We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepay the breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Ranked #175 of 382 Hotels in Munich
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Prepay the breakfast.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed there with another couple. We pre-paid the breakfast option for US$20 for 2. Our friends saved the $20 but had to pay 21 Euro each for their breakfasts.
Location is not city center but is 12 min. walk to an underground station and 12 min. ride to city center.
Breakfast was nice but it is the only hot meal available on site. 2 restaurants a 5 min walk away and more restaurants near underground station.
Rooms comfortable but small and noisy to hall noise.
Would try to get something closer to city center next time but wouldn't be totally bummed if had to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    178
    129
    44
    22
See reviews for
61
90
38
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed in Munich on business and booked this hotel actually instead of the other Holiday Inn City Centre as it was full ( this is where i would normally stay). As i travel alot i stay in a few different hotels and a lot of Holiday Inns and i have always found them welcoming and modern. On arrival at the hotel the staff were welcoming but i was surprised there was no bar/coffee available in any part of the hotel for purchase except from a vending machine...what sort of hotel can you not buy a coffee during the day? I was put in a room which was directly over from the lift, so anyone who had to go downstairs passed my room ( day and night !!) i know someone has to sleep there but soundproofing was terrible!The rooms/hall ways are in urgent need of decoration, very old fashioned and very expensive ( Munich is expensive and there was a trade fair on ) neverthe less to pay close to 180 euro and get no breakfast was a rip off i felt ! It was ok for one night but will not return. The breakfast was ok , but i had toast/cereal and had to pay 21 euros for the breakfast!! Lesson learned there !! Nothing fancy, clean beds but not in a rush to return when so many other lovely hotels in Munich

Room Tip: Quiet room away from lift and bring you own breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollypop1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Nightmare (if we could sleep)
12 of us booked for 2 nights on a stag do to Octoberfest. This had been booked 10 months in advance. We had booked 3 rooms each sleeping 4.
When we arrived 10.30 am we were told only 1 room was ready, which we understood as we were early and that the rooms available were only big enough to sleep 3, so had given us 4 rooms. The problem being the room numbers were not available till around 3pm which meant we had to sort rooms out when we got in from beer festival. Not ideal situation but we had no option.
When we got back to hotel late that night, admitted the worse for wear we were given door keys.
Found 3 rooms with only 1 double bed in each. could get nothing sorted so had to make do by sleeping in baths and on floor.
next morning receptionist was appologetic and after an arguement reluctantly offered free breakfast, but only for 6 of us.
eventually got an exra bed in each room but again did not get this sorted till afternoon so was unaware if all was ok until we got in that night.
This is unacceptable when we had booked and paid almost a year in advance.
Apart from that the room was clean and the bar is brilliant. The breakfast was good, tasted better when free. It is however 21 euros if you have to pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GAZ1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hotel has rather smaller, but still OK rooms. The rooms do not surprise with beauty, but are clean and have all you need. Breakfast is nice and rich. As most Holiday Inn hotels, also this one does not charm you by its beauty, but offers all you need for a great stay. The hotel is not that easy to reach by public transport, there is a bus stop ca 400m, but the bus goes every ca 20 min, still the ride by taxi to the center will cost you some 15 EUR. Nice place if you go jogging, its very close to English garden, so even some 20 km in park is not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x_____Honza_____x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived at 8am after a long journey on the sleeper train to Paris. One of my party had a priority card with the Holiday Inn and we were delighted to be allowed straight up to our room.

Room is clean, modern and within the hour the camper bed had been delivered without need for being prompted and size wise it comfortably fitted 3 girls who had overpacked for a few days at Oktoberfest.

We booked well in advance so the price was reasonable considering it was during Oktoberfest. One issue was with breakfast... we don't know whether it was actually included in the price of our room as we were told it was going to be €21 per person per day which put us off.

It's situated about a ten minute walk from the train station, tram station and there are numerous buses.

All in all worth booking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hecls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. What a great hotel. The staff was great and very friendly. The rooms were very clean, comfy, and quiet. The lobby bar was out of this world and fun. Even if you dont stay here, check out their lobby bar, its on the second floor and is like taking a step back in time and feeling like your in a mountain house on the slopes of a ski resort. For sure order a liter of Pauliner Hef. The breakfast buffet was very good with a great selection of food to choose from, including the great cheese. The hotel and lobby themselves are modern, the gym is small, but does includes a sauna.
To get to the hotel from the train is a bit of a walk, but we rolled our luggage to it and it was not too bad. The hotel will give you a map with a shortcut which goes through a very nice park and a beautifull neighborhood. From the train is is maybe a 5 min ride to city center and 10 min to the main train station.
We look forward to going back and staying at this Holliday Inn again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the same side as the front door and was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1998rc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The room was clean but quite small. The light from the corridor seeps to the room under the door. This is also coupled with the problem that you can hear every word spoken in the corridor.....and believe me, a bus load of tourists arriving late can be very loud. The room doesn't really darken in the night. The toilet seating is so low that one gets a feeling one is sitting almost on the floor! The Hotel TV have only German programmes. So, if you do not understand German you can "pay-and-surf" in the net. There is no coffee making facility in the room. You are required to get soft drinks from a dispensing machine which does not dispense any warm drinks. You are expected to ask the room service and for a cup of coffee you are required you cough up 2 Euros service charges for lukewarm coffee. Talking about charges....they charge for everything...Parking, wi-fi (for poor connectivity) and 21 Euros for breakfast! They have just one vegetarian item on their menu and that too is made by someone who has no fantasy and probably even less talents or just does not no anything about vegetarian food. The waitress is not the friendliest in the world.The room refrigerator was empty so you are expected to dress up in the middle of the night to go down to the dispensing machine to get some water.The reception staff is indifferent to the complaints. I wonder if they have a customer-relationship-management unit for the hotel. The staff have the cheek to say,"Yah, We charge Munich prices."

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay for everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Yatri_today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Yatri_today,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your experience. I'm delighted you found our rooms clean. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your feedback is very important to us. However, we are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. We apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort you have experienced due to the hotel facilities, room amenities, outside noise and services provided by our hotel staff. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences for us to improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
4.9 mi away
Ambiance Rivoli
Ambiance Rivoli
#115 of 382 in Munich
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Ost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
4.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
3.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark

Property: Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Address: Effnerstr. 99, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Munich)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich, the metropolis with a heart and good-natured Bavarian hospitality! The Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark is the ideal base for business and leisure travellers to discover all the attractions Munich has to offer. The hotel is located next to the Englischer Garten park, which is the biggest inner city park in Europe and is situated in the heart of Munich. The sights and places of interest, such as Marienplatz, the October Beer-Festival, the Olympic Park, the new Allianz Arena, home of the Soccer Clubs FC Bayern Muenchen and 1860 Muenchen and the New Munich Exhibition Center, as well as the Munich main train station and the international airport, are only a few minutes away by public transport or car.The Munich trade fair, the venue for international conventions and trade fairs such as BAUMA, BAU, ISPO, IFAT and Analytica, is easy to reach by public transport. The A9 motorway and the Mittlerer Ring are close by. All guest rooms offer modern equipment, including self controlled air condition and free high speed W-LAN. Relax in the sauna or the steambath, which you ll find in our wellness area, or get in shape in our gym. As a special service trekking bikes can be hired free of charge. Our conference facilities can accommodate up to 277 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing