We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Senator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Hotel
Ranked #135 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights for my business trip. The check-in was fast and was in my room in just 2 mins ( I had booked in advance ). I was staying in the 1st floor in a single bedroom. The room had good space and was good. The double bedrooms are very spacious as well. I had to pay around 3.5 euros per day for Wifi. Wifi good enough for emails and watching movies on youtube. But need to re-login few times and sometimes the connectivity just goes low /off.

Breakfast is good with good variety. The place is near to the central station ( 10 mins walk ) and also near Augustine beerhalls.I also found few good restaurants and grocery near by. I did not watch tv so cannot comment on that but I think they were no English channels. There is also a deposit safe and they give a receipt for the contents. There was a 100 Euro missing when I withdraw from the safe and the hotel was quick enough to give me a 100 euro from their counter. I appreciate this a lot.

So if you planning a short trip or a place to stay near good connectivity then I would suggest this place.

Room Tip: Any room is good enough .. I stayed in the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    94
    57
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
97
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has good location, to city center is only 20min on foot. Hotel is a bit old with old interior. If you are going to octoberfest the this is perfect location.
Breakfast is ok.
What bothered me mattress ware realllly old and i could feel each metal things inside :(

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Matej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clapham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Only a one night stay, arrived late (after a very short walk from central train station) and had a warm welcome. Little bar by reception made it all better and I knew the bar maid, because she had just checked me in !.
Pleasantly surpirsed about the room, Looked very "Spanish esq"... White walls, and white tiled floor, all superbly clean and well presented with mordern fittings. Bathroom / shower was again spotless and modern.
Breakfast was very nice with a wide range to suit all, fresh and continental. I will be staying here again on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinglish_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed here for 4nights.
Pros
Hotel staff were friendly
Room was clean and of a good size
Complimentary breakfast was fresh and a decent choice. Continental style
Great location. 5min walk from hakerbrucke and under 10 from central station
Transport links are excellent and you can get round Munich very easilly

Cons
Our room was very noisy with being on a busy street.
No safe in room although hotel felt very secure
No free WiFi
No aircon, although we were there in October room got very warm

Overall, a good hotel for the price, comfortable and a good location.
























Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scottcoboyashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is not far from the the old town, like 20 min walking, than 10 min to the main railway station. It is also extremely close to the Oktoberfest Ground so it will be ideal if one plans to go for this. The receptionists were friendly and cooperative. The garage in the basement costs 12 euro per day but it"s safer like this. The room was indeed big, but outdated, however we had the comfort we needed. The breakfast was nice, varied. This is quite typical for Germany, which is a very good habit :)

Room Tip: On the front rooms might be a little noisy although the windows are well insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

On the doorstep of the Oktoberfest and a short tram or S bahn to the centre. Hotel bar does a nice (small) after party when the Beer tents have closed. Breakfast is simple, but good. Rooms are a decent size, clean and functional. Staff were all pleasant and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel was about 15-20mins walk from the Munich Central Station. From the correct exit, it's just a straight walk until you meet the Martin Greifstrasse Street. It's along the street on your left. The location was easy to find. There is one grocery nearby which carries lots of local beers, one could make your own private fest!

The reception was ok, it feels serious, just like when we stepped into a government office :) One question asked, one answer offered, "welfare office style". But they are still nice, not grumpy. There is an elevator at guests disposal, so luggage lovers are insured. We booked a double room for two nights. The room was clean, no stench, there is a balcony, a welcome plate of fruits from the hotel, access to a fridge, the bathroom was average but clean.. The bed is comfortable, and the sleep was peaceful.. So the overall standard is good.. Breakfast was provided at the dining room, the spread was ok, typical hotel standard breakfast..

The metro station was pretty near too. About 5-10 mins walk. There is also a nice church behind the hotel, one should consider dropping by just before the metro. Here is also where you will find the huge ground for the Oktoberfest Event. So be sure to plan ahead as the rooms would be snapped up in a split second.. Taking the metro to town was so easy and cheap too.. So be sure to cover the BMW Museum and the Munich Allianz Arena (for Bayern Munich Fans- stay till evening, you will see a great stadium lighted up in different colours).. Winter in Munich could be pretty painful, so suit up before your outdoor activities.. In downtown, plenty to see, plenty to drink.. There is a great place to dine called Prinz Myshkin (for Vegetarians especially- this is where you should dine- It's really really good! But be sure to reserve a place coz its always full)..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danieru7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0.1 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#26 of 382 in Munich
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
Vi Vadi Hotel Bayer 89
#76 of 382 in Munich
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
0.5 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#130 of 382 in Munich
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#158 of 382 in Munich
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel

Property: Senator Hotel
Address: Martin-Greif-Str. 11, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing