We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Ranked #182 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A few minutes from the main railway station and a 15 minute walk to the old centre of Munich, small well-kept hotel ideal for business or trade fairs. The only air conditioning seemed to be in the bar but few European hotels have air conditioning, and they lent me a fan after a warm first night. Friendly efficient staff and a good breakfast buffet. I would recommend this hotel but make sure you get the right Alfa hotel, on Hirtenstrasse.

Room Tip: To the rear of the hotel for quiet (onto a courtyard) rather than the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essexboyracer2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    146
    69
    21
    23
See reviews for
58
102
39
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed there for a night. the location is wonderful, just 5 minutes to hbf and 15 minutes to main Munich's attractions. The hotel hasn't got a lobby and there is just 3 table close to the bar so if you want to visit someone in the hotel, it's almost impossible.
Our room was big enough and there was a refrigerator with a mini bar and a TV, but there wasn't a safety box inside the room, so you should use the it at the reception. and finally I liked the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BehnamBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Alfa is ideally situated to base your stay in Munich. Close to the main station and the city bus tours. Marienplatz is only 20 mins away or 2 underground stops if you don't want to walk. A beer garden is also close by. The hotel is pleasant and the staff friendly. Only problem was the soft pillows!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gybbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancing
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I visited Munich and stayed at the Hotel Alfa Muenchen.The hotel is an adequate 3 star hotel. Our room was clean and tidy and of a reasonable size with a mini bar and television. The bathroom had a shower and a hair dryer was provided. The hotel is positioned away from the main road so traffic noise was not a problem at night.. The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from the main railway station. Breakfast was the usual fare of cereal,boiled eggs,scrambled eggs,rolls and various meats,fruit and yoghurt. Tea and coffee is provided along with fruit juice.
We were disappointed with the lack of a welcome when we first arrived and the attitude of the rest of the reception staff was a little abrupt. We were made to feel a bit of a nuisance. The hotel entrance has four or five steps leading up to reception. A helping hand with the suitcase would have been useful.
The hotel is well positioned for the Marienplatz just 10-15mins walk away or a 2 minute ride on the underground. This is a good 3 star hotel ,don't expect 5 star treatment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieLancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had an unplanned stopover in Munich whilst travelling from the UK back to Oz. The location of the Hotel Alfa is perfect as it just across the road from the train station and a comfortable stroll to the older part of the city. Very comfortable, warm rooms (decor is a bit 70s!) but the room we had was large with a good sized bathroom. The service was excellent and the staff were very friendly and it definitely had a family owned feel. The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ObiWanKenobiNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Hotel Alpha is well located within 5 minutes walk from the main railway station. It is a small but perfectly clean and comfortable hotel for a city break. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable with everything you need. Munich is a wonderful city to explore and as such Alpha represents good value for money. The hotel is located on a small back street as mentioned in other reviews and near to hostel type accommodation but we always felt perfectly safe. Breakfast is a basic continental type offering with egg, cheeses ham fruit etc and perfectly adequate. The Alpha is close (10 minutes) to the excellent main Tourist Information Office where tickets can be bought for tours and the tour buses (also only 10 mins away) which go around the city - all good value for money and worthwhile, Marienplatz, Glockenspiel, main shopping etc is a pleasant 15 minutes walk from the hotel.

TIP: Take the Luthansa bus from the airport to the main railway station - 40 minutes each way and about 15 euros return - a great service.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#332 of 382 in Munich
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#204 of 382 in Munich
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#128 of 382 in Munich
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regent
Hotel Regent
#297 of 382 in Munich
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfa Muenchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfa Muenchen

Property: Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Address: Hirtenstr. 22, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alfa Muenchen 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family driven 3 star hotel, directly in the city centre of Munich, only two walking minutes away from the main railway station. Mostly new furnished rooms with shower or bath/wc, hairdryer, sat-flat-sreen tv, minibar, telefone, wireless connection. All points of interest may be reached within some minutes by walk or by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alfa Muenchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Munchen Hotel
Alfa Munchen Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing