We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Le Meridien Munich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Munich
Ranked #97 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hotel is located next to the main station and in walk-able distance to many sights.
We enjoyed the pool, gym and especially the bar with their great service and good drinks.
The room are spacious and modern however the housekeeping should maybe get a few more minutes to clean the rooms as they were never really made up compared to other Starwood properties I´ve been. (Bathrobe was still lying on the floor, Bed was untidy)
Nevertheless a good place to go to make holidays and experience Munich.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aljoscha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    991
    383
    137
    79
See reviews for
453
924
157
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Osijek, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

hotel has great location and its pretty clean. rooms are good, but for this class nothing special.
hotel managment is very weird, cold and unflexible. they had some problem with b.com and the way how they solve THEIR problem is...block all guest rooms !?! without talk, without warning, just block. when we found that we cant enter our rooms, we go to reception and then we found out what hapening. is this the way how bussines run in meridien ?? i repeat...they had problem with agency, not us. and our credit card was invoiced few times before this hapened. very strange.
wifi is minimal 6 eur/h ?! even hotel with 2 stars have free wifi. hotel parking is 25-30 eur per day. breakfest minimum 16 eur.
they have cigarete automat in hotel, you need some german card to buy it, and when you ask card on 1 minute to buy cigarete...they ask you to leave credit card or something else for guarantee. btw, automat is 20 m from reception, in hotel. very weird behavoiur.
i have to say they are not all cold, some staff members have brain or soul so they will help you like their GUEST.
this hotel force me to think again....who is customer ? who is seller ?

Room Tip: rooms dont have free wi fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management L, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear ivan I,
We regret to read that you had a disappointing experience with us and perceived some of our services so negatively.
As already clarified offline with you on property, we have been unfortunately unsuccessfully trying to contact you directly in the room in regards to your payment of your reservation which had to be dealt with you as a guest and not the agency.
Please be informed that in Germany a minimum age is required to purchase cigarettes, which is why you do need a valid ID or bank card to buy cigarettes at a vending machine.
We are glad to hear though that you did appreciate the product and location of our property and hope to be able to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BsAs
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

On a GLOBUS tour around Prague,Vienna,Budapest,the company chose this hotel on our first day and last. It is located opposite the train station and the Sofitel. The hotel provides comfortable rooms,best pillows and mattress that I've experienced in a long time and I highly recommend the hearty breakfast,do not miss it!!

Room Tip: Opposite the train station so it is very convenient to remember if for example you want to take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management L, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Patricia V,
Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay with us with the Globus group.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and all its amenities as guest comfort is of utmost importance to us.
Our Kitchen and Restaurant teams will be very pleased to hear your feedback about our large breakfast buffet and we hope for your swift return to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent 5 nights at Le Meridien Munich and we were very happy with our stay. We arrived earlier than we expected and they did their very best to check us in and to give us a room. Check in was quick and easy. The hotel is situated opposite the main train station and it's only a 15 to 20 minute walk to Karlsplatz and Marienplatz.

The room we were in was a deluxe room on the 6th floor, extremely spacious and overlooking the garden. They cleaned the room every day and we always found fresh towels and extra toiletries available when we returned to the room in the evening. The hotel is situated in an ideal location, with the underground train station just outside the front door, as well as the tram just up the road. We visited the Dachau concentration camp, the Neuschwanstein castle and we also went to Innsbruck for one day. If you're planning to use the train to visit these places or to go for a day to Salzburg for instance, then this is the hotel for you. The train station is very clean and the area surrounding it is quite safe, nothing like the train station in cities like Milan for instance (where you can easily be robbed or mugged). From the airport, you can take the S-bahn S1 or S8 to Munchen Hauptbahnof (which is the main train station) and then simply cross the road to the hotel. Going back to the airport, if you're taking the S1 train, stay on the rear side of the train. This is due to the fact that the train divides in 2 half way through its journey. A single ride from the airport to the hotel by train is 10.40 euros.

Breakfast is served in the main restaurant of the hotel on ground floor. You can choose to have either a continental breakfast (cold cuts) or a full amerikan breakfast. The continental breakfast costs 16 euros per person and the full amerikan breakfast costs 28 euros per person. You can choose between bread, croissants, fruit, cereal, bacon, sausages, baked beans, potatoes, fried chicken, eggs and much more. The staff working in the breakfast lounge are very friendly and will cater to your every whim.

Wifi may be purchased at a cost in the hotel room, however, it is free in the lobby area. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and if I had to return to Munich I would definitely return to Le Meridien.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gudida82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

To paraphrase John Kennedy, this property combines French efficiency with Prussian (not Bavarian) hospitality. First, the room was not ready when listed in our confirmation. We had to come back 2 hours later, and the desk staff (who said he was in training) took 10 minutes both times trying to check us in. He asked me for a signed registration card the second time that he never gave me the first time. Then he couldn't authorize the credit card, had to seek help several times, and never apologized. Second, the next morning when I asked the lobby coffee server for a simple cup of coffee, he left to wait on another customer, fussed with the espresso machine for a minute, never looked at me, and never said a word. I gave up. That said, the location is a good one (across from the train station and walking distance to Marienplatz), the rooms are first rate, and the art in the public spaces is lovely. A little training in hospitality will cure the worst of Le Meridien Munich's ills.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank temeraire53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management L, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear temeraire53,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
I sincerely regret to read about the described service shortfalls and can ensure you that these certainly do not reflect our usual high service standards. Nevertheless we appreciate your comments to ensure that with greater efforts in training those experiences can be avoided in the future.
We are glad to hear that you did enjoy our product and particularly liked the art in our lobby.
We do hope for your swift return to illustrate visible improvements upon next visit.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Located by the train station, I was surprised how quiet the rooms were! The walk to main attractions was fairly easy and faster than getting on the subway which was a bit chaotic due to renovations at the train station. Staff was very nice and welcoming, especially Julien our valet. Beds were really comfortable and we slept very well! The pool was spectacular, the only down side was internet was not included, however free wifi was available in the lobby!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdieScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management L, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear AdieScott,
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with the online community.
We are pleased to read that you did enjoy the services and facilities provided by the hotel.
Your praise for our valet will go a long way in ensuring to continuously provide service excellence.
Please note that we do provide complimentary internet access in our lobby and business center, which might be useful information for your next visit.
We are looking very forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights, great location with easy walk everywhere. Rooms were large, very clean, especially the bathroom. Staff was very courteous and friendly, breakfast buffet had a wide variety of food and was delicious. Dinner menu however was quite expensive

Room Tip: Our room was across from the train station facing the main street. Never heard any noises from outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel52053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 383 in Munich
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#16 of 383 in Munich
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,528 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,497 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 383 in Munich
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Munich

Property: Le Meridien Munich
Address: Bayerstr. 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#52 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#77 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Le Meridien
Meridien Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing