We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for a city break if you like small quirky hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Acanthushotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acanthushotel
Ranked #239 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Snarestone
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good base for a city break if you like small quirky hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in September 2012 and found the Acanthus a very conveniently located base, with an easy walk along the pleasant Sendlinger Strasse to the old town and Viktuallen Markt. Also easy public transport connection to the airport via U-Bahn and S-Bahn. The rooms were spacious, clean and individual - not new but we liked the antique furniture. The breakfast was excellent, with loads of choice. The manager from Oregon was exceptionally friendly and helpful, the German receptionist less so, although we speak German, so it wasn't a language thing. We thought the hotel was good value for a city break if you want a bit of local charm, rather than corporate saminess.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family_hakkinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    54
    24
    4
    12
See reviews for
16
48
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Four of us stayed for two nights July 5 and 6, 2012, before going to Austria. Rooms clean and comfortable. Ask for a room facing the back away from the street. We did not have ac. English is spoken. The night manager is from Oregon and on his own time, booked our train tickets to Salzburg and saved us $70 per couple in the process. Easy to get to by airport train although it did help that a Munich citizen gave us much assistance. Good location for walking around the center of the city. Breakfast was abundant, tasty, and well served. Munich is a grat city and if we make it back we will stay here.

Room Tip: Request a room facin away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

I've been in acanthus just for one night and it was enough to understand that, you can spend your money in a better way,to sleep in Munich.

Mr. Witzmann as receptionist was very unkindly and arrogant, breakfast is not included and when you pay € 150 for one night, i think is incredible, rooms are dirty, lift is an archeological repert, Tv from the last century.

listen to me, this is not the right place,Munich offer better chances at loweat prices, or higher level for the same money.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank ossobard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

I've been here several times, and I must say concerning price-value ratio it is better than most 3 star Hotels in german cities. Rooms have a certain "german style" ("antic furniture", see pics). bath is ok, breakfast is really good and even if you are a bit late in he morning they will not hustle you to finish so they can clean up... Location is also good, Sendlinger Straße is a shopping area and brings you directly to the city centre in a few minutes. Only problem is, that the sagging mattress gave me a pain in the morning and a big problem to find sleep. Service got two point because the guy is kind of moody. When I asked him if he could print something very improtant for me, which I would defnitely pay, he said: Sorry I got no vacant USB slot right now, but there's a copy shop in this or this road... and the housekeeping doesn't really respect the "do not disturb" sign, they would just come in. ... What else?
- mini bar prices are normal
- TV is old and way oo small
- view from the window to the street is good (beautiful historical building)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at the Acanthushotel for the Electronica Tradeshow at the Messe Center. The hotel is perfectly located near the U2 U-Bahn station which is about 10 stops from the Messe center. The hotel is within about a 10 min. walk from Marienplatz and about 20 min. from the Hofbrau House.

The hotel has wireless internet for about 5.5 Euro for a 24 hour period of time. However, they were frequently running out of them and only had the 12.5 Euro cards available. There is a Starbucks nearby which offers free internet access as well as the Apple store near Marienplatz.

My room was on the 4th floor right behind the tiny elevator. I thought it would be noisy, but I never heard it (though I tend to be a sound sleeper).

Breakfast was good and felt it was good for 8 Euro.

Only some of the staff spoke clear English and some didn't speak English at all.

Overall, the hotel wasn't the most comfortable, but the price and location made it a great compromise. No A/C that I could see, so it could be hot in the summer time. My room was on the street side and the street sweeper woke me up early Saturday morning as my window was open.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed here 3 nights in Sept 2010. The room was decently spacious as well as the bathroom. The elevator was a little small !!! (holds 1 person + 1 large bag), but got the job done. The breakfast here was outstanding - a great spread of meats, cheeses, bread, and also lots of local delicacies. It was just what we were looking for and there is a very cute breakfast area to eat as well. We found the front desk to not be over the top with customer service, but attentive to all needs and helpful with anything you requested. No free parking but we dropped our car off so no problem. We took the subway to the airport also and that was within walking distance (very easy!!).

Overall a very nice hotel and we would consider it again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank circletheworld642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

The hotel website does not represent hotel. We were greeted by a grumpy desk clerk who blew cigarette smoke in my face as I arrived. This was the welcome we recieved and was an indication of more to come. The smell of smoke was terrible. It wafted up from the courtyard and bar at all times. Made the hotel unbearable. The rooms were tiny and less than clean. The common areas were dirty and in need of updating. The numerous silk flowers in the hotel served more as dust collectors than decorations. We left after one night and couldn't get out of there fast enough! Worst hotel of a three week vacation.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SDFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#275 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Am Sendlinger Tor
Am Sendlinger Tor
#349 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asam Stadthotel
Asam Stadthotel
#228 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
#352 of 382 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centro Hotel Mondial
Centro Hotel Mondial
#251 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#49 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanthushotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanthushotel

Property: Acanthushotel
Address: An der Hauptfeuerwache 14, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acanthushotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HRS and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Acanthushotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanthushotel Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing