We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for public transport and close to the main station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Ranked #120 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient for public transport and close to the main station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

I spent one weekend in December 2009 and one at the end of January 2010 at the Conrad-Hotel de Ville in München. It was freezing outside, but the hotel has a very good heating system.

Both the single and the double room were very nicely decorated. The warm and friendly colours (mediterranean style) were to my liking and the interior of both rooms was appealing, clean and satisfied my needs. At this hotel I could relax and enjoy a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. The single room was quiet spacious: the bed was wider than the usual single beds are and there was even a comfortable armchair and a small table. Unfortunately I found the duvet a bit too short. Although I am not a large person, it seems to be a standard sized duvet which I find to be rather small.

From the main station in Munich it takes only a few minutes to walk to the hotel. Therefore it is very convenient for people who are travelling by public transport and who want to be close to the trains and the inner city.

If you are looking for a room with a view, then you will be dissapointed. The hotel lies actually in a street with sex-shops, bars and take-aways, but there are also other hotels for the average traveller in the same street (three and four star hotels). As a woman on her own I felt quiet safe, although at night I did take the direct way from the opera to the hotel. (Of course that is wise anywhere at night!) As it is not far to walk from the tram station to the hotel, it was fine.

The staff was very friendly and breakfast was good. The buffet gave you a huge choice and I liked the coffee. The restaurant itself is very charming and done in the same warm colour scheme like the hotel.

Next time I spend a few days in Munich, I will defintely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinaLittlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    186
    50
    19
    6
See reviews for
62
97
45
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

As with other posters, don't be put off by the somewhat seedy surrounds, in fact be encouraged, stumbling home late at night there are always people about.
Interestingly talking to a local lady, it seems in the last 5 years or so there has been a massive change in demographics in the area witnessed by the oversupply of kebab shops and lap-dance bars.
However, you are a stones throw from the train station, super handy.
Walk into the old town is about 15 minutes past all the highlights.
You're also close to the S-bahn for trips further afield and nights out (recommend Q-club for wodka-bull partying or pacha for a bit more upmarket).
Service is excellent. The double beds split in to two so rooms can be shared by mates as well as couples.
Night bar is open late, again friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruski_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great ayton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

We arrived at the station with no reservation. Went to the tourist info office in the station. Recommended this hotel. Glad he did, two mins walk away. Although first impressions is that it is in a seedy area with a number of dancing bars, but don't let this put you off. It's quite safe. Really suprised at the quality of this 3 star hotel. Breakfast included. Big bedrooms and beds. Free Internet pc on reception. Good location for city. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siouxsie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

A very clean, well decorated hotel with good size rooms. Rooms at the back overlook a courtyard and are quiet. We stayed for 10 days and found all the staff really helpful and friendly. Good location only 100 metres from the main station and the hub of the tram network. Surrounding area seemed totally safe - yes a few places where you wouldn't take a spinster aunt but absolutely no problems, hassle or feelings of unease. A really good breakfast with a selection of hot and cold food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deben42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

The hotel is right next to the station, although we came out of the wrong exit and walked round the block! We had 2 very spacious triple rooms. Bathroom clean; they came and mended the shower before we had time to ask! Breakfast was all you could wish for, 5 star: bacon, eggs, croissants, different bread, tropical fruit, ham, cheese, can't remember more, there was so much! The waiter recommended an excellent traditional German restaurant in the next street. Great cheap kebab shop next door for snacks!
We had a day at Dachau - don't book a tour, just go by local train from the main station.
Everywhere was close by, within a walk/underground trip.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JulieBWatfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

This is a nice, small, family-run hotel. Its location in Munich is excellent, being a 3 minute walk from the train station and about 15 minutes leisurely stroll to the Marienplatz. The rooms are clean, decent size and friendly, although not exceptionally decorated. We had a room facing the inner courtyard, which was very quiet, but the rooms do not have air conditioning, which could be a problem on hot days. Staff are very nice, helpful and knowledgeable, and the breakfast buffet is good with a decent spread of German and international choices. We didn't eat at the in-house restaurant at night, but the menu seemed pretty typical of Munich and reasonably priced. The Schillerstrasse area is not particularly upscale but it's not really seedy or downtrodden and it seems fine for families and travelers of all ages. Other than the lack of a/c in the rooms, the only minor gripe might be that wireless internet is only available in the ground floor lounge / bar area. On the whole, this is a solid and comfortable hotel for a stay in Munich.

  • Liked — the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — lack of a/c in the rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank melbguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

In any large city there will always be a bewildering number of hotels to choose from, but the Conrad seemed to get good reviews on several sites, and its own website is very appealing.

From the airport you need to buy a single "Gesamtnetz" (whole network) ticket, which was €10 (~ £8.15) at the time of writing. For once, the directions on the hotel's website are very accurate and it is easy to reach from the Hauptbahnhof. It's even easier when you realise that if you arrive on the S-Bahn from the airport you can walk underground until you reach Schillerstraße, rather than have to go through the Main Station and wait ages to cross the road. I only found this out when I retraced my steps on my way into town.

Check-in was no problem, with the staff being extremely friendly and efficient and being able to speak fluent English if required. They were also very willing to put up with my attempts to speak German! One guide book describes the area as "somewhat seedy", but I'm not sure this is totally accurate. Schillerstraße is a busy street with several Kebab shops, Electronic shops and Dubai Gold shops. I didn't feel uncomfortable at all at night, and it is worth noting that both Le Meridien and the Maritim are literally round the corner.

Cleanliness was apparent throughout the hotel, and my room was no exception. The bathroom sparkled. The over-bath shower was good, and the curtain was large enough to stop the water arriving on the floor. The temperature of the water also remained constant for the time spent showering - another big plus. Two more nice touches were a hairdryer and an adjustable shaving mirror. The flat-screen TV in the room was good, and the cleaning was well done.

Breakfast was good with a large selection of hot and cold food. It is served from 6-10am on weekdays, 6.30-10.30am on weekends and holidays. I was particularly impressed that one weekday morning a lady arrived at breakfast at 9.55 to find that the bacon and scrambled eggs had run out. She told the waitress who immediately began cooking some more for her.

The bar is small but pleasant (also a small garden at the back) and the prices are slightly cheaper than in town. There isn't a Restaurant as such, but bar snacks are served (check the hotel's website for a menu).

My 5-night stay covered the weekend, so the average price was €81.51 (~ £66) per night, and I thought I got good value. I would gladly stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any of my friends. It is about a 15 min walk to Marienplatz (the large Platz with the famous Glockenspiel), which I found more convenient than catching the S-Bahn for two stops.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, attitude of staff, within walking distance of centre of town
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cherubino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#96 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#46 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen Hotel Munchen
Alpen Hotel Munchen
#155 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Hotel de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Hotel de Ville

Property: Conrad Hotel de Ville
Address: Schillerstr. 10, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#62 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#69 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Conrad Hotel de Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE LOOK FORWARD TO WELCOMING YOU! Do you want to relax during your stay in Munich? Comfortably explore the diversity of the 'cosmopolitan city with a heart'? Conclude new business successfully? Experience Munich's centre on foot? Go shopping? Recharge your body's batteries? Or a little of everything? Then you've found your home from home in the heart of Munich. Only 200 paces from the main station - and yet still quiet. In CONRAD-HOTEL de Ville. Munich tradition. Mediterranean style. In the heart of the city. The first thing you'll discover as a guest here is our experience in Munich hospitality. This has been cultivated by four generations of my family and it characterises our hotel's soul which guides everyone in the team every day, according to our company philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conrad Hotel de Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Hotel Munich
Conrad De Ville
Conrad Munich
Munich Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing