We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Ranked #161 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as part of a big tour and found it perfectly acceptable. I would complain that the wifi is (a) not free and (b) really slow when you do pay for it. Also, the location is quite a way from the centre of town and the shower water pressure was terrible. However, the rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean and the staff are terrifically helpful. Breakfast was also delicious

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank worldwearytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear worldwearytraveller1,

I appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am pleased to know that our rooms were comfortable and you found our staff to be helpful. I regret though that the Wifi fees and shower facility were a disappointment. We will use your comments for upgrades needed on premises.

Again, thanks for your review and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 457 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

There are three Holiday Inn hotels in Munich, one downtown, the one at the airport and the third one on Effner strasse, a bit inconvenently located 10-15 minutes from the closest metro station at the Arabella park. If you depend on public transport, then I would not recommend the hotel. on Effner strass. Aslo, not many things to see or do in the surrounding area.
I was not very satisfied with the service, the staff could be a bit more kind and professional, and know exactly what arrangement had been previously made, rather than puttting the client in an embarrassing situation.
The room was OK, the sleep quality good, in soft pillows, and good matress. The bathroom - I was a bit confused to find some Nivea amenities for man, eventhough they new than a female was the guest. Little things that you notice, that can spoil the impression of the ovarall stay.
I liked the kettle in the room and the option to make my own cup of coffee. I didn't like the Internet being charged, and that, for example, if you purhcase 1 hour, you cannot use it with interruptions, but at once, which is pretty much unacceptable.
All in all, I visited the other Holiday Inn in the city center, and was impressed with the connections - the hotel is connected directly to the Subway, which takes you, again, directly (the S8 line) to the airport in about 40 minutes. Also, it is connected to the Ubahn, and clsoe to Marienpatz in the core downtown, at just 2 metro stops away, or 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatjana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Makilaki,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Was on business in Munich during the Oktoberfest season, and it was not only terrible finding vacancies, the prices were just beyond reality.
The Hotel is average, quite distant from downtown, walking to the next U Bahn takes 10 Minutes and a taxi will cost you around 16 Euro. the Hotel has small and normal rooms, make sure you get the normal "larger" ones. the small rooms are really small and not comfortable at all.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Gass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Gass1,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed over for two nights at this Holiday Inn while in Munich - I found the hotel excellent. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Service was excellent all through. I got the benefit of free wifi due to my IHG priority club membership. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was sumptuous. The local underground station is about 5-10 mins by walk, plus taxis seemed to be easily available in the hotel taxi rank. Overall an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoreTrips2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Would highly recommend , the holiday inn, the rooms are clean, the breakfast is really good, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The Holiday Inn is only a five min walk to underground sub way, which runs regular . A very very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roben_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent service. Centrally located. Will go back any time! Breakfast menu offered a great variety of selections and was delicious. The staff was helpful and assisted us with directions around the city. The staff was fluent in English and many also in Spanish.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariahcuevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We always stay at Holiday Inns when traveling in the US. We were quite happy with our stay at this hotel. The staff at times seemed to be a little testy when large groups were being checked in. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. One problem we had was that it seemed that the a/c was SHUT DOWN OVERNIGHT. There was a swimming pool provide indoor. There are many store within walking distance. Be sure to stay OFF the bike lanes when walking around. They will literally run you over if you are in their path. The breakfast buffet provides a good variety of food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
4.9 mi away
Ambiance Rivoli
Ambiance Rivoli
#149 of 390 in Munich
354 reviews
5.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City North
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
4.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
2.3 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Premium Domagkstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark

Address: Effnerstr. 99, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Munich)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $73 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich, the metropolis with a heart and good-natured Bavarian hospitality! The Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark is the ideal base for business and leisure travellers to discover all the attractions Munich has to offer. The hotel is located next to the Englischer Garten park, which is the biggest inner city park in Europe. The sights and places of interest, such as Marienplatz, the October Beer-Festival, the Olympic Park, the Allianz Arena, the Munich Exhibition Center, as well as the Munich main train station and the international airport, are only a few minutes away by public transport or car. The A9 motorway and the Mittlerer Ring are close by. All guest rooms offer modern equipment, including self controlled air condition and free high speed WiFi. As a special service trekking bikes can be hired free of charge. Our conference facilities can accommodate up to 277 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing