We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$2,352
$689
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$1,023
$736
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$496
$465
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$295
$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$480
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$404
$320
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark(Munich)(Great Value!)
$522
$432
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,046
$981
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marc Munchen(Munich)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (971)
Filter reviews
971 results
Traveler rating
796
110
44
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
796
110
44
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barfour seasonsbell staffluxury hotelrooms are beautifulcomplimentary mini barwelcome drinkwonderful hotelhofbrau housefavorite hotelthe location is perfectconciergematsuhisagermanyhofbrauhausmarienplatzopera
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 971 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2017

the hotel is part of the Mandarin Oriental Group. It is really good as per the brand name. The experience is superlative, the staff is professional and you fell really welcomed. Very good breakfast, rooms space in line with the European standard but with very distinctive forniture and high end particular and amenities. Very good also the roof restaurant.

Room Tip: high floor
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear Angelo R,

Thank you for your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Munich and for sharing your experience.
We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our colleagues’ service from the heart.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to Mandarin Oriental, Munich in the near future.

Best regards,

Wolfgang M. Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

We returned to this, our favorite hotel, after an absence of almost 3 years. What a difference we found! The reception area, lounge and bar have been completely remodeled in a soft, pleasant way. The bar was moved and entirely redone so that now the drinks are mixed in area which can be viewed but not right on top of the customer. The restaurant, which was undergoing renovation at our last visit, is a delight in an oriental style with a sushi bar added. This is a big attraction for the locals, we were told. The Japanese company behind all this has done a great job. The roof top bar was open and we had a delightful dinner there our last night overlooking the Munich skyline. Haness, who was assistant bartender at our last visit, is now the Manager of the Lounge and Bar and is doing his usual perfect job. He trained our new bartender, Leo, to make the perfect Manhattan for us, the best we had in Europe..Carpano vermouth, Luxardo cherries, Bulleit rye..we couldn't wait for cocktail hour each evening.
The breakfasts were their usual delicious treats with quick and pleasant service from the wait staff. Mattias, the manager, was especially warm and welcoming each morning.
Our room was a deluxe 7th floor room as we usually request and the housekeeping service is excellent, twice a day. The minibar is complimentary and well stocked.
When we made our reservations several months ago, we were unaware that it would be Oktoberfest. Thus we were surprised to find the town in a very festive mood. Our first visit to the Oktoberfest venue was an experience we won't soon forget..lots of beer, wursts, band music and colorful costumes. All in all, a most memorable visit to an old favorite with a new appearance and ambience, but with the same warm personal service.

Room Tip: The rooms are all on quiet floors, but we prefer the top floor (7th) due to lack of elevators and any possible noise from that source.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Winkelreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Dear Winkelreid,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to share your wonderful impressions on the occasion of your return visit to Mandarin Oriental, Munich after 3 years.

I am thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and the colleagues’ service from the heart as well as Hannes’ professional service. I am also happy that you like the refurbished areas (lobby, lounge, bar, restaurant “Matsuhisa, Munich”).

How wonderful that you even experienced Oktoberfest and the extraordinary ambience in the city during this festival.

Once again, I would like to thank you for posting your marvelous review. We hope that you will have the chance to come back to our beautiful hotel in the near future.

Thank you for being such a wonderful ‘FAN’ of Mandarin Oriental.

Best regards,

Wolfgang M. Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

The Mandarin is simply the best hotel we've stayed at in a long time that wasn't a resort. The friendly staff is incomparable when it comes to attentiveness. An example being we had a tough time finding a traditional Black Forest cake. They were nowhere to be found, and as a result the staff prepared one especially for us to experience this delicacy! We went in mid-June and the weather was spectacular. The hotel itself is tastefully appointed and intimate. The food and drink were very good as well. Overall worth every minute we stayed there, 5+ stars!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Seamus220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Dear Seamus220,

Thank you for sharing your marvelous experience at Mandarin Oriental, Munich and for rating our hotel the Best in Munich.

I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and my colleagues are very happy that you were grateful for the Black Forest cake they prepared expecially for you.

We are very much looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to your home away from home in the near future as we would like to pamper you again.

Best regards,

Wolfgang M. Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

Setting:
amazing 180 degree views over central Munich and all the way to the Alps on a clear day.
Lounge feel, with chinese footstools, comfy sofas and chairs
Lounge music, live DJ
Furnishings, umbrellas, flooring, planters - not top notch

Service:
it depends what you want... it´s one of THE 5Star hotels in Munich, and if you expect the service generally provided in an establishment of this calibre, it does not live up to expectations. Very laid back, no follow up to check if another drink was wanted. If on the other hand you´re happy to be hip, then I guess it works

Value:
poor. Yes, I expect to pay premium for the location and the 5Star environment. but charging 150% more than I would spend at any of the other preferred bars in Munich ( Tabacco, Schumanns, Barista, or the roof terrace at Hotel Bayrischer Hof).. is simply ridiculous.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Betty B,

Thank you very much for your comments which give us the chance to continuously improve our service and the quality of our products since we take constructive feedback very seriously.

We're delighted to read that you like the new design of our roof terrace.

But we're very sorry to hear that you encountered a disappointing service which is not at all in line with our philosophy to provide service on the highest level. We are eager to create an atmosphere which represents the hotel of Mandarin Oriental combined with first class service. Therefore, allow us to apologize for your experience. We hope that you will give us another chance when visiting Munich again.

Best wishes,
Your Mandarin Oriental, Munich Team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

From start to finish, what an outstanding hotel! The room was spacious and clean. The buffet breakfast was amazing. The sushi restaurant in the hotel was expensive, but excellent and very high quality. The hotel also has a wonderful location close to the city center and many shopping and historical sites. Walking distance to many locations of interest.

Room Tip: We stayed in a higher floor, but hotel was very quiet
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bentwz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Dear bentwz,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your wonderful experience at Mandarin Oriental, Munich. We are more than happy that you had a fantastic stay in Munich and enjoyed the Matsuhisa, Munich.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Best regards,

Wolfgang M. Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews