We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful budget hotel in Munich”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #351 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful budget hotel in Munich”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Imperial Hotel is a wonderful budget hotel. They provide great breakfast (with hot foods). Tram No.19 is running every 10 min outside the hotel, just 20 min ride to downtown Munich for shopping and sightseeing. Also, I could pick up the fruits from the supermarket that located nearby.

However, the soundproof of the room is really bad. For the light sleeper like me, please make sure to have your earplug ready.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    126
    145
    56
    56
See reviews for
60
137
18
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for 3 days. I had thought I was booking a place only a few stops by underground to the centre of Munich, but it turned out it was at least a 20 minute tram ride from Marienplatz to Knie (the stop near the hotel). In the end, that didn't really matter as the trams ran every 10 minutes and, since we were at the end of the line, it was never crowded.

The rooms were small and the bathroom even smaller, so my friend and I took a "family" room which had more beds in it, but the space was badly designed. Having said that, the main point of the hotel was that it was reasonably priced, breakfast (fabulous) was included, and the staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. Wifi in the lounge but not in the rooms. Nice little bar as well. Across the road was a really great pizzeria! Had lots of fun there and some wonderful pizza!

I would recommend this hotel, with a note that it is not close to town. Pasing is a nice suburb, quiet and our room was also quiet. Freshly made up every day, no problem with cleanliness.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindatNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Hotel is located about 30 min tram ride from the city Centre. We can easily take tram number 19 from outside the train station. Relatively easy to find the hotel. Once we get off from the tram, just walk to the front of the tram and cross opposite towards the directions of where the tram is heading to, you will see the name of the hotel as long as you look up. Its approximately 200 meters away.

Staff were very helpful in providing information. No coffee or tea facilities in the room. but they showed us where we could get hot water in their kitchen when we asked for some hot water to make our own tea.

Room is very small and the soundproof is very bad. We could hear our neighbors conversations plus the sound from the elevator the entire time we were in the room. Elevator was small and can barely fit two persons with luggages but honestly, that's not a big problem as long as there is elevator to use especially when we were traveling with luggage.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watery83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
615 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We just came back from a stay at this hotel, which seemed quite an attractive choice based on the comments posted on Tripadvisor. In fact, the only good thing about it is breakfast. The rooms are not properly soundproofed and the lavoraties very noisy, so one hears what's going on on the whole floor. Moreover, this hotel tends to host large groups, which are very noisy. Even though I had asked explicitly for a quiet room, we were put on a floor that turned out not to be quiet at all and exposed to lots of noise at various points in the night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Kalamata, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed here with my friends for four days in January,the hotel was not near to the city center,but there are good transports out of theme.The room was clean and the stuff was friendly (in normal style for German people).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreas3862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONG KONG
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The hotel offers an excellent breakfast, various choices of food. It's just 3 mins walk from tram station - Knie which is easier for you to the city center but train station (Pasing) actually is quite far which is around 15-20mins walk from the hotel. Room is small but neat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamazingtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a few days in December, and it was a reasonable hotel, we didn't opt for the hotels food , although I've heard it is very good. The hotel itself is seconds away from a Tram ad Bus stop and about 8mins walk to Passing S-Bahn and about 25mins walk to Laim S-Bahn.
I would advise you to get a Munich CityCard as its all transport paid for inc buses, trams, S-Bahn and U-Bahn.
The rooms were tidy, and sheets and towels rePlaced daily.

One small problem though... The wall are Über-thin. If you need peace and quiet to sleep, you may not like this place. Toilets, people walking and talking in corridor, elevator and the next rooms tv can all be heard from you bed, or at least that's the case my room.

Great place to stay for Oktoberfest and Christmas markets, but I wouldnt want to stay here more than 4 or 5 days

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.5 mi away
Zur Post Hotel
Zur Post Hotel
#163 of 382 in Munich
217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seibel's Park-Hotel
Seibel's Park-Hotel
#363 of 382 in Munich
76 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Dependance Erb
Hotel Dependance Erb
#332 of 382 in Munich
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
7.3 mi away
NH Munchen City Sud
NH Munchen City Sud
#198 of 382 in Munich
666 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Munich City Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Landsberger Str. 463, 81241 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing