We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”
Review of Hotel Eder

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Eder
Ranked #63 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed only one night, and were very pleased with it's location to the main train station and the central shopping district of the Marienplatz. Only a 10 minute walk to the Hofbrauhaus too! Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, and even offered to serve us breakfast 1.5 hours before the normal seating. Room was very Bavarian, spacious and clean. Great shower and quiet, despite the lively casino next door. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eder
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 632 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at hotel eder and would stay again. For the price and location it's a good value. Helpful people at the front desk. 5 min to train station and 5 to 10 to marienplatz and augustiners.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank themolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a lovely time at this hotel. Sparkly clean and a great location with wunderbar breakfasts. Our room was tiny but quaint and served our purpose well. 5 minutes to the town centre and incredibly handy for all transport links. Staff were helpful, nothing was too much trouble and you got a real feel for Bavaria. My only recommendation would be to take an alarm clock, though all of our wake up calls were punctual and the toiletries weren't the best so pack your own. Would definitely stay again and I can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room if you don't like stairs
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Been here a few years ago, and still find it as good now. Convenient for the Hauptbahnhof and city centre. Though some wont like the area, the side street is quiet. Rooms are clean and the hotel has a certain character. The staff are excellent, and the breakfast very good. Good price for Munich.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANC567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Its hardly a hotel, its just a lodge in my experience. Very compact but clean rooms. No lifts so you need to lug your suitcases on your own so be aware of that. Hotel is near central station (walkable) but then again since its located right adjacent to a nightclub and casino, so I will definitely avoid if i am with family. Even as solo traveler unless for a great price I will not consider it.

Room Tip: Hotel is adjacent to a club so need to get a quiet room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizTraveller-Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Check in was friendly and fast. No lift, so up two flights of stairs. Room for a single was small, small bed, desk, TV from the 50's or 60's, I think my laptop had a bigger screen, no English channels, free wifi, clean bathroom. Breakfast included in room rate, and was fine. Key must be left at the front desk, no safe in room or at front desk for valuables. Small garden with an area for sitting for those that smoke. Five minute walk from the main rail station. For 55 euros a night you might want to look a little further before selecting this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I use this hotel for years. It is located just across the Haupbanhof , in a small street in Bayerstrasse. In the center of Munich. Few minutes on foot from the pedestrian zone. Very well managed hotel. Very clean, Confortable rooms, Friendly staff, very good breakfast. The old building has rooms in bavarian color and an old wooden stair. The best rooms are in the second floor in the old building. This time we had a family room, very large. Just perfect. Highly recomented. There is no elevator.

Room Tip: There is no Noise. Ask for a front room in the old building.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarantos_Chal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#39 of 385 in Munich
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#52 of 385 in Munich
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#64 of 385 in Munich
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#34 of 385 in Munich
865 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#158 of 385 in Munich
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#26 of 385 in Munich
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eder

Address: Zweigstr. 8, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $92 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eder is in a quiet by-street in Munich's centre between Central Station and the Theresienwiese. Within a walk of a few minutes you find a large number of cinemas, restaurants, small theatres, and, of course, the State Opera House and the "Deutsche Theater". The Octoberfest area and also a lot of typical bavarian beergardens are very close to the hotel and reachable in 10 minutes by foot. The Central Station (150 meters close to the hotel) is the transit point of several public transports for a quick and comfort way to Munich's new trade fair and the airport. • Tradition The hotel exists since 1947 and is managed by the owner family Eder with traditional bavarian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Eder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing