We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”
Review of Hotel Munich City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Munich City
Ranked #290 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

we arrived a little before 2pm and checked in with a receptionist that couldn't speak English for her life. as entering the room, we were shocked. it was in the shady building behind the main one, it was still not clean, and honestly looked like a junkie was there minutes before with hookers and lots of drugs. also it had the worst cigarette smell EVER. it was simply impossible to stay. then we explained and asked for another room and were taken to another shady building beside, old and unfinished, with rooms without curtains and bad heaters, or instead of beds, sofas. we decided it was better than the junkie smelly one. thank god the one nice person there, mr. weidener, found a woman who wanted a smokers room and gave it to her and two rooms in the main building for us. him and his dog balthazar were very helpful. still, the day after we had to ask them to clean the room since it was 5pm and it was still not made up. also, the showers are very very small. i would stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    87
    72
    38
    59
See reviews for
56
95
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

we stayed there over christmas period the staff were friendly and check in was quick,the room was old fashioned with a tiny television and tatty decor, the bathroom tiles were mouldy and light fittings hanging out.we complained about the room but the room they showed us was worse.we was compensated with free drinks as the hotel was full.on the plus side the bar was nice and modern ,breakfast was okay with a selection of hot and cold food,location is good near to october fest and a short walk to the city centre.

Room Tip: ask for a updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went there for a one night stay. The room was not large but newly renovated with a flat screen TV. People at the reception are friendly. Location is quite central, especially for the Oktoberfest / Theresienwiese is less than a 5-Minute walk away. The included breakfast was good.

Only negative thing which comes to my mind is that Wifi is expensive (8EUR/day)

All in all it was way better than I expected for only 55 EUR/night

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just got back from a trip to Munich. I went with friends for the Christmas markets. Hotels location was really good. Breakfast was fine and covered the basics. Breakfast area is tiny and you find yourself being rushed a little. Also staff are busy so you can wait for coffee.
Reception and bar staff are pleasant but not that helpful and dont speak great English.
If you do book don't let them put you in the building behind the main building its not very nice and looks more like a hostal. Main buildings rooms are alot nicer and clean. They are small but have a tv, and nice enough and clean.
I am sure it was a one off but while there water did go and so we had none for 24 hours.
Its not awful but I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure your in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently stayed here on a business trip to Munich and although I requested a non smoking room when booking, I was put in a smoking room! The room was dirty, it stank, the bathroom was in dire need of a clean and re decoration. I travel alot and this is most definately the worst hotel I have stayed in...

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Spokane, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

When we booked the hotel we were told that 1) there was on-site parking 2) there was internet 3) we had a non-smoking room. None of this was true. In addition, the room was FILTHY, worse than any hotel I have stayed at in my life and I travel a lot - mold everywhere, stains on the carpet, stinks, sink and shower wouldn't drain, etc. They required payment before we went up to the room (should have been a big clue) we went down and asked for a new room, they said no. We asked for a refund, they said no. They were rude and condescending, we went back to the room and tried to make the best of it until I walked around the bed and my shoe stuck to a stain on the floor. We packed up and left, after 5 months we are still fighting with them through our credit card company - absolute nightmare and completely unprofessional. DO NOT STAY AT HOTEL MARIA MUNICH!

Room Tip: Rooms are filthy, they do not have internet access, they lie in their advertising, hotel is ugly, wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCO_5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The photos for this hotel are so deceiving I wouldn't even rate this 1% if it was a hostel or motelit is that gross.
The only good points for us were it was lose to Oktoberfest and the lady at front desk was helpful and polite , it ends there !
The bathroom stank the floors were dirty the double bed wasn't a double just2 singles pushed together.
There was mould and rust in the bathrooms.
We paid just under 1000 euros to stay 3 nights and feel completely ripped off I would rather pay that money to stay in a nice hostel!
I'm sure there are plenty of other nicer places around use this as a last resort !
I read the reviews and thought people were being fussy that is defiantly not the case listen to all the prior reviews !

Room Tip: Just do not stay here full stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seibel
Hotel Seibel
#324 of 382 in Munich
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fidelio
Hotel Fidelio
#300 of 382 in Munich
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#265 of 382 in Munich
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0.1 mi away
Senator Hotel
Senator Hotel
#137 of 382 in Munich
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#148 of 382 in Munich
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Munich City

Property: Hotel Munich City
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 112-114, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Maria)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Munich City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing