We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Ranked #98 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend to visit Munich and the Xmas markets. The location is perfect for discovering the city centre and if you have had a tiring day then it is great to have the sauna downstairs to relax. The rooms are a good size and are comfortable and the restaurant and breakfast is very cozy and food is good quality.
The only thing that stops me giving this hotel 5 stars was the service. I found the service to be quite robotic, no personal touches etc. Also for the price of the rooms i was suprised that i had to pay extra for the sauna downstairs even though i got a discount. The price to enter was 14 euro. I think it would have made a lot of difference if the Sauna was included giving you more of a feeling that you are a welcomed guest.
We stayed in room 22 with a street view. Good sized room for two people. Good internet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbobwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    108
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
87
55
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice little hotel close to the Munich city center. It's only a couple minute walk from a tram or U-Bahn stop, so very conveniently located.

Check-in: was very fast, unfortunately my room was not available when I got here but I also arrived from the US very early in the morning. I stowed my bag with the hotel and walked around, got something to eat, and familiarized myself with the local area.

Room: Very nice sized, bed was good, though it took me a day or two to get used to the European style comforter/duvet and a pillow, no top sheet, blanket or anything like that. I like the room had a shutter that completely darkened the room, though I overslept one day. Not much closet space but was sufficient for me. Nice desk with laptop, though I had my own so I never tried it, Ipod dock and a refrigerator with complimentary bottle of water, beer, Pepsi, and Red Bull.

Bathroom: I loved the bathroom, lots of light and functional use of a small space. I enjoyed the lights behind the glass sink. The shower had very nice pressure and plenty of hot water. The fact that there is no shower pan and just the floor with a drain seems to have befuddled some people. It was fine, I didn't get water all over the bathroom. It was a really nice shower.

Unusual: The elevator is a little unusual so be prepared. I was on the 3rd floor, the elevator stops on the stairwell landing between the 3rd and 4th floor. I had one large bag to carry down the stairs. Though not limited to this hotel, to get the electricity in the room to turn on, you must insert your room key in the slot next to the door. When you leave, pull it out and lights and tv turn off.

Area: Many little restaurants, shops, stores and other items. Very safe and easily walkable.

Restaurant: I really enjoyed the food. I've always enjoyed German breakfast, bread, cheese, sliced deli meets, and a few other items, the breakfast at the hotel was nice and for 8 Euro, it seemed like a good deal. I ate lunch and dinner a couple times as well. I thought it was a little high, not terribly, though the dishes I had were excellent, particularly the Pork Cordon Bleu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aus_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
90 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great rooms, great service, great restaurant, great sauna, great breakfast , great location. I didn't want to leave. And the Fassbinder film connection adds extra kudos. Love it. Did I gave any criticism - the coffee could be better at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanartus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Super friendly staff! BEAUTIFUL rooms and a huge bathhouse. This hotel is worth every penny! Though if you are there during the hottest day of year (as we were) make sure you ask for a room with AC (which we did not). But even with the heat we had such a great time we extended our stay! Munich is an amazing city and the location of this hotel is fantastic in the city. Wish I were there now!

Room Tip: If your there in the summer, make sure you get a room with AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A lovely hotel. In central Munich. The neighbourhood has a friendly and cosy atmosphere. Public transport (2 tramlines) just around the corner on the Reichenbachplatz. The two nearby metro stations (Marienplatz and Frauenhoferstrasse) can be reached within a five minute walk. The area is wonderful, close to the Viktualienmark. As a matter of fact, all the main attractions are within walking distance. And also the the gay venues. For a sauna visit you don't have to walk at all. Even better, you don't have to leave the hotel. The very nice, clean and exiting gay sauna is on the ground floor of the hotel, and part of the hotel. Hotel guests get discount. You can also have a good mail and a nice drink in the sauna. Quality is very good and so are the really abundant german portions. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. The breakfast offers plenty of choice. All the staff are very helpful, friendly and well informed about Munich and it's places of interest and things to do. The hotel is also a very popular meeting point for gays in Munich and outside. The quality provided is for a fair price. I can recommend Hotel Deutsche Eiche.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Advisorial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The rooms are good and large by European standards, with modern bathrooms, good beds. Very clean. A mini fridge in the room with complementary beer and water, a nice touch. Typical included continental breakfast. The hotel includes a mostly gay bar and restaurant with a very friendly clientele, and the nicest gay bathhouse I've ever been in -- highly recommended whether you stay in the hotel or not! I will definitely return to this hotel in the future and would recommend it especially for gay travelers. Also, a good location easily walkable to city center and the gay section.

The negatives are minimal but notable: hotel desk staff is a bit surly and not real helpful in the concierge-type information. It's very hard to get a taxi at this hotel and staff does not help with this. The rooms are a bit dark even with all the lights on. Most questionable is that the guy at the desk could not locate my reservation even though I had my confirmation number and a printout of the confirmation. Luckily it was not a big problem because they had available rooms, but I had to be pushy to get him to honor the quoted rate. Not cool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was a perfect City Break when we stayed here just before Christmas 2011 to savour the famous Christmas Markets, and enjoy Munich at its winter best. The Deutscher Eiche truly has a heart of oak, solid, dependable, and rich in history. From the simple on-line check-in, the quality of the welcome, the spotless rooms and quality bedding, or just the simple, freshly cooked breakfast you will not be disappointed. Just jump off the No18 Tram and you are in the front door, or a short walk from the hotel and you are in the centre of the old city. This was our third stay, and we will be returning again this year. Good food, excellent service, even if it is just a beer, dinner, or the great breakfast (scrambled eggs and bacon are the best) we were always satisfied. I ordered the schnitzel and this was perfectly cooked and served with a fresh salad garnish and piping hot French fries. This hotel is best suited to couples as there are few facilities; just the bar/restaurant area in this old town house but that is the attraction for us. Clean, simple, and mid price, ideal for a long weekend, or longer stay, quality and style in a great setting.

Room Tip: Book early, standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerGBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
#87 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#19 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.2 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#41 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsche Eiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Property: Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Address: Reichenbachstr. 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#61 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deutsche Eiche 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HRS, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Deutsche Eiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutsche Eiche Hotel
Deutsche Eiche Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing