We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel”
Review of Jedermann Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jedermann Hotel
Ranked #25 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a nice clean hotel with welcoming staff. Rooms are clean and ok but don't expect anything other and a clean nice room. It will probably be a great place for October fest and its in a somewhat good for other areas. Not close to downtown though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanibol53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    370
    96
    8
    7
See reviews for
185
323
65
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

For those seeking good value and great location the Jedermann fills the bill. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Breakfasts were delicious and generous. For first visitors to Munich the location is ideal: close to the main railway station and trams running past the front door. The staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at the Jedermann for 2 days. Seems to be family run, staff were very helpful, and everything was really clean. Some rooms have en-suite facilities and these rooms seem to have been refurbished. There is also one floor with cheaper rooms, that have a shared bathroom - these rooms look dated, but the bed is good and they're clean and quiet. About 5 or 6 rooms seem to share one bathroom, but it wasn't a problem for us, everyone was considerable and there are also 2 extra toilets 3 floors down. The communal toilet has an auto-cleaning seat.
Breakfast was a rather wide choice of things and the hotel is a 5-10 minute walk (or 2-3 tram-stops) from the Hauptbahnhof (main station), depending on where you exit at the station (it's massive). The tram stop is right outside the hotel door and the 2 lines go straight into the city centre - or you can walk (about 15-20 minutes).

Overall, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: If you prefer refurbished rooms, get one with an en-suite toilet. The ones with shared facilities ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ant_manc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Staff friendly but scarey
Breakfast tea hard to work out
Breakfast ok
Local amenities close by 10pm
Near train station
Quiet enough
Toilet is separate but no window if you do a poop
Pillows are the worst! Bring your own pillow to Germany!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Inexpensive no-frills, very convenient for an early train or when arriving late. Reasonably good breakfast. Best feature is its nearness to the Augustiner Braustuberl. Close to the Oktoberfest, tram stop right out front. Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Would not recommend for more than a short stay for a couple, but great when traveling by myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay here every year for Oktoberfest. This is a great small German hotel. The staff is very friendly, and they all speak English very well and are patient with travelors. The rooms are basic, but the more I travel, the less I need when it comes to accomodation. The hotel is clean and well equiped with internet on every floor. The location is great, only two blocks from the Oktoberfest, 10 minutes from the main train station, and a 20 minute walk to Marienplatz (Main square of Munich). The staff knows the area well and has always been helpful arranging cabs and setting you in the right direction for tours and attractions. My favorite part of the stay though is the free breakfast buffet. They have everything you could want and need after a long day hanging at the Oktoberfest. I will be staying here in the future as well whenever I am in Munich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCWrldTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had read all the positive and negative reviews i am was almost sure that i would like this hotel.
The location is excellent, just ouside there is a tram station.
The noise from the main road didnt mind us at all. If you close the window, the noise is barable noticable. The pillows were ok, no complain there.
The hotel was clean. Especially the bathroom. Very important factor for us.
What was the problem?
We were given the room 17. And the problem appeared from the first night of sleep. The room was smelling cigarette smoke. It was so intense that we thought that the smell came from the bed quilt. Next day we asked for the quilt to be changed. But the problem remained. So for the rest of the days we slept with the window opened.
Problem no 2 was the bed. The bed deck didnt have proper support and it was very unpleasant to sleep. The fact that nobody has complained about this on the reviews of tripadvisor makes me think that is a "feature" of the room 17.

Other than that, if those things hadnt happened, jedermann would be our choice again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cptbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#38 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.5 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jedermann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jedermann Hotel

Property: Jedermann Hotel
Address: Bayerstr. 95, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#38 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#40 Family Hotel in Munich
#68 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jedermann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional charm and modern comfort as well as atmosphere and service have been offered since 1961 by the Jenke family and its staff. ** Cozy hotel situated in the city center, near the main train station, in front of the new European Patent Office. ** Standard rooms, most facing the quiet court yard, with shower and toilet,towel warmer, hair dryer, modern IP-TV/radio and phone with voice mail. Some also with air-conditioning, interconnecting doors and wellness-shower. ** Superior rooms offering additionally USB-datasocket, electronic safe and LED-lighting. ** Basic rooms with only wash-basin and clock radio; shower and toilet down the corridor, without any other amenities (TV and phone in the public area). ** Free internet and e-mail access also from the guest computer in the lobby. Well liked buffet breakfast, offering also hot dishes, included in the room rate. Electric kettle to take up to the room available. Small hotel bar with sitting room. Car parking. Tram stop at the hotel with tickets available at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Jedermann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jedermann Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing