We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Ranked #5 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2010

My husband & I and our three sons (late-teen, early 20s) spent Xmas week in Munich at the Mandarin Oriental and loved it. It was beautifully decorated for Xmas and the location was perfect, w/in easy walking distance to the Marienplatz, Maxmillianstrasse and beyond. The staff was wonderful, very helpful w/restaurant suggestions and train arrangements to Neuschwanstein, etc. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and very quiet. They have a wonderful breakfast buffet, the bar menu is delicious as are their room-service sliders :) Mark's, the featured restaurant is exquisite. It was a terrific experience and though pricey, we'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awaywego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 922 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2010

Our stay here was impeccable. The hotel was in an amazing location, we had a huge suite, which was elegant and had great views of Munich. The restaurant was fabulous, and the staff was wonderful. The bathrooms were fabulous with flat screen TVs and rain shower heads. Located on a block with great shopping -- Cartier, Hermes, etc. Had an amazing stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromNYCtoTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

My wife had business in Munich but we also had time for site seeing. This hotel is charming and high end - what you would expect from a five star. But what distinguishes it from other 5 stars is the service. In particular, they have an outstanding concierge who is knowledgeable, polite and patient. The doormen, the bellmen are all great guys, who want to show you what good service is. All of this assistence comes with a warmth and friendliness that can't be faked.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docGamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

I wonderful intimate hotel in a great location. It is a beautiful gem in the heart of Munich. The staff is warm and friendly offering top notch service. The room was perfection. Breakfast was a fine feast. I consider it a great value also.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCRoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

All the positive, glowing reviews are true! It's worth the splurge. The Mandarin Oriental has everything you would want! It is situated in an ideal location in the city -- you can walk to most of the cultural sites, the main tourist attractions, and of course many German beer hall restaurants, too! Our room was not large, but very comfortable with a number of amenities and a fabulous, huge spa-like bathroom. Service was superior at all times...very professional, but warm & friendly. The bar area in the lobby was gorgeous, but not too stuffy. If you are visiting in warmer months, be sure to take a dip in their rooftop pool. The weather was too cool in October, but it looks very inviting, and has a picturesque view of the entire city. We only have wonderful things to stay about this incredibly impressive hotel! If you choose to stay here, enjoy!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

This is one of the best hotels in the world - not necessarily because of it's facilities but because of it's terrific service. You are a name, not a number and it does seem important to the staff that you enjoy your stay.

Our room was immaculate and everything from the B&O sound system to top notch toiletries was brilliant. Housekeeping is outstanding and so polite and friendly.

Mark's restauarant gave us one of the best meals we have eaten in years and we enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts everyday. Again service exemplary.

Location is terrific- you can walk to all the major sights and stores.

Save up and go - you will love it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maida22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

The staff, the room, the dining and the location are all excellent at this hotel. We enjoy using the Mandarin chain in other cities, but to be honest, we choose it in Munich because of the reviews on tripadvisor. We now join the others who have praised this hotel. You cannot ask for a more relaxing stay and excellent location. We cannot thank the staff enough for giving anything from directions to recommendations. The highest compliment for any business is a return visit. We shall return to the Mandarin in Munich.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embdmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 390 in Munich
1,635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
#52 of 390 in Munich
1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,080 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 390 in Munich
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Address: Neuturmstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $515 - $1,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing