We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent terrasse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Ranked #3 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent terrasse”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We were there with friends. The vie from the terrasse is spectacular. The prises are above the tourist average. But it is poche place. Beautiful furniture. Centrally located. Many foreign tourists (maybe too Many ?)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Luigi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Luigi M,
Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing your recent experience in the Mandarin Oriental, Munich. It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the view of China Moon Roof Terrace, as well as the design. Welcoming you again at the hotel or at any other Mandarin Oriental property would be a delight and we are looking forward to it.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    94
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
161
352
55
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Brilliant and convenient location with outstandingly friendly staff who could not have been more helpful. Easy walk to everywhere you would want in the city. Our room and bathroom were lovely. It did face the car park, but Munich is a low rise city with small streets and little water to view. They are building a new addition to the hotel according to their website and it will be where the car park is now- so soon to be a building works view.

Positives-
1) The concierge organised a hire car (for us to drive to the castles for a day trip) to be dropped at the hotel and picked up by Europecar- Brilliant. It was so convenient and easy in every way. I cannot speak too highly of this service.
2) I found the bed to be hard, rang house-keeping and they fixed it with a bed topper straight away. Excellent.
3) When we were leaving early one morning, the waiter in the breakfast room offered to give us a take-away coffee and a bread basket or some sandwiches to go because we hadn't had long- amazing service.
4) There is a brand new gym. 2 cross trainers, 3 treadmills, 2 bikes and hand weights.

And now for the 1 small negative-
1) The concierge said he would book the hotel restaurant for us for our last night. We showed up and there was no booking. The lady at the restaurant reception had an altercation with the manager out of listening distance, but in full sight (gesticulating madly in our direction) and so we left. The concierge rang the room and apologised. saying the restaurant was fully booked, but they would fit us in. No thanks. We ordered room service and they didn't charge it. It was strange!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Tania_Chr,
What a wonderful comment! Thank you for posting your experience at our hotel. Even though you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and were happy with our services I am so sorry about the misunderstanding with the restaurant reservation. This is certainly not the usual standard we handle bookings and I apologize for the inconveniences caused. I am glad to learn that this incident has not tarnished your image of Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again to our hotel.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Thames
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Mandarin Oriental Munich for four nights from May 29 (Room 509) and the whole experience was excellent from check in to departure. This is simply the very best hotel we have ever stayed in and we’ve travelled extensively. From the Mandarin Bar on the ground floor to Mark’s restaurant on the first level and the China Moon roof terrace the quality of the attention and service received was outstanding.
The food in Mark’s is what we expected from a Michelin starred restaurant but our evening there was spoiled to an extent by an adjacent table having a baby with them and the baby hardly stopped crying during the course of our meal. Of course it is accepted that babies cry but to be honest I do not expect to be paying Mark’s prices to be sharing the experience from the next table. Perhaps the hotel could look at its policy and certainly some of our favourite albeit expensive restaurants for special occasions in the UK have ‘no children under 9 and no mobile phones’ policies which are enforced.
The personalised attention throughout our stay was faultless and sets the standards for other hotels to aspire to. The employees are all Triple A. I will not go through a list of names because it would start to sound like an embarrassing Oscar acceptance speech and I will inevitably forget some which wouldn’t be fair. They are all standouts but I’ll make one exception and that’s to Sebastian who manages the China Moon Roof Terrace where we relaxed in the late afternoons. Sebastian made our sessions there enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear alanabird,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your impressions on your recent visit at Mandarin Oriental, Munich. It makes us happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our high service standard. Thank you also for awarding our employees with a Triple A and for mentioning Sebastian’s outstanding service. It is, however, regrettable that you have been disturbed by a crying baby during your dinner at Mark’s. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused to you and your wife. This incident will be taken as an opportunity to review our policy in this respect. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I loved this hotel. The service was friendly and sincere. Concierge helpful with my opera ticket request. The room so clean. Bed so comfy. Location perfect. My first experience of a MO hotel. I can honestly say that the hotel staff could not have been more accommodating.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a view of the really ugly car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4seasons50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear 4seasons5,
I am thrilled to learn that you love Mandarin Oriental, Munich and had a wonderful stay. It is a pleasure to share your marvelous comment with my team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel or any other Mandarin Oriental hotels.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This was our first experience at a Mandarin Oriental hotel and we must say, we were not impressed. TripAdvisor lists this hotel as the number one luxury hotel in Munich. From our experience, the hotel is overrated.

The details and amenities are nice (e.g., free minibar, Bose iPod speaker dock and Bang & Olufsen television), but they didn't work half of the time. Apparently, we needed a degree in electrical engineering to figure out how the light switches worked and which switches controlled the television - yes, in order for the TV to operate properly, we had to turn on a light switch!

The day to day service and attention to detail was great, until we left for the airport. We pre-booked and pre-paid for a luxury car with the hotel Concierge to transport us from the hotel to the airport. When we left the hotel, we were met by a Volkswagen taxi who had apparently been arranged by the hotel - hardly a luxury car.

With this being the most expensive hotel on our weeklong vacation (compared to the Four Seasons in Budapest and the Ritz Carlton in Vienna), I am hard-pressed to say that "it was worth it." Find luxury elsewhere!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ELKaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear ELKaine,
First of all I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our amenities and the “great service” you received during your recent stay at the Mandarin Oriental, Munich. Please allow me as well to respond to your more critical comments. In regards to our light switches, I would like to inform you that we have deliberately made a decision during our last renovation program to continue with an “old fashioned technology” of regular light switches and have not implemented panels or electronic light control systems like many other hotels in order to ensure a convenient operation for our guests. Having read your comment it seems that the television has been plugged in by accident to the wrong plug next to the desk which can be operated from the bedside in order to ensure the convenience for our guests to switch of all lights in the room from the bedside panel. Our housekeeping staff is trained to ensure the plugs are connected to the right outlets and I am very sorry that we obviously were not aware of this fact, which could have been solved in a second to ensure a convenient operation of the TV. In addition, I am sad to learn that the transportation to the airport tarnished your experience at the Mandarin Oriental Munich and triggered an unusual low rating for our property on the Trip Advisor platform. I certainly did research with our concierge desk and learned that we have arranged a taxi on your request. It is correct that the arranged taxi was a VW Phaeton, which is actually a very similar car as an Audi A8. I do not want to get into any arguing towards German luxury cars and their perception of but would like to let you know that we are very sorry, that we obviously did not meet your expectations with the taxi arrangement. Considering that we do have a wonderful limousine service in house, which uses Mercedes S-class and BMW 7 series limousines, I do believe that we could have definitely met your expectations with a different service alternative. Dear ELKaine, I sincerely hope you will give us or any of our sister properties the opportunity to prove our legendary renowned hospitality and hope to be able and welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Munich some day in the future.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is one of the easiest reviews that I have every writen. Simple put, the Mandarin Oriental in Munich is the best hotel I have every stayed at in all of my travels! Starting from the hired car that picked us up from the airport (a MB 500S) that called ahead to let the hotel know we were arriving. Greeted at the door and taken directly to our room to register with a complimentary upgrade to a “Tower Suite”. Beautiful spacious suite with expansive view of the city. The spring rolls and fried shrimp were without compare for such “simple” fare that we had with our complimentary welcome drink. The staff were able to get us into a fully booked, and wonderful, local restaurant for dinner and assisted us in last minute changes to our travel plans and secured a room in Frankfurt the next night. The Mandarin Oriental is now at the top of my list for lodging in any city they have a property!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnASeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear JohnASeat,
Many thanks for this wonderful praise and for taking the time to share your comments. It is our pleasure to satisfy our guests and even to surprise them. I am happy that you appreciated our high service standards including the comfortable limousine service. Thank you for being a true FAN of Mandarin Oriental. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you at our hotel or any other Mandarin Oriental hotels in the world.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Have stayed here a few times and it has never been anything but excellent. The attentiveness and friendliness of the staff from check-in, concierge, at the restaurant etc is one of the many small things that makes one stay memorable. I have recommended this hotel to friends/business colleagues and those that have stayed have had similar experiences. One of the best hotels in the Mandarin Oriental portfolio.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagittarii68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Sagittari ..,
I thank you for your nice comments and I am happy that you appreciate our high service standards.
Thank you for being a true FAN and for recommending Mandarin Oriental, Munich to your friends and business colleagues. We are looking forward to your return visit in the near future.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
1,965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 382 in Munich
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 382 in Munich
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 382 in Munich
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Address: Neuturmstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#10 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing