We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel close to the main station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Ranked #119 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A clean and good standard hotel close to the main station. Standard room with air conditioner - a blessing in the hot Munich summer - comfortable and well maintained. The breakfast is well served, with a good assortment of food, including the famous white "wurst" . Wifi free of charge. The surroundings are not very attractive, with lots of night clubs blinking lights, but access to everywhere in Munich is just easy and fast.

Room Tip: front to the street with air conditioning. Noise is not a problem.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang S, Ass. Manager at Conrad Hotel de Ville, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Roberto 324, thank you very much for the review. Hoping to have the pleasure welcoming you again in our hotel in the future, we wish you all the best. Wolfgang Straubinger (member of the CONRAD-CREW)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Conrad Hotel de Ville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 380 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have to say my experience at this hotel was mixed. The staff were polite and efficient. The breakfast each morning was absolutely wonderful (I love German sausages and breads, so this was like 7th heaven for me). I would love to wake up to that buffet each and every morning.
My actual hotel room was a different story. I had a single room on the 1st floor, and the furniture was extremely dated, scuffed up and worn out. The bed itself was very hard and reminded me of sleeping in a dorm. The bathroom was very clean and modern, but the shower had the worst water pressure I've encountered, never putting out more than a light drizzle. The room was very noisy due to facing the street, and there were always Turks smoking outside, which resulted in smoke permeating my designated non-smoking room (strangely, even with the windows closed). If you stay here, definitely get a room on a higher floor facing the inner courtyard. The location is good, close to the train station, although I still had trouble finding it initially, since it is a smaller hotel and not located on a major street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlosroberto2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

There are many hotels in this area but this one is worth a visit for it is clean, comfortable with a good bar and extensive breakfast menu with attentive staff – a small but quiet garden is a bonus in this city centre location

Room Tip: Ask gor garden facing
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang S, Ass. Manager at Conrad Hotel de Ville, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear CNVECTIS, thank you very much for your review. Hopning to have the pleasure, welcoming you again in Munich and in our hotel we wish you the best :-) Wolfgang Straubinger (member of the CONRAD-CREW)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 9 days end of May early June. We were impressed with the friendliness of the hotel desk cleark immediatley upon our arrival. The entire hotel staff continued to impress us throughout our stay with the friendliness and welcoming nature. Our rooms were clean which is very important to us. Room size was great, beds comfortable, and bathroomfully equipped with hair dryer, liquid soaps, and towel warming rack which we used to dry our clothing. Breakfast was impressive!! Everything one could imagine was included-meats of all types, eggs scrambled and hard boiled, excellent coffee (3 types available), vegetables, and excepplen bread and pastries. Free wi-fi throughout which was a blessing as some folks we met were paying 15-20 euros per day for acces at their hotel. Location was convenient, few minutes walk to train statiion and about 10 minutes to Marienplatz. We read some comments about casino and adult entertainment establishments across from hotel-for us this was not an issue because we wouldn't have known about them except for the names on their establishment; I would stay here with my 11 year old daughter without hesitation. I will add the furnishings in the rooms are a bit run down but for me not an issue, everything was CLEAN which is more important to me.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard have balcony, very quiet, and feels as if you are in a large garden versus la...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shbrri85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang S, Assistant Manager at Conrad Hotel de Ville, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Sherinbri, thank you very much for the very good review. I will discuss it with the whole CONRAD-CREW :-) Hoping to have the pleasure, welcoming you again in our hotel, I wish you all the best! Wolfgang Straubinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Hotel was very clean, very central to main train station and start of excursions by coach - walking distance only 5 mins, and buffet breakfast was very good indeed. We asked for a triple room and were given a very spacious one overlooking the gardenside so it was very quiet. I highly recommend this hotel as it is good value for the money spent for the stay. Staff were also very helpful.

One note that maybe would make this hotel better would be the service of tea/coffee making facilities in the room and airconditioning as I am sure that in the summer when the temperatures are higher than when we were there, rooms would be very hot to sleep comfortably.

Otherwise would definitely choose to stay again in this hotel:) Tourists from MALTA

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner side overlooking garden are very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMSTAFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang S, Ass. Manager at Conrad Hotel de Ville, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear KMSTAFF, thank you for the review and the recommodation. We already thougt abou equipping the rooms with tea/coffee facilities and will start in the near future with this service.

Hoping to have the pleasure, welcoming you again in our hotel we wish you all the best :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

me and my family return to conrad hotel for the third time in 3 years and i want to say that there is almost no bad things to say about the conrad hotel just that there is no little fridge or mini bar in the rooms and suites.we where 2 adults+1 child age 3 yrs and the junior suite was more then enough for us.the beds are comfortable,the water in the showre was always hot,towels was enough.about breakfast i dont have anything bad to say,just warm words.the staff is very helpfull,i must say that the girls nina and franziska was the best in the world to make our visit satisfied.the rooms are clean,no noise heard through the windows.i recomend the conrad hotel very much.

Room Tip: the junior suites are very good for families.the double rooms are not big enough for 2 adults+1 chil...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talKiriatMotzkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang S, Ass. Manager at Conrad Hotel de Ville, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear talKiriatMotzkin, thank you very much for the review and the recommodation. Hoping to have the pleasure, welcoming you again in our hotel, we wish you all the best.

Wolfgang Straubinger (member of the CONRAD-CREW)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We got a room at the Conrad by going to the tourist office at the train station. For 65 euros we got "internet", breakfast and the room with personal bath. On first walk to the hotel I was nervous, the street its on looks sketchy, but once we got to the hotel it looked nice enough. Reception was friendly and helpful. The room all we needed and clean. It was quiet.
The air/heat was weird it was either on or off. So if it was on it would just get colder and colder. Also, when we left for the day we left the do not disturb sign on the door as we didn't want housekeeping. When we returned, both days, we found they had came in, and removed the sign from the door! We did not like this at all. One whole star away for that right there. Also, a big important thing for us was internet access. Our room had none, or really really slow access. In the lobby it was pretty decent, but not in the room. We got screwed over on that. Over all the hotel was good. Great location, good breakfast and comfy, quiet rooms. You could do much worse, and probably a little better.

Room Tip: High floor, away from street noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephola18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#103 of 385 in Munich
589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#54 of 385 in Munich
594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpen Hotel Munchen
Alpen Hotel Munchen
#111 of 385 in Munich
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#42 of 385 in Munich
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Hotel de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Hotel de Ville

Address: Schillerstr. 10, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#60 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#69 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $117 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Conrad Hotel de Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE LOOK FORWARD TO WELCOMING YOU! Do you want to relax during your stay in Munich? Comfortably explore the diversity of the 'cosmopolitan city with a heart'? Conclude new business successfully? Experience Munich's centre on foot? Go shopping? Recharge your body's batteries? Or a little of everything? Then you've found your home from home in the heart of Munich. Only 200 paces from the main station - and yet still quiet. In CONRAD-HOTEL de Ville. Munich tradition. Mediterranean style. In the heart of the city. The first thing you'll discover as a guest here is our experience in Munich hospitality. This has been cultivated by four generations of my family and it characterises our hotel's soul which guides everyone in the team every day, according to our company philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Conrad Hotel de Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Hotel Munich
Conrad De Ville
Conrad Munich
Munich Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing