We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but very good”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #338 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Small and rather old-fashioned hotel but with very comfortable rooms and excellent service at the front desk. The breakfast--only meal served in the hotel--- offers a good continental spread of cereal,bread,cheese,ham;juices , fruit and yoghurt, can't ask for more really. They rent you a cable for 3 Euros a day for in-room Internet accessibility and there is also a free laptop on the reception counter.

Location on a small side-street, a couple of minutes from the broad Ludwigstrasse, the hotel is about a 7 minute walk from 2 U-Bahn stations, Universitat and Odeonsplatz, the latter being one stop from the city-centre Marienplatz station, where the S-Bahn trains from the airport come in. Plenty of restaurants in the streets near the hotel and further afield in Schwabing and the tourist-filled city centre.

Our room had 2 windows providing excellent light and ventilation, but lack of air-conditioning could be a problem during summer months,

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 31 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

Hotel is situated 10-15 min. walk from city centre in an area full of restaurants and bars. This makes for quite a bit of noise!
It is NOT under any circumstances comparable to other plush and fancy Carlton hotels around the world. It is a small and a bit run-down place.
How on EARTH this hotel can be rated as a 4 star hotel no one knows!
The rooms are small and in need of renovation. There is no climate control, so in summer time you have to open the window at night, which is a problem because there is a lot of noise outside.

The employees are polite and efficient though and the breakfast buffet quite OK, which is why I'll give them 3 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan_Bache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We spent two weeks there, while I was visiting at the university. It is just blocks from the Odeonsplatz transit station, and just a few blocks more from Marienplatz, the heart of the city. It's a very European hotel--not overrun with Americans when we were there--with full service, including a wonderful German breakfast buffet, and a truly wonderful Indian restaurant just outside. You won't think you are in a generic American hotel, that's for certain. Renovations continue, but we would certainly stay there again--and would look forward to it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdRigdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Hotel is 10 minutes walk from the Altstat in Munich, 15 minutes walk from Schwabing district. It's location is perfect as you are in the centre of the city near to everything. The hotel is a boutique style hotel and modern, but is small and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel does offer secure parking, which is a must as finding a space if you're staying a while isn't as easy as you would think. Book the parking when you're booking your room as they have limited spaces. Rooms are modern and minimalistic, which is nice. Bathroom small, with shower, but sill clean and nice. Breakfast buffet has a good selection of fresh food. There is a great Indian restaurant next door to the hotel. The food there is fantastic and is open late, and you only have to walk 10 meters back to the hotel. I would definitely use the hotel again when I visit Munich again in the summer as the location is perfect for all sightseeing in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sod25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this lovely small hotel for 2 nights. It is on a small side street off of the main street Ludwigstrasse in the area of Schwabing. It is close to the Englischer Garten. There is a U Bahn station right around the corner and it would only be a few stops and you would be at all the tourist's sites of Munich. You could also walk to the sites in about 10 to 15 minutes. The hotel is between a 2 star and 3 star hotel. The room we were in was quiet and clean. It was fairly large for a European room. We faced toward the back of the hotel, so there was no street noise. There was a small TV on the desk. The bathroom was small with a small shower. The daily rate includes a beautifully done breakfast. There were about 5 different juices, hard boiled eggs, fresh rolls, cereals and more. They have the best deal in town, for internet use, 3 Euros per day! All the friendly ladies at the front desk spoke English well. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Astoria Hotel. A great rate for a hotel room in Munich!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank isoyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Astoria. We decided on the Schwabing area because we have stayed in the main tourist area before and wanted to see a new area. The hotel is on top of a pub which was mostly quiet but our room was on the street so there was quite a bit of street noise esp. in the morning, I would definately recommend anyone that stays here to ask for a room at the back of the hotel. The room was small but effective. We nicknamed the bathroom the "slip and slide bath" it was completely plastic and always wet. The receptionists by far made this hotel, they were incrediblely friendly and always helpful. Breakfast was the best we had during our stay in Europe with rolls, meats, cheeses, fruit spreads, pastries, delicious coffee and more. Make sure to stop by the Shamrock pub, which is on the next block, for good beer and a good time!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank still-jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2007

As my business trip was right smack during the Football fever in Germany, I had very little choice with rooms etc. However, the Hotel Carlton made up for it in terms of location and the good breakfast. It was in quaint street in the artsy area near the Odeonplatz station. There were many quaint shops and galleries located near by.
Marienplatz was a mere 10minute walk and the English Garden 5minutes away. I spent 6nites there, and all in it was safe and a clean place.The breakfast was great and was more like brunch.

The only gripe was that I literally was in the smallest room in the hotel, which just about had a double bed,dresser,TV and cupboard squeezed in. I had to narrowly navigate myself in the room. Also some nights it got so warm, so for lack of fans, was left with having to content with the breeze from the window. However, while the street in front of the hotel was quiet during the day, night it was different, as there were many football fans roaming around who could get a tad bit loud here and there.
All around was apleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2006
Thank JemimaBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
17.4 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#27 of 390 in Munich
2,588 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
0.7 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: Fuerstenstr. 12, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $116 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing