 2009.

PROS: Great and popular restaurant on street level...breakfast, lunch and dinner options. All tasty and authentic German cuisine. A 5-7 minute walk to Beethoven Platz stop on the Metro. Our room had bathroom and shower. Continental breakfast included in hotel price (though that food isn't impressive). Dinners were very impressive, as is the beer, of course. Value and ease of reservation. Oh - and live music at the restaurant nearly every night.

CONS: Staff wasn't as friendly as you'd see in US. Only double bed options (though we were fine pushing them together). Continental breakfast was only satisfactory - seemed to be a lot of people crammed into one area of the restaurant. Check-in area was somewhat hard to find and intimidating if you don't know German (luckily, my boyfriend is very proficient). Rooms did have a musty smell to them. There didn't seem to be any fresh drinking water anywhere.

Overall - a very reasonably priced option in the city of Munich. Would stay there again since the price is right and location can't be beat!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loveyogaandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

First room given to us had some leaking spots on a ceiling, water overflowing from shower and general untidy feeling. A larger room we got after our complaint was quite nice - large, bath in the room, with four beds. Breakfast is good and location is convenient.

  • Liked — Architecture of bulding
  • Disliked — First room given
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Delovoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We booked this hotel through party professionals. For Oktoberfest, I thought it was a good deal - especially with its location near the festival grounds.

It is a nice pension - clean with a lot of character. However, it is NOT a place to sleep. We found that the bar and restaurant were open until 4am. it was so loud that we could not sleep until after they had closed. It was not fun.
If you wish to stay here, reserve a room from the 2nd floor up.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank around_the_world_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#187 of 383 in Munich
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
0.3 mi away
Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City
Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City
#228 of 383 in Munich
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#151 of 383 in Munich
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
0.6 mi away
Bold Hotel Munich Center
Bold Hotel Munich Center
#85 of 383 in Munich
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Mariandl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Mariandl

Property: Hotel-Pension Mariandl
Address: Goethestr. 51, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel-Pension Mariandl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Pension Mariandl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing