We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding all around”
Review of Hotel Eder

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eder
Ranked #63 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding all around”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel has a great location and friendly staff all for a great low price. Rooms are a little small but that was expected. Great spread for breakfast in the morning. This place is perfect for people who want something nice but cheap and don't plan on spending a whole lot of time in the room. Free wifi in the room and a nice spread for breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    319
    80
    14
    5
See reviews for
157
206
73
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Location is very convenient, close to S and U Bahn trains and trams. And also Munich main train station so convenient for other destinations in Bavaria like Nuremberg, Neuschwanstein and Salzburg. Shopping centre nearly like supermarket etc. The old city centre is not very big you can walk everywhere from the hotel.

People at hotel were very nice. I arrived early in the morning and they offer to give me access to wifi to let me email people home to say I've arrived safely. :) They help with to activate my German sim card. Hold my luggage overnight while I spent one day in Salzburg before returning to hotel. I had an early train to catch and skipped beakfast. The gentleman at reception was worried that I might go hungry without breakfast and offered to set it up early. Just lovely people who go out of their way to look after their guests.

Room is clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but has everything you need to serve as a base for exploring Munich. Run by people who obviously took great pride in the hotel. Some reviews mentioned noise but I have no trouble at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in the Hotel Eder on an overnight stay enroute to St Johann in Tirol. Our flight did not arrive in Munich until 9.30pm and we like to stay in a hotel close to the railway station.
The hotel has a wonderful location as it is situated very close to the railway station and within a fifteen minute of Marienplatz.
The hotel can be difficult to find initially as it is situated on a side street which is not particularly well lit.
The hotel reception is staffed at all times.
There is no lift and the hotel has four floors and the stairs are steep.. We were on the third floor and were not offered any help carrying our luggage..
The room was on the small side (unlike the last time when we had a very large room for the same price) but very clean. The ensuite was very good with a very powerful shower.
The breakfast was good (but not as good a choice as the last time) but the waitress could have been more helpful and only spoke to us when I knocked on the kitchen door to ask a question.
The daytime reception staff were very helpful and offered to keep our luggage before we asked if that was possible.
Overall this is a good and well located hotel near the centre of Munich that provides comfortable and clean accommodation at a competitive price.
We will stay here again when we next come to Munich

Room Tip: There are a variety of room sizes ask for the biggest available. As there is no lift the stairs can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

An easy walk from the train station. And all transportation is readily available

A great location and easy walk to restraunts and the Hoffbrau Haus

If you stay here try to get a room on the lower floors as there is no lift and no one to assist with luggage. It was 67 steps to our room.

The breakfast was very good with great variety

This is a great place to stay if you can handle stairs and luggage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here in September 2013 on a long weekend break to Munich, just prior to Oktoberfest so still reasonably priced. If you're the type of person who doesn't require luxury and a hotel room is just somewhere to sleep and freshen up, then it'll be perfect.

Located a 5 mins walk from the main central station and Karlsplatz its as good a value hotel as you'll get in a central location but just outside the old town. Its on a quiet side street, off Bayerstrasse, which has a few undesirable characters lurking around, but they never really bothered you.

Various family members worked reception and were always pleasant and helpful. Check-in was smooth, luggage storage on arrival and departure, maps and lots of guides situated near the entrance. Everything was spotless, credit to the cleaners. Breakfast in the wood-panelled dining area was lovely each morning, with breads, pastries, fruit, meats, cheeses and other bits and bobs.

I stayed in a twin room with my Dad. We were in the building to the rear, on the 1st floor. Very compact, but everything required was present. Bathroom was excellent, modern fittings, powerful shower. Cleaned every day to a high standard. Slept very well, despite the snoring from my room-mate!!

It passes the test that I'd stay here again and would recommend to all but the pickiest of people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to the station and very close to the main Marienplatz. The rooms are small but spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The shower was extremely powerful. Breakfast was really nice with a good selection of meats and cheeses etc.. I had read previously on Trip Advisor that the hotel was on a side street next to a seedy casino - don't let this put you off. Whilst there is a casino next door, there was no hint of any trouble (in fact I never saw anyone going in or out of the casino) and myself and my teenage son felt perfectly safe walking back to the hotel in the evening. It is a lovely little hotel in true Bavarian style and I would definitely stay again.Our room was at the front overlooking the street the but excellent double glazing meant that the city noise was hardly noticeable.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter if you want to sleep with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenTadcaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is was a gem of a hotel! It was close to the train station - but was very quiet and clean. It is on a side street, away from the hustle and bustle of the nearby streets. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. A large shower - maybe the largest on our trip! Breakfast was really good! We are vegan and there were many options for us! The coffee was nice and strong. They have a 1 pm check in but let us store our bags and come back for check in. We had to leave early on the day of our departure and they let us have breakfast 30 minutes early - which was so nice!! We recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaK764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#45 of 383 in Munich
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 383 in Munich
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#8 of 383 in Munich
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#25 of 383 in Munich
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eder

Property: Hotel Eder
Address: Zweigstr. 8, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Eder 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eder is in a quiet by-street in Munich's centre between Central Station and the Theresienwiese. Within a walk of a few minutes you find a large number of cinemas, restaurants, small theatres, and, of course, the State Opera House and the "Deutsche Theater". The Octoberfest area and also a lot of typical bavarian beergardens are very close to the hotel and reachable in 10 minutes by foot. The Central Station (150 meters close to the hotel) is the transit point of several public transports for a quick and comfort way to Munich's new trade fair and the airport. • Tradition The hotel exists since 1947 and is managed by the owner family Eder with traditional bavarian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Eder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing