We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fits the budget hotel bill perfectly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich
Ranked #7 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Mainz, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fits the budget hotel bill perfectly”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This place does everything that a budget hotel/hostel should. It's great value for money, super clean and has a great little bar.

If you're travelling by train, it's in a perfect location. And walking into town is hardly a chore from here either, so the location is very good.

We stayed in a private double room, and it was clean and tidy. No, it wasn't flashest rooms in the world or likely to give anyone from the Hilton any headaches, but come on, for what we paid you certainly couldn't complain. Plus it came with breakfast for free. Not bad.

The bar is a cool spot to hang out. The beer is cheap, and there are a couple of happy hours each day. Plus, at least when we were there, you get a coupon for a free glühwein upon arrival. That's a good start to any stay.

I would very much recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    664
    422
    117
    73
See reviews for
118
160
630
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Forget what you have read from all the negative comments, here is the truth.
I have just come back from Munich with 8 students (i'm a teacher). 5 x 17 year old girls stayed in one room on the first floor, where the room had 4 bunk beds and big wire crates under the beds to store their stuff. They had to leave the room to use the communal showers which were very clean but lacked anywhere to get undressed in privacy, they told me if the did this in the shower cubicle their clothes would get wet. The 3 x 17 year old boys stayed in a room for 3 on the 5th floor, which had 3 single beds which were well spaced out and comfortable. Mine and my colleagues rooms were single on the 5th floor which were basically furnished, although did have a TV which only German channels. The en suite bathrooms were basic, but clean. No frills, no soaps etc, and towels were 2 euros to hire which was fine. The room was warm and you could open the window to get fresh air.
We arrived on a Thursday which was a quiet night downstairs, but Friday was another matter, BUT the noise did not come from the hotel bar, it came from a VERY loud house party next door, banging disco music till the early hours, but if your wore earplugs you couldn't hear anything!
The breakfast set us up for the day, with boiled eggs, juice, hams, cheese, cereal, yogurt, coffee, teas, toast maker, bread rolls and even chocolate spread. So we all decided that for a hostel it was pretty good.
The hotel itself is 5 minutes walk from the station, which has lots of places to eat as well, so we felt it was very conveniently placed for late night coffees etc.
Overall we all agreed the hotel was excellent value for money, yes there was noise at night, but if I went again I would ask to be on the 4th or 5th floor at the back. Yes the lift was slow and yes the wi-fi was poor, but the staff were very sweet and helpful, they made restaurant reservations for us and were generally very kind. There was a security guard on duty at night, pacing about, which made us feel safe, and the bedroom doors were very solid and secure. YES I would go and stay there again, but i would pack some earplugs and if i needed the internet i would pop over to starbucks in the station and use it for free. I hope this helps. (OH yes there were lots of families there as well).

Room Tip: Top floors 4th or 5th, avoid 1st floor street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reikiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The 4you hostel is the one and only place for you if you enjoy slow internet and unfriendly staff. All in all i find the 4you hostel exhausting. I never usually write reviews, but i write to you now in this very hostel out of pure anger. The internet must be a connection from the early 1800's or something. It is slow as hell and inconsistant, which as you can imagine is very difficult when you're trying to book your next trip. The rooms are overall okay. I realise its called the 4you hostel but i don't know whats so 'for you' about it. I think they should either change their name, or be more considerate of their customers. There are no powerpoints in the rooms (another 1800's method) I must sound completely crazy, but considering how many people are traveling and staying in hostels more and more frequently, i think they highly lack in the very basics. On one positive note, they have offered the best free breakfast i've seen since traveling. I will not be staying at the 4them hostel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fritter2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My stay at the 4You hostel in Munich was excellent! The staff provided great recommendations and were very friendly. The bathrooms and shower facilities were clean, I suspect they were cleaned several times throughout the day. Excellent location- very close to the train station but walking distance to the center. The bar on the premises was fun with good drink specials, but also the volume was maintained as to not disturb those in bed a little earlier. Lastly, can't beat that free breakfast! So delish. A superb experience!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllieAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the 4you Hostel during Oktoberfest in Munich. We booked a Hotel Style room many weeks in advance for a good price, about 20-40% of what other hotels are charging during the event.

Check in was easy, you get an old style key. They request that when you leave the hotel that you turn in the key at the desk and they give you a card that you can turn in to get your key back. I thought this was an odd request, but when you take into account that many who stay here are rather young, and visit Munich to party, I am sure they have had to deal with many lost keys.

The room, was a pleasant surprise. It was big, clean, and featured a double bed. The bathroom was a good size too. There was a hairdryer provided along with linens and soaps. The shower area was a bit crappy, however, with some plaster breaking off near the ceiling. Not that this posed any issues to using it.

We had a room facing the street, which is not such a great thing, being a light sleeper, I had averaged 1-2 hours of sleep a night. There was a pretty constant gathering of people on the street and on the steps of the hotel, who were obviously drunk and loud. These groups would disperse only to be replaced by a new crowd. Most of this lasted until 5am. The hostel is located on a street that faces the back of other hotels and businesses, so you also will have to deal with the sound of trucks making deliveries - some of which happen very early in the morning.

Breakfast was pretty lousy - there was a couple types of lunch meat, hard boiled eggs, bread, muesli, yogurt, juice and coffee. We ate for the sake of eating, but ended up usually getting something to eat outside the hotel most mornings.

Internet is offered in the lobby, but is pretty bad. The wireless connections would hang when signing in and you get dropped constantly. We wanted to keep in touch with home, and the free internet was just useless for this purpose. Fortunately, the hotel across the street has strong wireless and we were able to purchase a day of internet for 9 euro.

There is a bar in the hotel that has a selection of drinks, I believe the only beer served is Hofbrau, which is one of the standard staples in Munich. The drinks are fairly priced, and the bar is relatively tame, so its not a bad place to have a starter drink before a night out, or a nightcap before settling in for the night.

The location of the hotel is great, and it is easy to find. It is a 5 minute walk from the Hauptbanhof, and the neighborhood is busy enough to be safe.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the street, unless you absolutely need to have good Internet ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BergholzTimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in a double room with a private bathroom. The room was quite hot but ok with the window open. The bed was fine. The bathroom was very small and the shower screen was broken so it leaked all over the floor.
The corridoors were dingy and smelt a bit musty. The lifts were very busy and slow so we used the stairs most of the time.
Otherwise the staff were very energetic and helpful and the location was great just near the HBF station. It was about 20 minutes to walk to the main square.
Value for money wasn't that good given the quality of the room. I would probably stay somewhere else next time for my purposes but those staying in the dorms appeared to be having a terrific time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The 4you hostel is just a great overall hostel. The location of the hostel is right near the station and all the sites of the city are reachable from the metro across the street. Rooms are comfortable with new towels provided each day. 

The real highlight of the hostel was the bar area and in particular the ever hard working Nadine that works there. She served my friend and I numerous drinks with a laugh and a smile, a true representation of that german hospitality that I have enjoyed whilst here. She is a true gem and make sure to pop down and say hello whilst staying here! 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DylanFish87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 382 in Munich
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#26 of 382 in Munich
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#41 of 382 in Munich
1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#55 of 382 in Munich
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich

Property: The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich
Address: Hirtenstr. 18, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 4you Hostel And Hotel Munchen
4 You Muenchen Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing