We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with pluses and minuses!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Ranked #179 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A hotel with pluses and minuses!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed for a week late December 2013-January 2014. Initial room allocation for 2 people, small by way of room and bed sizes, as well as wood furniture that made it look outdated. Asked to change the room and it was politely effected from the second day via an upgrade at no extra charge. New room even exceeded expectations. Moving on, excellent breakfast and by way of quality and by way of always been quiet with not a lot of guests.

The hotel's location has issues. The distance from Marienplatz and its surrounding area is 15' by taxi and comes at €18 one way. Getting there by metro involves walking since there is no station really near the hotel.

The petrol station's mini market immediately next to the hotel, saves the day when it comes to needing to buy water or coffee or something outside the hotel premises.

Polite staff at all times, ready to assist.

Overall, i cant say this is a bad hotel to stay. Like the title of the review says, my personal opinion is that the hotel has serious pluses and serious minuses which primarily relate to location as mentioned above.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgios1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Georgios1974,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I am sorry to hear the troubles you had during your visit. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on room condition and truly sorry for you did not find our location to your liking. We deeply regret that these aspects have negatively affected your sleep and overall experience.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    180
    130
    45
    22
See reviews for
62
91
38
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you get there by public transport you have to walk at least 15 mins so better take a cab if you are tired. Check in was fast but too little information about the hotel facilities and the area. The room was in a good condition the bathroom not. Minibar is empty so you have to use a vending machine on the first floor. You can not get something to eat at 14:30 p.m. because no one is available to serve food (4*?). Bar looks nice and staff was friendly its decorated as a traditional bavarian bar very nice!
Housekeeping tried to get in the room at 9 a.m. with knocking and immediately entering....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWorldTravelerGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Baloo12345678,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on most of the services and amenities that we provid. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I had a bad first impression as I walked into the lobby. Everything looked old-fashioned and tired. As I was standing in line to checkin I looked more carefully and realised I was being unfair - the reason it looks so bad is because there is construction work in progress to resurface the floor. Maybe they will clean up the rest of the decor as well.

I didn't find the checkin staff to be very friendly but once I did actually get to the front of the line I was allocated a room quickly and efficiently. I then had a shock when I exited the elevator because the whole second floor stinks very badly of cigarette smoke. Inside my room it was not quite so bad but still made me feel actually sick and the windows do not open very far. After about an hour I suddenly understood that for some reason I had been given a designated smoking room (where I am from it is illegal to smoke indoors and I completely forgot Germany allowed it) so I returned to reception and was re-allocated a new room on the fifth floor away from the smoke.

There was another guy with the same problem and I overheard the staff explaining to him that all the twin rooms were for smoking and the double rooms for non-smoking. So if you don't smoke and need a twin this is definitely a place to avoid.

There were no problems with the new room it was quite nice. The TV has a large range of channels from all over the world. I was there only one night on business so did not really take notice of all the room facilities but it seemed comprehensively supplied. I didn't hear any noise and overall a fine and comfortable room.

The hotel is located on a main north/south highway and it felt like there was nothing else around. I experimentally walked for fifteen minutes in each direction and found only residential housing, two petrol stations, and one resturant. I saw no public transport so you are in the middle of nowhere unless you can drive or take a taxi. Be warned that at during rush hour the traffic outside the hotel is incredible and I failed to allow enough time to travel by taxi a short distance to the office.

I didn't eat in the hotel but the bar felt friendly and welcoming. The other public areas of the hotel seemed fine with clean toilets and so on. There is a sauna and gym or something but it was all closed during my stay there.

As other reviewers have commented the wireless internet is too expensive to use. I don't understand why they try this game because even though roaming 3G access via smartphone is not cheap the cost is still well below the hotel's rate. Earlier whilst was standing in the checkin line I heard reception tell another customer that breakfast costs 24 euros! Even though my company was paying I still refused to be overcharged like that so I did not have breakfast.

I arrived late for my meeting thanks to the unexpected traffic, hungry, and with my clothes still faintly smelling of cigarettes. Cannot blame the hotel for all of that but it is overall not a place I want to stay next time.

Room Tip: Twins are for smokers, doubles are for non-smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ultrak3wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear ultrak3wl,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I spent three night at the Holiday Inn in Effnerstrasse, in Nov. 2013 (room 314). Not too bad, the price was reasonable, and the accommodation in general comfortable. A few things that could be improved: WiFi connection was very slow; the bath tub and shower would require to be refreshed; the breakfast was rather expensive, at 21 euro.

I had one dinner in their Ludwig Stuble (is this the correct spelling ?) which was a pleasant surprise: nice atmosphere and good food. There are other Holiday Inn hotels in Munich, the choice depends on what takes you there: this one is about 15 minutes walking from the bus and subway station in Arabella Park, if you need a faster transportation or a closer proximity to the city centre then another venue could be preferable. This location has however a great advantage: absolute tranquility !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziochecco1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear ziochecco1954,

Thank you for your candid feedback. It is unfortunate you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations. But we are pleased you did enjoy your meal in our restaurant. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel, and your feedback will help us to do so.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as part of a big tour and found it perfectly acceptable. I would complain that the wifi is (a) not free and (b) really slow when you do pay for it. Also, the location is quite a way from the centre of town and the shower water pressure was terrible. However, the rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean and the staff are terrifically helpful. Breakfast was also delicious

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank worldwearytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear worldwearytraveller1,

I appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am pleased to know that our rooms were comfortable and you found our staff to be helpful. I regret though that the Wifi fees and shower facility were a disappointment. We will use your comments for upgrades needed on premises.

Again, thanks for your review and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

There are three Holiday Inn hotels in Munich, one downtown, the one at the airport and the third one on Effner strasse, a bit inconvenently located 10-15 minutes from the closest metro station at the Arabella park. If you depend on public transport, then I would not recommend the hotel. on Effner strass. Aslo, not many things to see or do in the surrounding area.
I was not very satisfied with the service, the staff could be a bit more kind and professional, and know exactly what arrangement had been previously made, rather than puttting the client in an embarrassing situation.
The room was OK, the sleep quality good, in soft pillows, and good matress. The bathroom - I was a bit confused to find some Nivea amenities for man, eventhough they new than a female was the guest. Little things that you notice, that can spoil the impression of the ovarall stay.
I liked the kettle in the room and the option to make my own cup of coffee. I didn't like the Internet being charged, and that, for example, if you purhcase 1 hour, you cannot use it with interruptions, but at once, which is pretty much unacceptable.
All in all, I visited the other Holiday Inn in the city center, and was impressed with the connections - the hotel is connected directly to the Subway, which takes you, again, directly (the S8 line) to the airport in about 40 minutes. Also, it is connected to the Ubahn, and clsoe to Marienpatz in the core downtown, at just 2 metro stops away, or 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatjana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Makilaki,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Was on business in Munich during the Oktoberfest season, and it was not only terrible finding vacancies, the prices were just beyond reality.
The Hotel is average, quite distant from downtown, walking to the next U Bahn takes 10 Minutes and a taxi will cost you around 16 Euro. the Hotel has small and normal rooms, make sure you get the normal "larger" ones. the small rooms are really small and not comfortable at all.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Gass1,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
4.9 mi away
Ambiance Rivoli
Ambiance Rivoli
#117 of 382 in Munich
346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Ost
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
4.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
3.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark

Property: Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Address: Effnerstr. 99, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Munich)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich, the metropolis with a heart and good-natured Bavarian hospitality! The Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark is the ideal base for business and leisure travellers to discover all the attractions Munich has to offer. The hotel is located next to the Englischer Garten park, which is the biggest inner city park in Europe and is situated in the heart of Munich. The sights and places of interest, such as Marienplatz, the October Beer-Festival, the Olympic Park, the new Allianz Arena, home of the Soccer Clubs FC Bayern Muenchen and 1860 Muenchen and the New Munich Exhibition Center, as well as the Munich main train station and the international airport, are only a few minutes away by public transport or car.The Munich trade fair, the venue for international conventions and trade fairs such as BAUMA, BAU, ISPO, IFAT and Analytica, is easy to reach by public transport. The A9 motorway and the Mittlerer Ring are close by. All guest rooms offer modern equipment, including self controlled air condition and free high speed W-LAN. Relax in the sauna or the steambath, which you ll find in our wellness area, or get in shape in our gym. As a special service trekking bikes can be hired free of charge. Our conference facilities can accommodate up to 277 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing