We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Meier City Munich
Ranked #158 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great experience!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 days here! The location was great (located very near the main train station). The breakfast (included in the price) was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. (As with all European hotels - the rooms are on the small size.) The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rls62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    128
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
76
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waalre, Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Meier City hotel during a recent weekend trip to Munich. This is a decent, average quality city center hotel: acceptable, decent size rooms with somewhat outdated furniture (beds may be hard to some people's taste), OK breakfast room with decent food choice (but failing replenishment during the last hour), no lounge area, marginal guest internet desk without printer (room Wifi did not connect). Best thing about this hotel is its location, 2 minutes walk from Hauptbahnhof and only 5-10 minutes in opposite direction to downtown shopping streets and most Altstadt attractions.
Make sure however to make a reservation for a room away from the street! We selected this hotel based on the fact that Meier is located in a pedestrian area, away from traffic noise. So expecting not too much outside disturbance we accepted a frontside room. Because the hotel lacks a fresh air or air-conditioning system, we went to sleep with windows open. Did we know that only a few doors away there is a club with a young crowd partying and shouting in the street until 3 AM? After a disaster first night we were easily relocated to the much quieter rear of the building. But also here a word of caution: the courtyard has been filled up with hotel additions, any sound coming out of those rooms' windows echoes up in the narrow courtyard area. Corrective shouting helped to quiet down some late night guests continuing their beer garden party in their rooms. Staff is generally helpful and friendly, apologetic about some of the less positive aspects of our stay. A box of chocolates was handed upon our departure as a token of good will.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerJanWaalre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

They say that the wifi is free, but is not quite true. Only for a few minutes in a private hot-spot of a German telecom company. After that, you must pay for it. I asked the reception and they told me that it was free, but they couldn't manage to show me how (they were not quite helpful).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had reserved and confirmed 2 nights for 6 people (2 rooms). When we arrived, fresh off the plane from the US and exhausted, we were told there was a mistake, the hotel was full, but they had reserved rooms for us at another equivalent hotel close by. We dragged our luggage through the streets, an unusually hot day, 15 minutes away to the other hotel only to be told we could only have one night there. We asked them to call Meier City and tell them this was an unacceptable alternative. We were told to return to Meier City, and were given our rooms as reserved. There was no explanation as to why our reservations were initially cancelled, why we were only given 1 night at the other hotel, or why our rooms suddenly were available after all. There were no apologies, though we were given chocolates as a way of making up for the inconvenience. Once we got our rooms, the rest of our stay was pleasant and uneventful and the hotel very satisfactory, but based on our initial reception I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank db04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
228 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Location is the best you can get, as the Karlzplatz is 100 m away from the left, while the central Hauptbahnhof is 100 m on the right, which is ideal for daily trips out of Munchen(Salzburg, Dachau and others).
Rooms were clean and of average size, the breakfast was very good, as there are many things to select from, and you can even have your own type of eggs to be made.

The center is just 7 minutes walking and the hotel has many places to eat from just footsteps away.

I didn't notice if there was an AC in the room, as we didn't need one when we stayed there.

I highly recommend this place to anyone coming to Munchen

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad_Ardalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

the hotel is clean, nice and is perfectly situated close to central station, to the city center and to a U bahn and s bahn station. Almost everything is within walking distance. the breakfast is very very rich and tasty. A very nice place to stay in Munich.

Room Tip: it is better to have a room facing backyards, because it could be noisy at the rooms facing the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MishelSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

What you can expect:
- Clean and basic room and bathroom (however, they are small)
- Best location, train station is across the road, main square is few meters away
- Nice breakfast
- Helpful reception staff
- Value for money

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaurav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luitpold
Hotel Luitpold
#191 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#75 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#61 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#172 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stachus
Hotel Stachus
#166 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meier City Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meier City Munich

Property: Hotel Meier City Munich
Address: Schuetzenstr. 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meier City Munich 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private owned Hotel Meier City Munich is centrally located in the pedestrian zone, only a few minutes' walk from the main railway station to Stachus (Karlsplatz). The district of Ludwigsvorstadt is one of the most popular parts of Munich. You can easily reach from the hotel the sights of the city, shopping, restaurants, bars as well as the fair. Not far from the house you will find the subway and S-Bahn stations Central Station as well as Karlsplatz / Stachus, bus stops for city tours as well as various taxis. The spacious and modernly equipped hotel rooms feature soundproofed windows, free Wi-Fi, a shower or bath / WC. Start your day with a varied and rich breakfast buffet and the competent service of a private owned hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Meier City Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meier City Munchen Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing