We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever”
Review of Le Meridien Munich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Munich
Ranked #101 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed April 30, 2013

After a week of travelling Europe, I arrived at my next destination, Munich. As there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, I called room service for a kettle and empty cups to be delivered to the room. The lady said that the kettle could be delivered free of charge but that there would be a charge of 5 Euros for the empty cups. I explained that there were no cups provided in the room and that I would not be able to pour boiling water in wine glasses from the mini bar as they would crack. I also had no intention of drinking straight from the kettle. I regularly travel and stay in hotels and I have never heard of a charge for empty cups, so 5 Euros for empty cups was really outrageous. The lady then explained that:

a) The kettle was from the room service department and therefore was free of charge. The cups were from another department and that’s why a charge would be incurred.
b) Sometimes customers buy food from outside to consume in the hotel room and they would prefer that their customers eat from the restaurant/bar downstairs at the hotel. Hence they wanted to discourage people from asking for any cups/plates/cutlery to be brought to the room.

After a long argument with the lady, she finally agreed to send cups to the room free of charge. After 15 minutes, the kettle arrived but without cups. I called again for cups to be brought to the room and after a while, two people came one after the other, delivering a total of 8 cups when I originally requested for 3 cups! Service was abysmal and the staff were not friendly at all.

I booked the room for three people at an extra charge but the room supplies were only for two people i.e. no extra slippers, towels, shower gel etc. The room itself was very basic, the amenities were somewhat old e.g. the shower door was broken and did not close properly, the shower went hot and cold by itself, the chair cushion was stained, the air conditioning was very noisy when the fan setting was set to high etc.

Internet was also charged at 12 Euros per day which was annoying especially when all the hotels that I had stayed at during that week provided complimentary internet. Even after reporting the incidents that have taken place, the staff was not willing to clear the internet charges.

In addition to this, the location of this hotel was not in the city centre and the neighbourhood was quite dodgy, especially at night.

This is probably the worst experience that I have had in a supposedly 5-star hotel and especially one from the Starwood hotel group. I would 100% NOT recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MoRa3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management L, General Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear NT N,

Thank you for your open feedback following your recent stay with us.
Reading your lines I deeply regret and would like to sincerely apologize for the chain of unfortunate events that you encountered during your stay. What you described are both shortfalls in our service processes as well as in understanding costumer's needs, which should not have occured. I can only promise you that we have already adressed those issues to make sure this will not happen again.
I would be very glad to welcome you back at Le Méridien Munich to illustrate that the experienced was an exception.

Kind regards,

Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager
Le Meridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,615)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Munich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

I visited with my wife end April 2013. Hotel is ok, nothing special. For an expensive hotel they should not charge for wifi in my view. It is free in the cramped noisy lobby but they charge 6 EUR per hour in the room. Breakfast was very good and location across from the central station makes travel in from the airport easy by train. Munich is wonderful - recommend the free walking tour especially.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 369GerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management L, General Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear 369GerryM,
thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offer as well as the location of the hotel.
Please note that we do offer free wifi not only in the hotel lobby but also all public areas as well as our business center 24/7. In addition, we implemented a more flexible price structure for the internet usage in our guestrooms to meet the need's of each individual traveller.
We hope to be able to welcome your wife and you back very soon and thank you for sharing with the readers community your tip of the excellent walking tour :-)
Best regards,
Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager
Le Meridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel - the large rooms, wonderful beds and pillows, and spotless bathrooms make for a comfortable stay. The breakfast buffet is absolutely wonderful with more choices that you can count. Our son is still talking about it. The staff is so helpful - whether you are asking about directions to sightseeing, or train schedules. It is so convenient to the main Munich station, that it made our departure and arrival easy. It is extremely quiet, the pool area is lovely as is the work out room.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden area and was lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management L, Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear JoanP,

Thank you for your nice words, really happy to hear that the whole family enjoyed it! Breakfast is really important to us and our chef - having so many international guests it is really important for us to offer things for everybody´s taste - therefore you do not only find german sausages and american beans, but also for example a miso soup on our buffet.
We are very pleased to hear that our associates could contribute to an overall most enjoyble stay.

Hope to see you soon!

Eric Köhler
Executive Assistant Manager
Le Meridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was surprised when the taxi driver left me 5 meters from the entrance of the hotel when I did not even notice the hotel! The external building appearance is hiding a very nice and stylish interior. The rooms need some maintenance and look a bit aged, but still modern. The breakfast had a good variety but the location of the buffet and the tables is not very convenient. There is a long corridor with tales left and right and at the end of it is the "room" with the buffet. So if you sit at the beginning of the corridor you will need to cover 20-25 meters to the buffet. The coffee "island" is located in the middle of the corridor with the option of preparing your own espresso and tea. Overall it seem like good option if your main goal is to be close to the central station and want an upscale-ish hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with view in the internal patio is maybe better than the rooms with view of the street, si...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandrosGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management L, Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear AlexandrosGR,

many thanks for your nice words!
You are right, our location is very convenient as it is just across the main station and a five to ten minutes walk to the city centre!
We appreciate your comments on the nice and stylish interior and are continuoulsy working on updating our product.
Please note that we are looking into optimizing processes in regards to your breakfast comments and hope to welcome you back soon here in Munich!

Best regards,

Eric Köhler / Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed a few times now at Le Meridien, so thought I should finally add a review. The hotel is located directly opposite the train station and is ideally situated for getting around in Munich. I had an enormous room at the rear of the hotel which was whisper quiet. As you'd expect from this chain, the beds and bathroom facilities are excellent. The complimentary water is always welcome but it's such a shame like many hotels in this class that wifi has to be paid for. Also - a slightly disappointing selection of English channels on the TV - news, news or news. Obviously not a problem for holiday travellers but other hotels in the area offer at least a few English entertainment channels. A small gripe with the hotel is trying to order room service. The number isn't printed anywhere and reception and emergency are both 'dial 9' - a little disconcerting. Why not add the room service number to the room service menu? Speaking of which - room service was excellent. Final small point of note if the Le Meridien Team are reading - the only power socket in 804 for the ironing board is in an awkward space by the entrance door in the small lobby area. Locating it just about any-where else in the room would be much better!
In summary - a good business class hotel that doesn't disappoint. I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management L, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear parkview094,
Thank you very much for your feedback and continuous loyalty to Starwood Hotels.
We are pleased to read that you were enjoying your in-room facilities and the overall services of our associates.
Please note that we have implemented now free wifi access in our lobby and public areas for your convenience.
The phone operator in our Service Center is available 24 hours a day and will be taking down all guest requests including Room Service orders in the future.
Thank you for the hint on the power socket, which we will reassess with our Engineering Director right away.
We are looking very forward to your return and remain with best regards,
Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We came here on business for the whole BAUMA 2013 week, 15 people. The hotel is very nice. Breakfast and food was excelent, they even have the honey on the comb!!!!!
The hotel bar isn't just like any hotel, the staff are super friendly. Thanks to Lisa and Anja, we had a blast at the bar every night after the show.
The SPA in the hotel is great. Make sure you book the massages far in advance, they were sold out every day. The gym is small but it has all a business traveller needs.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Papeluch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management L, General Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Papeluch,
thank you for your highly motivating comment on TripAdvisor.
Lisa and Anja were very happy to read your feedback and being able to contribute to a more than satisfying stay.
We only hope that we do not have to wait for BAUMA 2014 to welcome you back to Le Méridien as Munich in summer is just great! If you need any assistance with a reservation for hotel or Spa we are more than happy to assist.
Best wishes,
Dagmar Zechmann
General Manager
Le Meridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with our toddler daughter. Check in was very easy and we had a courtyard king room. It was clean and big enough for us.

Overall the hotel is ok. The location is good but not great. I liked the proximity to train station but U3 line would have been better for us. The general area is shady at night.

Rooms don't have free wi if but wi fi works great in public areas.

We had room service one night. Our daughter loved the chicken nuggets but our food was just ok.

The pool and gym are nice. The pool was cold! Even our water loving toddler wanted out.

Concierge was very busy. He gave us mostly good info but steered us wrong two times with subway directions.

Checkout was fine.

I don't expect to be in munich again. If I am, I'd look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladybugx87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management L, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear ladybugx87,

thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us.
We take your feedback very serious and have already discussed the details among management to apply necessary improvements.
We have acknowledged your feedback regarding the water temperature of our swimming pool, which has been immediately reassesed by our Engineering department.
We would have certainly hoped to leave you with a more positive lasting impression. Hence we will re-emphasize internal training measures with our Concierge team on handling guest requests.
Despite of your experience we would appreciate to be provided with another opportunity to demonstrate visible improvements upon your next visit.

Best regards,

Felix Schaller
Front Office Manager
Le Meridien Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#20 of 385 in Munich
591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#21 of 385 in Munich
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,555 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
#47 of 385 in Munich
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Munich

Address: Bayerstr. 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#53 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#77 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $181 - $869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Le Meridien
Meridien Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing