We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel in Munich!”
Review of Hotel Eder

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Eder
Ranked #66 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel in Munich!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. First of all, the location is excellent being on a quiet street a short walk from both the train station and the city center. The decor is warm and cozy, the rooms are clean, quiet, and comfortable. The breakfast is outstanding. Very welcoming, friendly, and helpful staff.
It is true the rooms are on the small side, but that did not bother us at all. I would definitely stay at Hotel Eder again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachele482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    320
    81
    14
    5
See reviews for
160
207
73
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews , and i have to say it is excellent , clean and welcoming. Yes rooms are small and there is no lift but if you aer like us and just use the room to sleep in then choose this hotel you will not be disappointed.

Breakfast was great included in the price which was excellent considering its close loaction to the train station and centre.

Tip if you are in a group use the train S8 or S1 from the Airport 20 euro for upto 5 people and the ticket is valid until 6am the next day as long as you all travel togeher.

Munich is a great destination plenty to do and the Beer halls are great

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter but we had one on the front it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47_COOPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you decide to live in a Traditional European B&B in Munich city close to the train station, then this hotel is definitely for you. Tucked in a small and quiet by lane across from the Train station (approx 300mtrs), you are in a totally ancient backdrop of germany. From the entrance itself, you get the feeling of being in a B&B. I simply loved their restaurant for breakfast which is so beautifully decorated. The rooms are slightly smaller (though I took a Single Bed room) but the all wooden feel simply sets an old world charm. The Breakfast has many options and is very delicious. The service and staff are simply awesome, helping and can speak english. The only unfortunate part is the lack of an elevator. But, if you ignore those 10 minutes of your trip of taking and bringing down the bags upon check-in and check-out, then you are simply in for a fabulous stay. Go for it!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiaTravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was "ok" if unremarkable. Located in the seedy part of Munich, near the main train station. Its convenient rather than good.

There is no bar, no lift (we were on the 4th floor!), no english channel on the tv & no hot food at breakfast. ...and the 4 bedded room we booked turned out to be a double & 2 singles pushed together. Might suit a family, but possibly not a single sex group.

There was also unnecessary difficulty in finding the discounted car park. The easiest to locate was €15 per day rather than the €10 advertised. And there are no in/out privileges.

On the plus side, breakfast (limited as it was) is included in the price & the hotel was clean, staff friendly & english speaking.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexboyz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The rooms are very basic, but very clean and quiet. The breakfast is just OK to start the day. The WiFi is only for one equipment per room and not very fast, but it is for free which is a plus. The staff is kind and helpful. There is no lift nor bar. The location is close to the main railway station and close to the walking area and the U-bahn and trains can be reached in a few minutes. There are also rooms for 3 or 4 people.

This is good choice for one or two nights stay, if you want to be close to "everything" and you want to have a clean and quiet room without paying too much. But remember there is no lift.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Protravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hotel Eder is best described as a budget hotel with few frills. The rooms are basic, there is no lift and the wifi seems to work at dial-up speed at best, with only one device allowed per room. If these things are important to you, then you won't enjoy staying here. The rooms were simple and quite spartan, we had a quad room and the fourth bed was a pull out trundle bed, which left little room for walking or luggage. The light fitting was so low that I could stand under it with my head touching the bottom of it (I'm 5'7"), so my taller husband and son were at constant risk of knocking their heads (which they did on a couple of occasions). However, the cleaner did a great job of keeping the room clean and tidy on the daily service, so that was certainly a plus. The location was also good, it was very close to the train station and convenient for walking around the town It was the cheapest hotel we stayed at on our European holiday, so we probably got what we paid for here, but I am surprised it ranks in the top 50 hotels in Munich on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room , as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were looking for a nice, comfortable, clean hotel with a personality that could accommodate a family with children and not break the bank. Hotel Eder did not disappoint! I can only reiterate what others have already said about its convenient location, helpful staff, cleanliness and value for the money. Personally, I much prefer this type of hotel with more of a friendly personalized service and comfortable local atmosphere than a larger chain hotel. Overall, I think it was perfect for our family and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dessoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#44 of 382 in Munich
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 382 in Munich
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#61 of 382 in Munich
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#24 of 382 in Munich
844 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#165 of 382 in Munich
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eder

Property: Hotel Eder
Address: Zweigstr. 8, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Eder 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eder is in a quiet by-street in Munich's centre between Central Station and the Theresienwiese. Within a walk of a few minutes you find a large number of cinemas, restaurants, small theatres, and, of course, the State Opera House and the "Deutsche Theater". The Octoberfest area and also a lot of typical bavarian beergardens are very close to the hotel and reachable in 10 minutes by foot. The Central Station (150 meters close to the hotel) is the transit point of several public transports for a quick and comfort way to Munich's new trade fair and the airport. • Tradition The hotel exists since 1947 and is managed by the owner family Eder with traditional bavarian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Eder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing