We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better for families, not backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jugendherberge Muenchen-Park
Ranked #10 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros: new building so very clean and ordered. Breakfast was included and was a good spread. Free wifi in the lounge and staff would print for you too. Laundry facilities were great. Reception staff helpful. Night security officer available to check us out when we had to leave at 6am to catch transport.

Cons: our double room was hot and uncomfortable in the Munich summer. Air conditioning or fans would be nice! Out of city centre so no U bahn access when coming home on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHMPark, Manager at Jugendherberge Muenchen-Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for staying and reviewing. Summer is hot, vans are available at reception. U-Bahn Metro is 400 metres away, did you really stay here??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 145 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here for 4 days while in Munich because everywhere else was fully booked. I'd say the only really good thing about it is that it is very clean, and they have a little food place inside with good pizza that's open til midnight. This was good because there is literally NOTHING else around that neighborhood. The location wasn't all that great, it looks like it's in the middle of the woods... and 20 minutes by metro to the city center.
Breakfast was free, and decent, nothing special... it could use some toast or something.
As for the atmosphere... if you are 18-30ish, you will not enjoy it. It is full of kids and families and seniors. Not to say that is a bad thing, but when you are backpacking and looking to meet people it's not ideal.
We could not get the wifi to work anywhere, except for the basement, where the lights turn off after awhile and it's kinda creepy.
The beds are awful.. they were hardly big enough for one person, with a 1 inch think mattress, and the pillow even thinner.
No soap or any way to dry your hands in the bathroom.
It's also kind of overpriced for the location and amenities.

Despite the negatives it wasn't an awful stay, but I wouldn't exactly reccommend it either. There are MUCH better hostels in Munich.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktskinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHMPark, Manager at Jugendherberge Muenchen-Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thanks for your stay. Well, looks like we can not please everybody. We don't select guests for age or something else, everybody is welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Best breakfast I have ever seen at a hostel (full buffet), fantastic understanding staff that saved us a lot of money when we couldn't make our first night, large spacious rooms with separate sinks, toilet and a shower in the room. We got upgraded from a 6 bed to 4 bed and still only paid 15 euro each. Beds were super comfy, nice snowy scenery outside and individual lights for each bunk.
On the groundfloor and downstairs were activities like ping pong and PS3, there were two school groups while we were there and a family for a baby.. Perfect for them.
There is vending machines and a late night shop with pizza, ice cream, etc.
Do not stay if you are looking for a party hostel! Otherwise it is great comfort with free wifi that was faster in our room than the lobby!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank JacMBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHMPark, Manager at Jugendherberge Muenchen-Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your visit and your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here as part of the TravelTalk tour for Oktoberfest. The hostel was perfect for what we were after. Big rooms (we had 2 x rooms of 4), clean and tidy, seperate shower and toilet, plus another sink - all of which were clean. Overall, staff were pretty helpful, I wouldn't say they were amazing, but certainly no complaints. Massive area for breakfast, and lots of food. Quality of food was pretty good. Nice chill out areas. Good location, short walk to the train station, and then not too many stops to Oktoberfest. Would recommend, especially for groups.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHMPark, Manager at Jugendherberge Muenchen-Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you very much for your stay and comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Clean, staff all have good English.
Wi-fi worked well. Good shower in the room. Not far to get to central station or Oktoberfest.. Which was the purpose of my trip.
Breakfast was set up well with a big dining area, just slightly limited selection of foods..

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scots-SteveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHMPark, Manager at Jugendherberge Muenchen-Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you very much for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is definitely a hostel rathe than hotel/hostel but facilities are excellent. Private room was clean (floor needed a sweep) and at a comfortable temperature. Breakfast was good. WiFi and social loungue was nice but not noisy once you were in your room. Staff were helpful and friendly. We found it quite easily although the sign for Hostel International on the main street was a little faded so you needed to be eagle eyesd. But easy to get from from Marienplatz. Would recommend to a friend as we found Munich hotels too expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PharmerAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHMPark, Manager at Jugendherberge Muenchen-Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thanks for stay and rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Very Good place to stay in Munich. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice room, lovely breakfast. Near to metro station. Few station away from Marienplatz metro station.
Not a place for party and fun. Very quite- so not good for young traveler! Little far away from city center.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHMPark, Manager at Jugendherberge Muenchen-Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thanks for your stay and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#207 of 389 in Munich
729 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 389 in Munich
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wombat's Munich
Wombat's Munich
#2 of 78 in Munich
1,176 reviews
2.8 mi away
Euro Youth Hotel
Euro Youth Hotel
#1 of 78 in Munich
1,032 reviews
3.1 mi away
The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugendherberge Muenchen-Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugendherberge Muenchen-Park

Address: Miesingstr. 4, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range: $44 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HI MunichPark Youth Hostel has 366 beds divided among 38 two-bed, 53 four-bed and 13 six-bed rooms, all with bunk beds and ensuite bathroom. Located close to the Zoo, near river Isar recreation area, south of city center. "All you can eat" Breakfast and linen included.The HI Munich Park is a warm and friendly property that welcomes travelers from all over the world. We are not a downtown party hostel. We welcome backpackers, families, business travelers, school groups and more as guests. A little bistro and vending machines are to be found beside the reception area. Our guests can relax in 3 chill out rooms in the ground floor and in our spacious area in the basement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jugendherberge Muenchen-Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing