We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask about the noisy building site next door!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #308 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ask about the noisy building site next door!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is stunning, staff is great, breakfast great, location fantastic but..... They are right on top of the next door building site. We got woken up with noisy workers and could not get up and dressed and out of there fast enough. We spent the afternoon recovering lost sleep in the fantastic English Gardens just a short walk away,

Also, on Saturday nights every kraut and his mate with an expensive car has to rev the engines outside the hotel down the street. Forget about sleeping. Great if you party all night, not great if you are just having a normal holiday.

But the staff understands so did not give hassles when we asked to check out early.

Room Tip: The street facing if you like noise, back facing for quiet, but with building next door its noisy ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esta-Marita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Esta-Marita,
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. With pleasure we read your positive comment on our staff and our location. We would like to apologize that you have been disturbed by construction work and any inconvenience this may caused.
We hope to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards. Julia Sprung and the team of the Cosmopolitan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    61
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
9
35
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Sava, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had the Double room and The Junior Suite for 3. The suite was more like a spacious double room with an extra bed. nonetheless, The rooms were spotless and the bathroom was beautiful. The breakfast is really generous and is open until 12pm - big plus for us. The staff was always helpful by email and on location. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue24g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Blue24g,
We are glad to learn that you loved your stay with us and thank you very much for giving us such a lauding comment on trip advisor. Hoping to seeing you again here at the Cosmopolitan Hotel soon.
Warmest regards. Julia Sprung and the team of the Cosmopolitan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

great little hotel tucked away just off the main road into Munich city center, clean and spacious enough for two. well stocked mini bar .great staff and free wi fi . would recommend and stay here again. great bakeries and bars within 2 minute walk. close to two tubes stations so no problems getting about . we stayed here on the champions league final in a group of 6, so as you can imagine quite a late night ,(or two)

regarding other reviews about building work next door, we had no problems at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales & Marekting Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear robert d,
We are glad to learn that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for giving us such a laudatory comment on trip advisor. Looking forward to your next visit in our town and our hotel.
Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Cosmopolitan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in the Cosmopolitan hotel for four nights in April 2013. The hotel is in a really good location. It is only 20 mins walk from the city centre and the area is lively with lots of shops, cafes and bars. Also it's really close to the English Garden, which was my favourite part of Munich. Also it's really close to the U-bahn so it's easy to get anywhere in Munich.
The room was basic but had everything we needed. It was clean and felt safe. There was a minibar that was restocked daily and toiletries in the bathroom. The wifi connection was really fast, I was really impressed with this.
The staff were really helpful- There was a problem with our shower, which we reported and it was fixed within hours. Also they looked after our bags when we arrived at the hotel before check in.
There were building works next door to the hotel - this did not bother me but may bother some people so be aware.
Overall I would recommend anyone to stay here and if I return to Munich I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Notsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialcosmo, Sales & Marketing Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Notsy,
Thank you very much for your evaluation on trip advisor and we are delighted to read your positive comment. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the central location of your property and that you feel comfortable in the area of our hotel. We would like to thank you also for your positive note on our staff. Kindly be informed that the loud construction work taking place during the last weeks as a building close to our property was knocked down will be finished soon.
We look forward to welcoming you back our hotel in the not too far distant future.
Kindest regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the Cosmopolitan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Booked here for a weekend in mid-march,when in Munich to celebrate a friends 40th birthday.The hotel is in a good location near plenty bars and restaurants.The subway is only 5 minutes walk from hotel.
Apart from the good location the hotel hasn't got much going for it.The rooms are very average.All balcony's have a net running down them giving you the feel you are locked up in a prison.
The shower was pathetic.When set at maximum height it would only be good for someone at 5ft 5inch or under.Being 6ft myself it was an annoyance.
I found the girl at reception very unpleasant.Just before checking out myself or my friend misplaced our room key somewhere in room.When checking out we explained this only to be told there would be a charge of 35 euro for not handing in key.
Totally disgraceful.We are talking 30 GBP for a silly key here that the cleaner would no doubt have found.Even if not it would never cost 35 euro to cut a new key.
She actually accused us of having a 2nd key which we had to fiercely deny.We paid the 35 euro and left hotel in a very foul mood.
It was a blip in an otherwise great weekend.Munich was wonderful.Wish The Cosmopolitan Hotel could have matched it.
Won't be back.Will stay elsewhere in my next visit to munich.If i were you i would do the same.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialcosmo, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Scott R,

Thank you for your review. I´m surprised about it. There were a couple of incidents concerning your groups stay - but I don´t wont to go to details so far.

Our mattresses are two meters tall - isn´t that big enough? What´s the size you usually use? My collegue (Sarah, one of the friendliest people I know - ask other guests) told me, that you went up to your rooms a couple of times to search the key - without luck. Send me your email address to our email and I will send you the Invoice for the key and you will see that your right: To cut a new key from a system NEVER cost 35 Euro - it cost 42!!! Euro.

Every year we have so many lovely and satisfied guests. So many frequenter who loves our staff and hotel.

We would be happy to welcoming you again to Munich, but not in our Hotel.

Kind regards

Christoph Grödl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We have just enjoyed our third stay in the Cosmopolitan hotel. The hotel is set back from the street in a quiet courtyard ( although that calm is currently being disrupted by building works close to the hotel. We stayed in a junior suite which was spacious and comfortable. Other reviewers have commented on the decor; it is becoming a little tired and shabby but that is, so far, a minor concern and did not detract from our enjoyment.
It is very handily located being close to the; underground, Englischer Garten and a plethora of eating places.
The buffet breakfast is excellent. We would happily visit again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Magneticmoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales & Marketing Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Magneticmoment
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the Cosmopolitan Hotel and we would like to thank you for your time to share your impressions with other travellers on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read your positive evaluation and comment on our hotel during your stay.
There was construction work taking place during the last weeks as a building close to our property was knocked down. This work has been finished now. We apologize for any inconvenience the noise of the construction work caused to you. It is our idea to provide with the Cosmopolitan Hotel a simple 3* city hotel central located in the district Schwabing in Munich. Of course refurbishment and improvement works are conducted in our bed and breakfast property ongoing to keep the pleasant ambience. It is wonderful to read that we have convinced you with our concept.
We look forward to welcoming you back our hotel in the not too far distant future.
Kindest regards
Julia Sprung and the team of Cosmopolitan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

New and modern hotel, in a perfect position: it's in a central area, with many restaurants, shops, coffee shops, the tube station it's a 5minutes walk and 3 stops to Marienplatz.
The rooms are big, clean, modern and equipped with all the comforts, the bathroom is quite big, is cleaned up daily and towels are changed every day, too.
The receptionists are very kind and helpfull..in a few words a perfect experience! I have just one complaint: Don't forget to put the tag "do not disturb" outside the door: the housekeepers knocked au our door at 8:15 am, and even if I shouted no thank you they opened the door (probably they didn't hear me) and after half an hour they came again!!!We are on holiday! :) So the day after I din't forget to put the don't disturb tag but they woke us up anyway because they were so noisy in the corridors! Howwever our stay in Cosmopolitan hotel has been so good, I recommend it!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
0.1 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#192 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#206 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#215 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.7 mi away
Park Residence
Park Residence
#8 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#255 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: Hohenzollernstr. 5, 80801 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and enjoy yourself in the heart of Munich's fashionable Schwabing district. Mingle with the city's in-crowd when you're in the mood. The Cosmopolitan is a favourite among Munich's free-spirited globetrotters, models, photographers, media reps and fashion specialists. Perhaps it's the Ligne Roset interior design or the sumptuous breakfast buffet – or maybe it's the hotel guests themselves. Either way, it's time for you to discover the Cosmopolitan Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing