We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Nearby Hotels
Hotel an der Oper(Munich)
$321
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$147
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$195
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$226
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marc Munchen(Munich)
$164
$124
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Muenchen Palace(Munich)
$245
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$111
$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Platzl Hotel(Munich)
$486
$408
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$774
$588
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (953)
Filter reviews
953 results
Traveler rating
784
104
44
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
784
104
44
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barfour seasonsbell staffluxury hotelrooms are beautifulwalk in closetcomplimentary mini barwelcome drinkwonderful hotelhofbrau housejunior suitefavorite hotelthe location is perfectconciergematsuhisagermanyhofbrauhaus
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 953 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had buisness and was with clients doing PA work, this hotel is in a great location haufbrauer house next door shopping etc service was impeccable lots of shopping down the street , restaurants and the service was great everyday little chocolates great coffee and door mn to get umbrellas coats and meet the driver . They have a dry cleaning service but guess what there is a dry cleaners just accrosss the street u can see it front he side door so easy to drop off items they did laundry and it was affordable as well .room service was great a nd special dietary items were added tot he menue during our stay like gluten free products let the hotel know what u need before hand , I met with the kitchen staff and , well its germany so health food is surplus.thats irony because also everyone smokes lol Hair salon drug stores allow its in close walking distance. Conducting buisness meetings with up to 7 people in the sitting area was easy downstairs in the wounderful loung area and meeting with buisness colleges. They gave a better rate for such a long stay, the transportation is easy there ,and Munich has so egreat basement blues jazz clubs I would highly recommend this place for buisness travel any time any typ of travel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonandChelsie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear JasonandChelsie K,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your truly extended experience at Mandarin Oriental, Munich. I am happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and memorable. Your kind words of appreciation are a great encouragement to my team.Thank you for being such a wonderful and supportive ‘FAN’ and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the capital of Bavaria and in our beautiful Mandarin Oriental, Munich.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The location in Munich is great : close to the center ( and so : to all the best "Brauereien" ) but still in a silent neighborhood .... all the good points of the center without the noise....
We chose this hotel because we love the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong : one of the best hotels in the world for me.
In the Mandarin Munich: the rooms are small but very well equipped : the bed is absolutely great, video equipment both in the bedroom and in the bathroom are recent and good. But besides the doormen ( great guys, always available when you need them ) and cleaning service ( perfect) the service is average and far from what we expect ( and get ) in every 5 star hotel in the world ( not to compare with the Mandarin Hong Kong ) : reception too slow and not gracious, service in the dining room made by trainees.... And the quality of food ( products) served for the breakfast is just unacceptable : industrial delicatessen, jams and cheeses, no fresh juices, poor bread and pastries, tiny choice of fruit, and of poor quality.... May be all this was due to holidays.. may be everything is better in "business days".... but all together, a very disappointing experience for us ( for a very expensive bill)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jjaugier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Jiaugier,
Many thanks for sharing your impressions about Mandarin Oriental, Munich. We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was not entirely to your satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations in some areas; please allow me to apologize as our goal is to provide you with an overall excellent experience throughout your stay. Concerning the food quality I am very surprised to learn about your experience in regards to our breakfast food items. We are receiving all products from local suppliers like freshly sliced cold cuts and cheese including daily baked bread and pastries from Munich´s best organic bakery or homemade jams from highly awarded Chef Eckart Witzigmann. We take your comments about our F&B service and front office associates very serious as we have obviously not met your expectations.I do hope we will be able to proof our high service standards in the near future and am looking forward to welcoming you again to Mandarin Oriental, Munich soon.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I spend a lot of time travelling and staying in hotels which have a 5 star rating. The Mandarin Oriental in Munich however takes the service I would expect to another level. All the staff in the hotel seem focussed on ensuring your every need is anticipated and you enjoy your stay. Reception, Concierge, Bar, Restaurant, everyone was so friendly and helpful. I am not easily impressed but this hotel managed that feat. It is also a beautiful building with really nice rooms which are well designed for comfort. The location is excellent for both business and pleasure. This will definitely be my hotel of choice when I return to Munich

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMS888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear KMS888,
What a pleasure to read your kind words and many thanks for sharing your impressions on your visit. We are delighted to hear that we fulfilled our aim to anticipate guests’ needs and that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at Mandarin Oriental, Munich. We are very much looking forward to your return visit in the near future.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I would like express my sincere gratitude for the warm reception that Mandarin Oriental Munich provided me with.
Special thanks to Mr. Max Murmann and his colleague Ms. Stafanie Sach and whole of restaurant team, who does his job very well! The amazing taste of the food with Asian touch together with high-level service and very friendly atmosphere are worthy of the highest praise!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ValentinVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear ValentinVV,
We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your visit at Mandarin Oriental, Munich and our Restaurant Mark’s. My colleagues, especially Max Murmann and Stefanie Sach, were grateful to receive such a good appraisal. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere of Restaurant Mark’s. We all are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was my first time in Munich and I couldn't have asked for a better introduction to German hospitality and service than the Mandarin Oriental . The reception team was very pleasant and accommodating and even offered more than was expected — our room was still being prepared and would only be ready in 15 minutes so they offered us complimentary drinks in the lobby bar while we waited (this was aside from the welcome drink vouchers we also received). The service during breakfast was also good; the wait staff seemed two steps ahead in anticipating our needs, consistently offering beverages and hot food without appearing anxious or over-eager.
The hotel itself can't be ignored, either. The hotel is a short walk from Maximilianstrasse, Munich's best locale for designer shopping (Dior, Chanel, Jil Sander, Bulgari, etc). There is also a nice little backerei next to the hotel and a bar/cafe that serves nice croissants and a good espresso.
The rooms at the MO Munich are a bit small (as are most hotel rooms in Europe) but are cozy and well-appointed. We got a room on the top floor just below the hotel's rooftop pool and bar China Moon Terrace. This bar is a must for visitors to Munich. It has a great view of Munich's landmarks (cathedrals, historical buildings) and the red-tiled roofs of most of the city's establishments. We suggest booking way in advance if you want to eat dinner, however. We were there on a Sunday, and were told that they could only accommodate us for dinner on Thursday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AniK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear AniK01,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, Munich. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Munich. Your comments make us very happy. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews