We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #329 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very nice located centrally in Munich, walking distance to city centre. But the single room is really small with a tiny bathroom, and the whole feeling is a bit old. If you are used to a higher standard, this is not for you. If you don't mind, there's nothing wrong with this hotel.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank pnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 31 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located for either seeing the sights downtown or work at the University. (I like that it is not near the train station where most of the hotels are. That part of town would avoid if possible)

The room was small, but clean, and the breakfast was standard German hotel breakfast fare.

The service was friendly and solid.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Excellent: Location, breakfast
Mediocre: Room facilities
Poor: Room toilet

I stayed in Room 404. The toilet was tiny. The room had an armchair that was so old that I almost sank into the floor. The hotel says that it is renovating. It should. Enlarge the toilet by 50%. Get rid of the old armchairs. Provide decent common facilities -- tea-making, business centre with printer. For a good functional design, see Hotel Kreuz in Bern, Switzerland.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Small and rather old-fashioned hotel but with very comfortable rooms and excellent service at the front desk. The breakfast--only meal served in the hotel--- offers a good continental spread of cereal,bread,cheese,ham;juices , fruit and yoghurt, can't ask for more really. They rent you a cable for 3 Euros a day for in-room Internet accessibility and there is also a free laptop on the reception counter.

Location on a small side-street, a couple of minutes from the broad Ludwigstrasse, the hotel is about a 7 minute walk from 2 U-Bahn stations, Universitat and Odeonsplatz, the latter being one stop from the city-centre Marienplatz station, where the S-Bahn trains from the airport come in. Plenty of restaurants in the streets near the hotel and further afield in Schwabing and the tourist-filled city centre.

Our room had 2 windows providing excellent light and ventilation, but lack of air-conditioning could be a problem during summer months,

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Hotel is situated 10-15 min. walk from city centre in an area full of restaurants and bars. This makes for quite a bit of noise!
It is NOT under any circumstances comparable to other plush and fancy Carlton hotels around the world. It is a small and a bit run-down place.
How on EARTH this hotel can be rated as a 4 star hotel no one knows!
The rooms are small and in need of renovation. There is no climate control, so in summer time you have to open the window at night, which is a problem because there is a lot of noise outside.

The employees are polite and efficient though and the breakfast buffet quite OK, which is why I'll give them 3 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan_Bache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We spent two weeks there, while I was visiting at the university. It is just blocks from the Odeonsplatz transit station, and just a few blocks more from Marienplatz, the heart of the city. It's a very European hotel--not overrun with Americans when we were there--with full service, including a wonderful German breakfast buffet, and a truly wonderful Indian restaurant just outside. You won't think you are in a generic American hotel, that's for certain. Renovations continue, but we would certainly stay there again--and would look forward to it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdRigdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Hotel is 10 minutes walk from the Altstat in Munich, 15 minutes walk from Schwabing district. It's location is perfect as you are in the centre of the city near to everything. The hotel is a boutique style hotel and modern, but is small and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel does offer secure parking, which is a must as finding a space if you're staying a while isn't as easy as you would think. Book the parking when you're booking your room as they have limited spaces. Rooms are modern and minimalistic, which is nice. Bathroom small, with shower, but sill clean and nice. Breakfast buffet has a good selection of fresh food. There is a great Indian restaurant next door to the hotel. The food there is fantastic and is open late, and you only have to walk 10 meters back to the hotel. I would definitely use the hotel again when I visit Munich again in the summer as the location is perfect for all sightseeing in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sod25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#185 of 385 in Munich
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Hotel Carlton Astoria
#212 of 385 in Munich
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#247 of 385 in Munich
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Konigswache
Hotel Konigswache
#238 of 385 in Munich
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#208 of 385 in Munich
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: Fuerstenstr. 12, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $114 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing