We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After dinner drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Ranked #3 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“After dinner drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Met a friend during my stay in Munich we went for a Bavarian dinner rand then to the bar at the Oriental for a drink after dinner very good bar comfortable sofas and quiet atmosphere which we both enjoyed

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertjedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Robertjedward,
Many thanks for your comment on Mandarin Oriental, Munich’s bar.
We are very happy to know how much you enjoyed the evening in our Hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing and welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
José Garcia Hernandez
Bar Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    89
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
151
343
54
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

How this hotel manages such a high level of friendly personal service is worth investigating. Other hotel managers should visit to see how they do it.

It seems flawless when one's a guest from the seamless reception
process, massive bathrooms, many with views. Heavenly beds and linens. Nonstop kitchen serving even Thai and Lebanese food to fight the jetlag.

Also in a perfect location where you can walk to everything,

All in a very intimate, small hotel setting with luxurious rooms and suites. Drop dead roof terrace, pool and bar. Heaven.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Wsdoyle,
Thank you for your kind compliments about the Mandarin Oriental, Munich. You are making a most beautiful recommendation of our hotel and staff. On behalf of the team, I would like to let you know how much we all appreciate it.
It will be a pleasure to welcoming you again to Munich.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

For whatever reason, my wife and I travel more than we would wish and have, over the years, stayed at many distinguished, possibly even famous, hotels.

This is the best.

We mentioned casually to our waiter one evening that the mustard honey condiment served with the cheese board was really good. The next morning there was a jar of the same condiment left in our room and wrapped in a ribbon.

We were greeted by name every time we interacted with the staff, from barman to chambermaid. How do they do that?

Our preferences for beverages and foodstuff were known and gently suggested with deference and indulgence at every turn.

To cap it all, they even provide for those sinners amongst us that enjoy a small cigar at the end of a meal or the middle of the afternoon.

Don't be surprised if your credit card is totalled but this hotel sets new standards of excellence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Jim A,
Like a magician has his secret, we will not reveal our "tricks"… Thank you though for taking the time for writing such kind words about the Mandarin Oriental, Munich. It really is the best reward to know how happy you were while staying in our hotel.
We hope to see you soon in Munich and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel ratings are subjective, but the Mandarin Oriental in Munich really does deserve to be described as THE best. I can only speak about Room 209, which was beautifully appointed and incredibly comfortable (amazing pillows and bed linens), but what sets this hotel apart is the staff. Absolutely everyone, from the doormen to housekeeping, receptionists to waiters, treat ALL their guests like royalty (not just the rich and famous ones). Nothing is too much trouble. They pay great attention to detail. If you choose a particular brand of gin (or whatever your tipple is), it's somehow noted and remembered each and every time you order a gin & tonic - no matter who serves you. My husband was particularly impressed with one of the chutneys served with the cheese, and we received a jar of it as a gift. The service is extraordinary on every level. The hotel is gorgeous and in a fabulous location. We've stayed in many wonderful hotels over the years, but this particular Mandarin Oriental gets 5+ stars from us. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer1996
We are delighted to learn how much you appreciated your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Munich and on behalf of my team, I would like to thank you for sharing such fantastic comments about the hotel and staff. We are hoping and looking forward to welcoming you again in your home away from home.
Yours sincerely,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I am still in the hotel. I had to write a comment because because this is a real suprise. Staff is plasint, rooms are great and service is perfect. I am recommanding this hotel to anyone who needs to come to Munich.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ministar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Ministar,
Thank you for writing such kind appreciations about our hotel. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay at Mandarin Oriental, Munich. We are looking forward to welcoming you again and to keep surprising you.
Best regards
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We only spent one night there but the service was incredible and genuinely friendly as well. Only problem we had was with the hotel wi-fi but those types of technical problems can happen anywhere - the key is how on top of it they were and they did get it fixed. All the staff acts like concierges and takes care of anything you need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Elmhurst Illinois,
On behalf of my colleagues, I would like to thank you for your compliment about our hotel staff. It is certainly most appreciated and please be assured that your comment will be shared. We are looking forward to seeing you again in Munich and to welcoming you in the near future at Mandarin Oriental, Munich.
Yours sincerely,
Wolfgang Greiner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed in a suite at 1,200 Euro per night. It was a fantastic room but the layout was very awkward. I think room 409 was an afterthought as the furniture felt like it needed to be rearranged and there was a very strange open area in the middle of the room which was large enough for ballroom dancing but had no furniture. Nonetheless, the Mandarin chain never seizes to impress and Munich was no exception. Perfect location and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Avoid 409, it's just awkward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEK649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#13 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Address: Neuturmstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#10 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Mandarin Oriental, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing