We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Ranked #7 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

After enduring a postage stamp sized room in a boutique hotel in London, the Mandarin Oriental Munich was a pleasant surprise. The room was huge and very comfortable. The bedding was exquisite even if the duvet did tend to get a little heavy during the night. The bathroom was large though not well air conditioned, but this tends to be the case in most bathrooms these days.

Centrally located, an easy walk to most tourist destinations.

Staff was attentive and helpful. Lost laundry was found within a day. Otherwise all services requested were met in a timely manner. Room service was quick, fresh and delicious.

All in all a great stay and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, Munich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 884 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

We visited in mid-April and were blown away by the service and ambience of this "Jewel Box" of a hotel, discreetly off Maximilianstraße. Irina Gurdis in Guest Relations whisked us of to a beautiful deluxe junior suite (#307), with its own private patio. She was so gracious, personable, and welcoming! We believe she speaks about eight languages (give or take). Dario Cortellessa has to be the best Concierge we have ever experienced. He secured fifth row center tickets to a sold out performance of La Cage Aux Folles for that very evening. He made sure that the hotel restaurant "Marks" would be open for us, when returned from the theatre, for a late night "supper". He helped program the GPS system in our BMW, and arranged for us to go on our own to Dachau the next day. Both he and Irina helped us get familiar with the "workings" of the phenomenal health club. They sent a magnificent raspberry chocolate mousse cake to the room with chocolate covered strawberries. Do not hesitate to stay here! This is the best that Munich has to offer, and possibly one of our finest travel experiences. We hope to return in 2013!!!!

Room Tip: Deluxe Junior Suite
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravellerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

For those that are saying that this is one of the best Hotels in the world you need to get out more before making those types of comments.
The MO in Bangkok easily surpasses this one in Munich, it isn't even anywhere near the class and ambience of Bangkok.
The pool area in Munich is lucky to accommodate 4 people, absolute joke really, and even if you do manage to get a spot you need to put up with the oompa oompa band downstairs from the Hobfrahaus as well as the stench from some of the surrounding restaurant kitchens. Forgot to mention the pool area is so tight and small don't expect to relax that much.
Don't get me wrong the Hotel is still at MO standard but was lead astray by some of the reviews and that does not happen that often on TA.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMUCMunich, Geschäftsführer at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Robare59Melbourne,


Thank you for having taken the time to share your observations on our China Moon Roof Terrace and its adjacent swimming pool following your recent stay with us. We acknowledge your critic on the size of our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool (8 x 4 metres) on the hotel’s roof but find your comparison to the iconic Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok not quite fair. The Munich property, being the smallest among all 26 Mandarin Oriental Hotels worldwide, is confined to its space and has made maximum use of its facilities. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok with its 393 rooms, tropical gardens, pools and city resort-like feeling has much more space than our 73 room city center hotel. I am sorry to read that the wind carried the music from the Bavarian band from the hotel’s neighbour, namely the famous Hofbraeuhaus, to the 8th floor of the roof terrace and consequently influenced the experience of your stay. Unfortunately, this is something the hotel cannot control. The positive reviews from fellow travellers in this forum for Mandarin Oriental, Munich refer in almost all cases to our 130 colleagues. These have contributed with their dedicated service from the heart to a wonderful stay and positive review. Hence those reviews show that their stay had exceeded their expectations. Hardware, layout, size and non-controllable factors are less mentioned in those reviews and we regret that those seemed to have influenced your stay more than the soft factors.



Yours sincerely,

Lars Wagner
General Manager, Mandarin Oriental, Munich
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here during one of the legs of my honeymoon. Honestly, probably one of the most luxurious hotels I have ever stayed in. Service was fantastic, the hotel was super classy and clean. This is what I call a REAL 5 star hotel.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Some staff are subtly disdainful and insulting toward families. Probably better as a business hotel. Formal and not warm or gracious hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean_Bird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Jean_Bird123,


Thank you for having taken the time to post your observations following your recent stay with us and for highlighting your concerns. I have to apologize for not providing you with your expected service, especially as we pride ourselves as a family and child friendly hotel, as experienced and shared by "waterskiguy" and his family in the review right below. There are many things we do for our small and future guests such as offering them a welcome toy gift and personalized children’s F&B amenities, prioritized housekeeping service and children’s own little bathrobes and slippers, just to name a few.

Unfortunately your note does not provide us with enough information to improve and learn from your experience. In order to allow us to dig deeper into what happened, would you kindly share some more details directly with us? We would appreciate you reaching out to us; your additional feedback will be highly valued.


Yours sincerely,

Lars Wagner

General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Munich on our last night in Germany. After two weeks of traveling we were looking forward to a quiet night with our nine year old in tow. AT check-in the staff asked if our nine year old wanted to fill out a registration listing his favourite things. In addition they pulled a wagon around and offered him a small welcome gift. This was a small but huge gesture in a nine year old's world. The front desk staff was extremely professional and polite. We were escorted to our room by the front desk associate and were put into a beautiful suite. The room, furnishings, the bathroom, and amenities were the best we have experienced in Germany. We went upstairs to the stunning roof top deck lounge and pool. The area has a wonderful view of Munich. While having a beverage a staff member oasked if our sone wanted to play with a remote control boat in the pool, he looked up at us and said "This is the best hotel in the world" Again a small but huge gesture for a child. We loved everything about this hotel. The location of the hotel is great and next door to the Hofbrauhous, which is so much fun. Service, food, facilities and ambiance were amazing. It was a great way to end our trip, and we hope to go back to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waterskiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

If you are staying in Munich THIS is the place to stay. The rooms ar simply luxurious, truly 5 star. The beds are heaven and the service couldn't be better. It's a bit pricy but it's worth it. Location in the historical center is great for walking/exploring. Check out the view from the rooftop bar.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure they are all great.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwchilily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#8 of 385 in Munich
1,054 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Address: Neuturmstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#10 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $674 - $1,457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing