We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a building site!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Deutsches Theater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Deutsches Theater
Ranked #276 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Its a building site!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a work in progress. A building site! Has been for 3 years, but not mentioned, or shown in any photos! Was locked out of the hotel on 2nd night, as reception notice says closes at 12am ! But closed at 11.30. So could not even sleep in my room! A total shambles, only bomber Harris could improve this Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dujon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    125
    134
    35
    38
See reviews for
64
104
56
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

clean. cheap. located centrally. free wi-fi. would stay here again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marcy_lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel has all the makings of a very nice experience except that essentially no maintenance seems to have been done for about 7 years. The walls are scarred, the TV old, the WIFI old fashioned, the mattresses feel like dormitory demos. The lighting is pathetic. The tub is scarred from people dropping the shower since they used a cheap shower head. The safe is out of the 1950s key and all

But out room was large, the staff was friendly and the breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeritus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Clean and comfortable. Traditional (dated) hotel, fine for a short stay. Close to the Karlplatz S Bahn station and thus an easy link from the Airport. Unusually I was asked to pay in cash and had to take a quick trip out to the atm. 8 minute walk to the Sendlinger Tor and a further 10 minutes to the Marienplatz.. There was building work going on to the surrounding buildings and we were woken at 8am with a thankfully short-lived burst of hammering and driling. Judging by the extent of the scaffolding, this looks likely to continue for quite a while.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Located about 5-10 minutes from the train station, and ~15 minutes from the tourist part of town, this hotel is decently situated for those traveling on foot. The neighborhood is a bit dirty, but I didn't feel unsafe.

The hotel is a bit dingy. It definitely smells of smoke, which was a problem for my asthmatic partner. The hallways are a bit depressing, with a dark/gray feel to them, and there are stains on the walls and carpets as you walk to your room.

The room itself seemed clean enough, but we still couldn't shake the feeling that it was dirty based on the general presence/ambiance exuded by the hotel. It was a drab room, with curtains that I was afraid to touch. The bathroom, though, seemed to be OK--and I think that's probably the most important place to feel clean! There was construction going on while we were there, which made it a bit noisy at times, but I don't recall having much difficulty sleeping (and I'm a light sleeper, so that's saying something).

The staff was friendly enough. They allowed us to store our bags for the day when we checked out but before we headed off to the train station later in the day.

I wouldn't recommend staying here, nonetheless, because of the grimy feel to the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just a ten minute walk from the train station, and pretty close by to the action. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Room smelled strongly of stale smoke, which was a bit offputting even as a smoker. Otherwise room was fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pooyousir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

In general, I arrange my bookings following TA advice but, this time, I was not responsible for finding a good hotel room. For this hotel, although it was really cheap (59 euros for a night, no breakfast included - extra 9 euros/day) and the staff is really helpful, I could not give a better rating. First, we were given a smoking room, depsite the fact that our reservation was for a non-smoking room. Ok, we arrived early and the hotel did not have many ready rooms, but it would be better to make us wait until the correct check-in time instead of giving a room that would not attend our needs. The room are clean enough, but the beds are VERY soft, making nights a little bit difficult. Pillows are not good enough to support my head and summing this with the mattresses provided, sleeping quality was not perfect at all. The last night our neighbor was watching TV and we could hear all the programs he was watching. But, for me, the worst part was internet: they offer free internet access; however, when you get a connection it is very unstable and slow, making internet surfing a pain. Even instant messaging was poor. I believe that many people around use the same internet, since it is not password protected, decreasing the quality of the service. I believe that, if the owners read this, they can easily solve the problems related here, with almost no cost, what would certainly make their hotel a better option for Munich.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bncav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtmitte
0.2 mi away
Centro Hotel Mondial
Centro Hotel Mondial
#240 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Demas City
Hotel Demas City
#171 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Litty's Hotel
Litty's Hotel
#235 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#266 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Daniel
Hotel Daniel
#193 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsches Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsches Theater

Property: Hotel Deutsches Theater
Address: Landwehrstr. 18, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deutsches Theater 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Deutsches Theater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutsches Theater Munich
Deutsches Theater Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing