We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Ranked #106 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2006

After three days in Munich at the Sheraton Arrabella, we needed a better location and a lower price (and Internet access that worked). I visited several hotels and selected this one. I recommend it almost whole-heartedly.

The hotel has the perfect location: almost in the Marienplatz, a couple blocks from the Hofbrauhaus and the Hard Rock, five minute walk to the tram, two minutes to the U-bahn or S-bahn. Breakfast each morning was very well done with a slightly overworked but very enthusiastic staff. Rooms are nothing special but perfectly adequate and clean. Radio did not work was perhaps worst drawback. Internet access is via T-mobile hotspot and while speed was highly variable, access worked consistently for the eight days we were there.

No air conditioning, but decent window ventilation (and we were there in October).

Biggest negative is that the street side is noisy and you are very close to tower bells that go off each morning and continue at intervals all day and until about 9 pm. I wouldn't let this deter you from staying here. My wife and I agree this place is a great value.

If you don't yet know the Marienplatz area, I assure you the combination of the victualmarket, restaurants, transportation, shopping and more make it ideal for those who like being in the middle of things (and if you don't like that, why go to a large city?).

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ChadH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 429 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2006

Hotel location is excellent. During World Cup we were in the middle of everything. We spent two nights there and walked the entire time.
Hotel did not have A/C, and it was brutal -- not much sleep!
Accommodations were average.

1  Thank TimGeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2006

Smal, clean, and friendly hotel in an unbeatable location right in the heart of Munich, just a stone's throw from Marienplatz. Our room was very small. The breakfast buffet is quite good. Hotel staff speaks English and was amused by our attempts at German. On the pricey side but worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OB_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2004

Stayed here for one night in October 2004. While the hotel is in a great location for walking, the room we had was quite small and plain...certainly no frills. The best thing was the wonderful breakfast! It is served in a large bright room at the back of the hotel and the selection and quality of items was much more than we were expecting.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank turtlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2003

The location is excellent, in a very busy area, but the hotel itself is quiet. The staff are helpful and friendly and the breakfast is substantial. In fact, I will be returning to Munich this summer and plan to stay at the Schlicker again.

12  Thank KiaOra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Wellness6163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Stefano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 389 in Munich
2,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Markt
Hotel Am Markt
#185 of 389 in Munich
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 389 in Munich
984 reviews
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#12 of 389 in Munich
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"

Address: Tal 8 | Historic Centre, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $141 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen" 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlicker Hotel Munich
Hotel Schlicker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing