We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Ranked #100 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, spacious apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We rented one of the apartments, across the street from the hotel, to capture the feeling of being a local Müncher. Located on the first floor, the apartment had neither elevator access nor air conditioning. Still, it was clean, well equipped, and spacious. A desk provided a reasonable space upon which to work, as well as a complimentary laptop (IBM Thinkpad) and clock/ipod docking station. A small balcony had sitting area and table, overlooking a quiet, shared courtyard. The kitchen area had a table for 4, fridge, microwave, stove, sink, as well as cutlery, china, basic utensils ... sufficient to eating in if you prefer. The breakfast buffet across the street at the hotel was included with our room rate; it was basic but enjoyable and included an assortment of hot/cold food, bread, coffee/espresso, etc.. Couldn't ask for a much better location, a block from major sites, public transport, many restaurants and small shops, and parks. We visited the rooftop patio of the hotel but it was mostly unremarkable (basic, small, and overlooking many rooftops) -- although the view was useful in gaining an orientation to nearby points of interest. I'd rent an apartment again although perhaps on not so hot a day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    108
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
85
55
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I left the five star Meriden Hotel in Munich to meet a friend at the Deutsche Eiche for four nights and was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel has been tastefully renovated with a decidedly contemporary flair. For less than 100 euro I had a delightful single room on the front of the hotel. Part of the renovation included a sound insulating windows that blocked street noise. Most of the historic center is within a short walk and two tram lines pass a block away. The rate included a first rate breakfast. The same location serves lunch and dinner and I had some wonderful and comparatively inexpensive German food here on two occasions.
Although the majority of guests at the hotel appeared to be gay that should not put off anyone from staying here. The staff was pleasant and welcoming and ready to meet any request. The five star hotel I left to stay here had a guest makeup that was more than 50% middle eastern. I found their children to be loud and unruly and was put of by requests for me not enter an elevator if it meant occupying it with an unaccompanied Muslim woman. Give me the gay guys instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florida-Traveler-888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Although this is primarily a gay hotel, there seemed to be a good number of straight couples, there with us, who were in no way discommoded or made to feel unwelcome. This is a comfortable and now updated hotel, very centrally placed and on a quiet street. Most if not all rooms have been recently and tastefully modernised to give every comfort, although some might find the decor a bit spartan. There are rooms of varying sizes and prices, and those on the front overlooking the street seemed to be as quiet as those in the back. The breakfast in the restaurant is very good, and there is free wi-fi, which may be a bit troublesome from time to time, and seems to require regular re-signing in, which is somewhat irritating. There is a bike hire place just round the corner.
The restaurant serves lunch and dinner and seems very popular. But since no-one is in Munich for its food (I hope!), I will omit any comment on the fare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Usually stay in 4-5star hotels but in the last few years the overwhelming percentage of middle eatern guest with their many unruly and unchecked childern was a turn off to go there.
Hotel Deutsche Eiche is really the best choice for a excellent quiet hotel stay in Munich in good location, modern nice and quiet rooms. Will only go there in future and have a pleasant and good value stay in Munich.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautiful modern hotel in a classic building. Room was really amazing. Loved the bathroom and lighting effects. Great area of town. Close to transit. Men's bathhouse was clean and exciting restaurant has great food. Breakfast was tasty and service was great

Room Tip: Hotel has an elevator. East to get to all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I first stayed there as a young man back in 1976,it was more like a hostel back then since then it
has been renovated and is more expensive. They include a small buffet breakfast and they have a good dining room featuring Bavarian and international cuisine.it is also a gay owned hotel although it has a mixed clentele mostly Europeans.It is located in downtown Munich not very far from the famous V. market and the City Hall Very close to a tram line.

Room Tip: Single rooms can be a bit small but double room are more comfortable Rooms should be booked up to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked a double room on recommendation of friends. We found a modern hotel in a fantastic location within walking distance to all key attractions, spotless rooms with all amenities including complimentary mini bar, friendly staff all wearing vibrant pink polo shirts and a good restaurant both for breakfast or dinner, or simple people watching beer. Champagne on panoramic roof top a must. Recommend turkey cutlet in the restaurant. Sauna is huge and very clean but was quiet mid week. Cannot fault.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CBRTOWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
#92 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#19 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.2 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#60 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsche Eiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Property: Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Address: Reichenbachstrasse 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#61 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deutsche Eiche 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Deutsche Eiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutsche Eiche Hotel
Deutsche Eiche Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing