We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Konigswache

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Konigswache
Ranked #224 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is centrally located on a quiet street near the Pinakothek museums. Munich is pretty big to cover on foot, but if these museums are high on your list, it's an excellent location, they're just round the corner. From the hotel to the city square (Marienplatz) is appr. a 25 minute walk. A metro station (Theresienstrasse) is round the corner, if you want to avoid a lot of walking.

The hotel rooms are rather basic, but very clean. The breakfast buffet is very good, rich selection.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, they had good tips on restaurants and things to do.
Parking was eventful (steep slope, small places), but it was convenient to park your car safely inside at a good price (you need to reserve in advance).

If you're looking for luxury, look further. If you're looking for a clean hotel with friendly service and a good breakfast, and all that at a good price, this is a excellent choice.

Would I return? Without a doubt.

An extra tip: the Frida bar opposite the hotel is a great way to make up for the lack of hotel bar.

Room Tip: Rooms on backside of hotel have balcony, overlooking courtyard. Rooms on roadside do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
17
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

PROS: Excellent location, a few minutes from the underground and 2 stops from the central station, but in a quiet area. The room was fairly big, the bathroom was new. TV, wifi and abundant breakfast included. friendly staff.

CONS:the air vent in the bathroom wasn't working, not a lot of staff working in the hotel (my impression at least)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gianpippero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,BC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We booked this hotel because it was close to the conference my partner was attending. It was very much like a dorm room. There was a tv and balcony. Two beds pushed together and a bathroom. No kettle or coffee machine. They did have a small mini bar. There was hardly anyone on the front desk. The maids who cleaned the rooms hung out in the hallway and chatted. They would leave the dirty linen and towels on the floor in hallway until they were finished cleaning. We needed a wake up call for an early flight but as there is nobody at the front desk from midnight till morning we had to set our alarm on our phone,which didn't go off and we almost missed our flight.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in Set/11. The hotel is very close to the city center and restaurants, museums, Pinakotek, subway.The service is very good and breakfast very complete.The beds are comfortable, it is quiet at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValterBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel twice over a couple of weeks; in March we chose to cancel reservations at another hotel as we preferred to return here. The rooms are nicely decorated, simple and elegant, in many of the rooms you have access to a small balcony. The beds are comfortable, it is quiet at night and the rooms spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the breakfast each morning offers a large variety of very good food. We really felt at home here. It is close to the underground station, and very close to many good art museums. It is in the university district so it is intersting to stroll around the check out the book stores.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnk_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We stayed at the Konigswache hotel last september 2007,durning the Oktoberfest we arrived at the hotel a little
before our checking in time .We where allowed to leave our bags there while we went for a walk and a coffey, as the bar and restaurant were both closed.On our return we were shown to our room.The room was faultless and nicely decorated,the staff were very frendily and helpfull,and the breakfast was very good with a wide selection of cerals jucies and cold meats.The only problem we had was that there was work been carried out to the building next door ,as we were out and about durning the day this wasnt a problem.But at eight am the next morning when you wanted a bit of a lie in ,especialy after been to the oktoberfest the night before and your feeling abit groggy ,due to drinking to much great german beer . The last thing you wanted to hear was a gang of builders banging as there was enough banging going on in my head.I know that the hotel had no control over the work next door ,but i do think that they should have made us aware of this before we arrived and offered us an alternative room . A part from that we liked munich loved the oktoberfest .Munich is a good place to visit the people are frenidly and helpfull ,it is also agreat location as it is only an hour or two traveling to many great locations .We would have no problems recomending the hotel konigswache or munich to any traveler.

  • Liked — cleanliness/location to oktoberfest/ city center
  • Disliked — the noise due to buildin g works nextdoor
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spanner59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lex garni im Gartenhof
0.5 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#246 of 382 in Munich
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
#33 of 382 in Munich
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Hotel Carlton Astoria
#204 of 382 in Munich
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#174 of 382 in Munich
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Konigswache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Konigswache

Property: Hotel Konigswache
Address: Steinheilstr. 7, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Konigswache 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Konigswache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing