We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly room and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Ranked #171 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed June 9, 2013

For 280€ per night surely it's reasonable to accept a fresh room, breakfast and a decent wifi network. I got none of these. The room smelt stale, breakfast was not included, wifi was patchy at best and my television had a red line running down the screen. The nightly rate reflected the fact it was fully booked. That's all very well but the room and services should then reflect the rate charged. Not happy and, if I have any choice, will not return.

Stayed: June 2013
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear R0cket72,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns via TripAdvisor. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at the hotel, we would like to thank you for providing your feedback. We will follow up with the Executive Housekeeper to review with staff. IHG offers a variety of options for what you are looking for. If you need an hotel offering free breakfast we have our Holiday Inn Express with their complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Holiday Inn hotels are full service hotels with a full service restaurant on property with rates you can choose from that include breakfast.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 434 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

As a chain you know what you are going to get We arrived mid morning - our room wasn't ready but the desk checked our bags and we were able go spend on the afternoon seeing the local sights.
The hotel is above the connected mall and train/subway making going places very handy. We were able to get a breakfast special when we checked in so our rate was affordable but if you don't want to purchase breakfast there is a full service grocery store right next to the hotel in the mall.
We took advantage of room service - it was very quick - reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Even though the hotel seems to be quite quiet the higher up would probably be better. The hotel see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGirlInVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear AGirlInVermont,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you found our location convenient during your stay and thank you for noticing our quick room service.

It was real pleasure to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Your opinion, as every single guest, is very important to us and serves us as an advise, reward and motivation for the future.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

really this trip to munich was incredible
at first best western hotel dissapointed me
and then holiday inn
absolutely small rooms and bathroom
pillows i didn`t like
fridge didn`t work
front desk they DON`T CARE
when i asked to have 2 blanket
the guy told me that he will help me later
in the end i received my blanket when i slept in 1 hour.......
the staff not so friendly
breakfast very expensive

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigershrimp k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Tamara P,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A decent hotel, a friendly personnel, good breakfast, but unfortunately far from centre and from subway station.
The parking fee per day is 18E and you always find places.

You should try the restaurant from the first floor. They have few products but good.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank GrooveRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am currently staying here on business. I am so far not so impressed, I have paid for the high speed internet (there is no free code that is of slower speed) which feels like I am getting a bum deal as it is so slow it quicker to turn the data on on my phone it just too expensive.
The room is good, the lifts have a very odd smell but the stuff are all but slow on the help. When asked which way to the subway I was provided with a map and that was it. When you have just arrived and not got a clue what roads are which etc, this was not helpful in the slightest. I just needed a left or right from them.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Sardo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Sardo84,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our room.

However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our staff and for the poor internet connection. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I recently stayed here on a Stag Do to Munich. Firstly we made the mistake of trying to check into the wrong hotel in the City Centre!! Never mind... we all trundled across to the Underground and purchased group tickets (Groups of 5) and spent the whole weekend using the underground to get around. This hotel is situated at Arabella Park from memory and is just a short walk from the tube station. The price difference to stopping in the centre is quite a big one and that can be well spent on a rail ticket.
The hotel was comfortable and clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I didn't use the restaurant whilst i was there so cant comment on the food. I did however make use of the vending machine on floor one in my drunken stupor!
The garage next door is well stocked with all of the usual items you'd expect from a garage and it appears to have some sort of an off licence in the back which is pretty cool.
There isn't anything to do really out this end of the city, anywhere to drink or eat... which is a shame but the walk to the tube and the trip into town is a relatively short journey.
My advice... make sure you get a business card with the hotel name on in case you decide to catch a taxi back because there are several holiday Inns in this city and to call at them all in a taxi could prove to be expensive and if you're walking, good luck!! Prost!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Extremely fast check in and check out. The staff spoke excellent English.
I was a bit sad the the TV had no CNN on it or any other English Channels.
Everything worked it did not require card in the slot to turn the power on.
The room door opened and closed very slowly.
Great Food and Bar on site.

Room Tip: Ask for an Room on the side opposite the elevator to be away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWesleyPruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear JohnWesleyPruitt,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I am sorry to hear your issue regarding the television channels. Nonetheless, we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your comments which allow us to confirm that our efforts for the well-being of our guests have been met.

We do hope that your review will be useful for any future travelers and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
4.9 mi away
Ambiance Rivoli
Ambiance Rivoli
#131 of 385 in Munich
351 reviews
5.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City North
3.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Westin Grand Munchen
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Ost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark

Address: Effnerstr. 99, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Munich)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $74 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich, the metropolis with a heart and good-natured Bavarian hospitality! The Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark is the ideal base for business and leisure travellers to discover all the attractions Munich has to offer. The hotel is located next to the Englischer Garten park, which is the biggest inner city park in Europe and is situated in the heart of Munich. The sights and places of interest, such as Marienplatz, the October Beer-Festival, the Olympic Park, the new Allianz Arena, home of the Soccer Clubs FC Bayern Muenchen and 1860 Muenchen and the New Munich Exhibition Center, as well as the Munich main train station and the international airport, are only a few minutes away by public transport or car.The Munich trade fair, the venue for international conventions and trade fairs such as BAUMA, BAU, ISPO, IFAT and Analytica, is easy to reach by public transport. The A9 motorway and the Mittlerer Ring are close by. All guest rooms offer modern equipment, including self controlled air condition and free high speed W-LAN. Relax in the sauna or the steambath, which you ll find in our wellness area, or get in shape in our gym. As a special service trekking bikes can be hired free of charge. Our conference facilities can accommodate up to 277 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing