We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first choice in Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Ranked #100 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Boutique hotel in a nice and quiet downtown neighborhood, a few steps from Viktualienmarkt. Lots of small restaurants and wine bars in walking distance; also Banks, drug store, supermarket and gift shops. Rooms are functional and beautifully designed, with warm hardwood floors and an illuminated glass sink. Hotel can be reached easily with public transport from the airport: S-Bahn to Ostbahnhof, then bus 62 to Gaertnerplatz. The in-house restaurant is good, reservation recommended on weekends.

Room Tip: Rooms to the backyard are very quiet, but the street in front is not very busy or noisy either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 314 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

my boyfreind and i stay in this hotel for 8 nights! and we love it all!
best location, big and clean sauna, very good restaurant wich open untill late at night!
and the most important thing: the staff in the hotel and restaurand are so so nice and kind and will to help all the time with a smile, especially: roger! walter! and sebastian!
thank you very much for a excellent vacation!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dovale k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Absolutely marvelous, great bathroom comfy bed and near everything. Stayed here for our twentyeth anniversary. Within walking distance of vittlesmarket and Marion platz. Public transportation steps away. Great restaurant serves complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tonyr957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights during the Oktoberfest & it was nice to see a hotel that still offered a good rate where all the other hotels charged ridiculous overpriced rates. The hotel is in a great area of various restaurants, cafés & bars. It is easy to get to from the main central train station. A short tram ride which stops almost outside the hotel. From the airport the train station is no more than a 5 minute walk. The rooms were huge for European standards. Mine came with an extremely comfortable queen size bed plus a couch & desk. They also had a complimentary mini bar with beers & non alcoholic drinks included in the room rate. The bathroom was quite large with a great shower. It is decorated in a modern style & been done well. Breakfast was included as well with the usual German continental style of cereal! breads, cold meats & fruit. Perfect for me. The main shopping & tourist area of Marienplatz was only a 5 minute walk as well. It is a gay owned hotel but there were many straight couples staying when I was there & it is very accomodating for both gay & straight cliental. The rooms were very quiet as well. I never heard a thing the entire time I was there from anyone else. The staff were all very helpful & polite. Nothing was to much trouble. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Munich.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bj105094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband & I stayed here during our last night in Munich for Oktoberfest and thought it was a great hotel stay. We got a quiet room on the first floor that was nicely sized, clean, cool and stylish. Liked the little extras such as the complimentary bar & welcome drink, the gingerbread cookie hearts and toiletries. The wifi worked well. The staff was great & we felt inclusive. Perfect location to Marienplatz and close to everything...there's even a fabulous gourmet store around the corner. The breakfast the next morning was wonderful. We paid 189 euros for one night which translated to approx $275 Canadian after the exchange rate. We thought that was pretty pricey but of course, it was in the middle of Oktoberfest. Great way to end our trip and would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

First, please note that this is a gay hotel. They are certainly straight-friendly and welcoming to all. But, just be aware that there is a gay sauna on the premises and most of the guests will be gay.

Now, having said that, as a gay man, I absolutely love this hotel. It is European, not American (e.g. Hilton, Marriott, etc). But, the rooms are nice sized (not large) and the bathrooms are fabulous. Housekeeping service is good - not overly attentive, but they keep the room clean. They have free wi-fi if that's important to you. The front desk is shared with the sauna, but someone is always available and willing to help.

The restaurant on the premises has the best German food in town.

The location is terrific if you want to be close (half a mile) to the Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt. A tram line is at the end of the block.

The price is very reasonable, especially for the location and the services provided, except during the Oktoberfest. (But then again, NOTHING is cheap during the Oktoberfest.)

Note that there is a very small elevator, but unless you are on the 5th floor, you will have to either walk up or down half a flight of stairs. As an older man, that's not terribly easy for me with my suitcase and they don't have staff to help with luggage.

For the location, the price, the room size, the presence of an elevator, the close proximity of the restaurant, and a European style hotel, I choose the Deutsche-Eiche every time I stay in Munich and having been doing so for 20 years.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, ask for the 5th floor where the elevator stops on the level. Rooms whose w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drury1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We rented one of the apartments, across the street from the hotel, to capture the feeling of being a local Müncher. Located on the first floor, the apartment had neither elevator access nor air conditioning. Still, it was clean, well equipped, and spacious. A desk provided a reasonable space upon which to work, as well as a complimentary laptop (IBM Thinkpad) and clock/ipod docking station. A small balcony had sitting area and table, overlooking a quiet, shared courtyard. The kitchen area had a table for 4, fridge, microwave, stove, sink, as well as cutlery, china, basic utensils ... sufficient to eating in if you prefer. The breakfast buffet across the street at the hotel was included with our room rate; it was basic but enjoyable and included an assortment of hot/cold food, bread, coffee/espresso, etc.. Couldn't ask for a much better location, a block from major sites, public transport, many restaurants and small shops, and parks. We visited the rooftop patio of the hotel but it was mostly unremarkable (basic, small, and overlooking many rooftops) -- although the view was useful in gaining an orientation to nearby points of interest. I'd rent an apartment again although perhaps on not so hot a day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#16 of 387 in Munich
968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#128 of 387 in Munich
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isartor
Hotel Isartor
#125 of 387 in Munich
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 387 in Munich
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsche Eiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Address: Reichenbachstr. 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#61 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $152 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deutsche Eiche 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Deutsche Eiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutsche Eiche Hotel
Deutsche Eiche Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing