We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pension Theresia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pension Theresia
Ranked #43 of 65 Munich B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Really loved Theresia Hotel. Everything was cozy and clean, rooms are comfortable and staff is friendly. The hotel is located within 20 min walk from the heart of Munich, but only few meters away from underground station. It is important is has an elevator since most rooms are on upper floors. Breakfast is sufficient for anyone to start the day and is quite delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with windows to yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reinavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
11
15
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

The hotel was easy to find and closely located to a underground station, it was about a 4-5 min walk. It's also near the Neue Pinakothek art gallery. The area seemed safe and there was lots of asian restaurants and some nice cafes on the same block. It's next door to a Lidl supermarket too which was handy.

We arrived after the reception shuts at 9pm so we had to retrieve the key to the room from a pin activated safe outside. The level of customer service I received from our email correspondence, which was all in English, was great so we had instructions about this and had no problems in locating the box.

I was a little apprehensive about what to expect about the standard of the room and shared bathroom from some of the other reviews but was pleasantly surprised. On arriving at the hotel it stunk of cigarette smoke but this was only because the ground floor foyer is the smoking area so the rooms and rest of hotel was fine. We were on the 3rd floor and all the rooms were nice (in the morning when the rooms were being cleaned, after they'd been checked out, the doors were left open so you could see all the other rooms). We had a double room, the bed was comfy and the room clean with a sink and clean towels provided. The shared bathroom was very clean too, although the broken shower head could do with being changed but it was still usable.

The bedroom walls weren't very soundproofed so if you a light sleeper, bring some ear plugs otherwise the bagging doors will disturb your sleep.Breakfast is included too and was pretty decent.

All in all, I would reccomend any one on a budget to stay here. It's basic but well worth the money, and the location is good.

Room Tip: The lift is quite loud so avoid rooms next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clareclare18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

If you are a solo female traveler like me, don't take room 45 (unless you are a couple as it was remote so I felt very spooky at night - but that room is big and airy). Plus the bathroom next to that room is too old. After 1st night without sleep being too scared, next morning they agreed to move me to other floor with people around so I was satisfied and stayed 2 different times with them. The staffs are very very nice to me! The hostel is quiet at night, which is good for sleep but i am from Asia, used to be surrounded with people so too quiet scared me. Room was clean, all with big windows which is lovely! Bathrooms were clean and looked new, good pressured hot water. They had breakfast included but I didn't have time to try. Hostel is about 3min walk to metro, very good. 2 stops only from Central Train Station. Best thing is a cheap, quite big super market right next door to hostel, to pack snack and drinks, fruits. For how expensive Europe is in general, I think this hostel offers GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY! I paid EUR30 (in July) for a nice sized, clean single room instead of EUR23 in a noisy dorm in other place where I would never get any sleep and privacy. I can't recommend this hostel enough! Tips: Buy Bayern ticket for best value if you use train!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laperle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

We were in Munich for a wedding, so other friends were with us and somebody else took care of the booking. Also, it was over a year ago I was at the hotel but here's what I can remember...
The hotel was inexpensive, utilitarian (in a good way) and seemingly aimed at the younger end of the market. I say this because the overall style was modern, funky and no frills, with contemporary art canvases on the walls and so on.
The room we were in was at a reduced rate and, accordingly, had no ensuite, so we had to share a bathroom. (We knew this before arrival.) We didn't have any awkward moments with other hotel guests en route to the bathroom, which was very clean etc, as was our room. The bed was comfortable and there was a sink in the room and a wardrobe etc. I don't recall any noise problems or any other problems for that matter.

Overall we would say that for those of similar age travelling on a budget, the Hotel Pension Theresia is a really good option. If we go back to Munich (and we'd like to) we will definitely try this hotel again. If they have availability and the price is right, I would book it again in a heartbeat. Location is good - far out enough to offer good rates but close enough to get to the town on foot without too much effort.

The only small down-point was that breakfast (traditional continental affair with croissants, yoghurts, bread, cereal, ham/cheese etc) was not the greatest - it looked a little bit like the cheapest of the cheap. It was perfunctory...perfectly edible...just nothing to get excited about!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_GRINGO_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

We ahve been to Munich 3 times in the past 12 years and each time we have stayed at the Pension Theresia Regina. the rooms are clean and comfotable. Although no television on site. Some of the staff are outstanding and helpful, others have a very uncaring attitude, but are not rude. The breakfast is great, and the ambience is very old-world. We recomment the Hotel Pension Theresia to anyone on a budget who wants a hotel with character and a great location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FresnoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel was the only place that was reasonably priced for the Oktoberfest week. The room was a double with shared bath. Baths were very clean and recently updated. Rooms were older but clean and had good light. TV was very small, no English channels. No Wifi at all. Breakfast was included but I'm not a big breakfast person so it was only so-so (no hot items). They don;t take CCs so I had to wire money to hold the room which was very scary!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

We spent most of our time in the city, so all we really needed was a place to sleep. This place was clean, comfortable and easy to get to; all for a great price. I would definitely stay here again if I were in town.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ath5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lex garni im Gartenhof
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konigswache
Hotel Konigswache
#198 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#241 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Augusten Hotel
Augusten Hotel
#190 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
0.5 mi away
Hauser Hotel
Hauser Hotel
#254 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Theresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Theresia

Property: Hotel Pension Theresia
Address: Luisenstr. 51, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner-managed Hotel-Pension Theresia-Regina offers affordable accommodation with full breakfast in the unique Schwabing district of Munich, directly opposite the main building of the Technical University of Munich. Placed in a typical (heritage protected) townhouse it provides a selection of single rooms, double and multi-bed rooms, both with separate bathroom or shared floor bathroom. The breakfast room and most of the rooms are covered by wireless internet (free of charge). The English Garden is within walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing