We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B near to the train station, metro and shops” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eder

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Eder
Ranked #56 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good B&B near to the train station, metro and shops”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

We were traveling with 5 suitcases and were allocated a room on the 3rd floor. No lift and no help from the hotel staff to carry the luggage. That was a bad start.
Because of a strike our airline took us one day too late to Germany, we had to pay for this day anyhow. That was a bad finish to our stay here.
Breakfast was adequate if not very generous, I think they were counting how many slices of cheese we had.
The room was quite small and with our luggage there was no room to walk anywhere but it was clean and well presented.
The reception staff was polite and very helpful

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    312
    75
    14
    5
See reviews for
153
198
70
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my husband, three children and my parents in December. We were just on an overnight trip to Munich and arrived by train, and we could easily walk to this hotel from the station. The instructions given were easy to follow and it took no more than 5-10 minutes. It was also an easy walk to Karlsplatz and then on through the pedestrian zone into the Marienplatz.
We had two 4-bed rooms and they were different shapes and sizes but both had plenty of room and were very clean. The furnishings were light wood and red fabric and they looked good. The reception was welcoming and homely and it had that guesthouse feel which is so different to a big hotel. The breakfast was good - not a huge variety but definitely everything you need to start the day. Great value for money.
There is a casino next door and the street is quite narrow and a little dirty, but we didn't feel unsafe. There are alot of fast food restaurants close by, but across the road was a really nice bar where some of the adults had a drink. It was at the Hotel Anna, which was quite a funky place with a good drinks and light meal menu.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

the hotel is very nice and it's located close to karlsplatz; the rooms are small but well kept. the owners are very kind: the normal breakfast time is from 07.00 to 10.00 a.m. but we had to leave early in the morning, so they let us have our breakfast at 06.30 a.m.
i could recommend it.

little bia: the wifi didn't work in our room (3rd floor) because the signal was too low, but we stayed in the reception hall

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocalibano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

Fantastic location of hotel, 5 minutes away from pedestrianized area of old town. The street it's on is a little seedy, but very quiet and 5 mins away from the main train station. Although there were only 2 of us, we got upgraded to a family room at no extra cost. Only criticisms of the room are bathroom smelt ever so slightly of sewage at times, and the heating at night was on way too high making sleeping uncomfortable. Apart from that, lovely cozy rooms, modern bathroom. Very friendly and helpful service from all staff. Good breakfast with excellent fresh coffee in the mornings. All in all, great value for money and highly recommended. I will definitely stay again if I'm back in Munich.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

Just stayed a night in the first week of December and found the hotel pretty cosy with nice and courteous staff. Rooms were big enough but can possibly do with some facelift. The locality, compared to some of the other neighborhoods is not that great. but I guess that is made up by the fact that this location also allows for excellent connectivity with the main station only a short walk (we hauled our luggage both ways from/ to the station and it was no problem) and also a tram station even closer.
The breakfast choices were limited but sufficient. No lifts. Plenty of cafes and places to eat out nearby.
Would I stay again at this hotel? that would depend on the length of the stay. short duration surely yes but for 3 nights or more- maybe there are better options available.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelofreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in a single room for 171 euros. The good points: the room was clean and nicely furnished. Excellent location; a stones throw from the main station. My room was ready on arrival (11am) an added bonus. Towels were provided and lovely warm heating which was most welcome in the sub zero temperatures. The breakfast was huge with a large array of choices, everything you could possibly want was on offer (apart from porridge which would have been nice on a cold winter's morn but perhaps this is not very german...). Reception staff were polite and friendly enough although they didn't go out of their way to be helpful something which I am normally used to coming from a hospitality background.

The bad points: one of the receptionists was smoking whilst we were seating in reception which we brits found a bit strange and we were gagging as such a small space. The maids lacked a certain attention to detail as I had crumbs on my carpet for two days running which were never cleared. Also my curtain fell down and no-one bothered to put it back up!

The hotel lacks having a bar where you could relax and have a drink in the evening before going out or tea or coffee during the day but I cannot really complain about this as I knew this fact before I went and I would have probably overlooked this had there not been any bad points about the hotel at all.

An average hotel but I think it should be cheaper bearing in mind the above points.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgoonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
190 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

hotel eder has a perfect location: 2 min from central station and from karlsplatz.
close to metro and tram stops.
it is very "bavarian style": all wooden and with pictures of bavarian sovereigns.
room was nice, cozy, confortable, very clean. normal european size for a room in a city center.
bathroom: little but adeguate, spottless clean.
staff: helpful and smiling.
buffet breakfast is adeguate, it's above all full of salted stuffs and lacking of "sweets" ... only some croissants (the 2nd morning they were few) , a sweet roll and nutella.
no elevator.
I recommend this hotel if you want a nice clean place to stay to visit the cuty.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkvalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#45 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#52 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#24 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#38 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#11 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eder

Property: Hotel Eder
Address: Zweigstr. 8, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Eder 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eder is in a quiet by-street in Munich's centre between Central Station and the Theresienwiese. Within a walk of a few minutes you find a large number of cinemas, restaurants, small theatres, and, of course, the State Opera House and the "Deutsche Theater". The Octoberfest area and also a lot of typical bavarian beergardens are very close to the hotel and reachable in 10 minutes by foot. The Central Station (150 meters close to the hotel) is the transit point of several public transports for a quick and comfort way to Munich's new trade fair and the airport. • Tradition The hotel exists since 1947 and is managed by the owner family Eder with traditional bavarian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Eder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing