We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wifi not free”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Meier City Munich
Ranked #162 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

They say that the wifi is free, but is not quite true. Only for a few minutes in a private hot-spot of a German telecom company. After that, you must pay for it. I asked the reception and they told me that it was free, but they couldn't manage to show me how (they were not quite helpful).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meier City Munich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had reserved and confirmed 2 nights for 6 people (2 rooms). When we arrived, fresh off the plane from the US and exhausted, we were told there was a mistake, the hotel was full, but they had reserved rooms for us at another equivalent hotel close by. We dragged our luggage through the streets, an unusually hot day, 15 minutes away to the other hotel only to be told we could only have one night there. We asked them to call Meier City and tell them this was an unacceptable alternative. We were told to return to Meier City, and were given our rooms as reserved. There was no explanation as to why our reservations were initially cancelled, why we were only given 1 night at the other hotel, or why our rooms suddenly were available after all. There were no apologies, though we were given chocolates as a way of making up for the inconvenience. Once we got our rooms, the rest of our stay was pleasant and uneventful and the hotel very satisfactory, but based on our initial reception I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank db04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Location is the best you can get, as the Karlzplatz is 100 m away from the left, while the central Hauptbahnhof is 100 m on the right, which is ideal for daily trips out of Munchen(Salzburg, Dachau and others).
Rooms were clean and of average size, the breakfast was very good, as there are many things to select from, and you can even have your own type of eggs to be made.

The center is just 7 minutes walking and the hotel has many places to eat from just footsteps away.

I didn't notice if there was an AC in the room, as we didn't need one when we stayed there.

I highly recommend this place to anyone coming to Munchen

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmad_Ardalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

the hotel is clean, nice and is perfectly situated close to central station, to the city center and to a U bahn and s bahn station. Almost everything is within walking distance. the breakfast is very very rich and tasty. A very nice place to stay in Munich.

Room Tip: it is better to have a room facing backyards, because it could be noisy at the rooms facing the stre...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MishelSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

What you can expect:
- Clean and basic room and bathroom (however, they are small)
- Best location, train station is across the road, main square is few meters away
- Nice breakfast
- Helpful reception staff
- Value for money

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaurav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice hotel for simple amenities, although note there are no sheets, just a doona. WiFi was a struggle and the hotel took a day to fix the router, but were helpful and once up and running worked OK. The best thing of this hotel is its proximity to the centre of Munich. All within a short walk of a few minutes is the main train station, the Hop on/Hop off buses, Marienplatz, Hofbrauhaus and tour groups. Breakfast was nice and a decent choice of different breakfast items.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hoops777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Very easy 3 minute walk with luggage from the station, across the Banhof Platz to the start of the pedestrian street. Another easy 5 minute walk to the centre, Marien Platz and other historical sites of significance.The reception staff were friendly and very helpful and we were able to access our room at 1pm instead of 3pm. The room was functional, clean, with sufficient space and bright fresh bathroom. Warm, clean. The king double is 2 singles made up as singles and pushed together. Free wifi but great difficulty accessing it. Could only do so from the internet room on floor 1. Breakfast had a good range of hot and cold food and the option of capuccino.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_addict13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luitpold
Hotel Luitpold
#190 of 385 in Munich
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#178 of 385 in Munich
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#61 of 385 in Munich
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#81 of 385 in Munich
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#157 of 385 in Munich
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#50 of 385 in Munich
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meier City Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meier City Munich

Address: Schuetzenstr. 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $123 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meier City Munich 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private owned Hotel Meier City Munich is centrally located in the pedestrian zone, only a few minutes' walk from the main railway station to Stachus (Karlsplatz). The district of Ludwigsvorstadt is one of the most popular parts of Munich. You can easily reach from the hotel the sights of the city, shopping, restaurants, bars as well as the fair. Not far from the house you will find the subway and S-Bahn stations Central Station as well as Karlsplatz / Stachus, bus stops for city tours as well as various taxis. The spacious and modernly equipped hotel rooms feature soundproofed windows, free Wi-Fi, a shower or bath / WC. Start your day with a varied and rich breakfast buffet and the competent service of a private owned hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meier City Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meier City Munchen Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing