We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel right by the train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
KING's HOTEL Center
Ranked #54 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This establishment provides a nice balance between value for money, location, and quality.

It is located less than five-minutes walk from the Munich central train station. If you take the right exit - you'll be about a block away from Marsstrasse. Although this is definitely the 'seedier' side of the town - vs. walking the other way from the station leads you into Karlsplatz and Marienplatz, with high-end shopping and restaurants - it's still close enough to those areas that you save money and enjoy a quick walk.

The hotel itself is of higher quality than its surrounding area. Friendly helpful staff who speak English. Secure elevators and well furnished rooms. WiFi didn't work in the rooms (and they only give you 30-minutes for free daily - which is silly) and breakfast was expensive. Newspapers were provided gratis as well as a map - showing the 10-minute walk to the lovely center of Munich.

The rooms were some of the nicest I stayed in whilst in Germany. With iHome radio to charge/play your iPod, nice beds and English TV - definitely good quality for the price. Staying on the top floor in a single room, the ceilings were sloping acutely - such that I could hit my head if I wasn't careful. The shower was a nice walk-in variety and the bathroom floors almost seemed warmed.

I found nice (cheaper) places to eat/have breakfast than in the hotel (by the train station) but would recommend this hotel for budget-concious but quality-oriented travelers to Munich.

Room Tip: If you're tall - be careful of rooms on the top floor which might have sloping ceilings - that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brain_bleed_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very pleasant hotel a few minutes walk from the station. The reception staff were very welcoming and the room was excellent if a little old fashioned. Breakfast was vey good and we had a comfortable stay and although a 10 minute walk from the main centre the location was very convenient.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We (4 friends) stayed here for a couple of days for the 2012 Oktoberfest and found the rooms clean & comfortable. The breakfasts were very nice with a good choice & helpful staff. We had drinks on a couple of nights at the little bar near the reception and found the girls very cheerful and good with the cocktails. Also the staff dressing in the traditional costumes was a great touch.They were quite helpful with things like finding a laundrymat also. Would recommend this hotel as the location was excellent and close to train station also.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while visiting Munich for the first time. Hotel was very close to the main train station (although we came out the wrong exit as doubled the length of the walk). Our room was ready by 11 am, even though check in was not until 3 or 4 pm. Room was clean and a decent size. Bathroom was big by European standards. Room also had an armoire, new looking flat screen tv, and desk. We enjoyed how close the property was to the train station, and walk felt safe at night, too. Had drinks in the (tiny) hotel bar before turning in for the night. Prices were reasonable and service was friendly. First major downside was that free wireless only came in increments of 30 minutes and was rather slow. For $160US would have appreciated unlimited wireless. Second, for the girls, hair dryer was terrible and although the website advertises bath products included, ours came with only a soap dispenser in the shower. Would definitely stay again for touring Munich, but would bring my own toiletries and hair dryer!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel was well situated for the main Station and Oktoberfest. It's a bit dated with a lot of wood panelling and a large mock four poster bed without the two end posts. It was very clean with a nice sized bathroom and we had a great nights sleep. On the Monday we realised it was on a main road only after looking out the window as it was very quiet.

The staff on reception were friendly with good local knowledge. We were recommend a nice Italian restaurant by one of them.

The hotel also has a left luggage room which is good for a late flight. We managed to visit Oktoberfest and the site where Willy Wonka was filmed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluea61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

In Munich for a one night business trip, the King's Hotel Center was an excellent choice. Five minutes walk from the Hautbahnof, the staff were first class and could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was also very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JolyonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

You can say that the hotel is located in the same block of the main train station. Easy to access. You can take a subway to go to the "old town" in one stop. The laundry was expensive. I ws with a 5 months baby and everything was ok. perhaps the air conditioning system could be better, but its ok.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeuJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 389 in Munich
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#42 of 389 in Munich
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,768 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#16 of 389 in Munich
877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#32 of 389 in Munich
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KING's HOTEL Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KING's HOTEL Center

Address: Marsstr. 15, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Munich
#32 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $100 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KING's HOTEL Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KING's HOTEL Center is your centrally located accommodation that offers luxury fit for a king (or a queen). Our 3-star superior hotel offers a quiet, peaceful retreat decorated with loving attention to detail and where you'll feel right at home at a great price. A four-poster bed in every room and furnishings to contemporary hotel standards will make your stay in the Bavarian metropolis an experience you will not forget. Whether here for business, an active vacation, or a quick city getaway, this is the perfect accommodation for your time in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your KING's HOTEL Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Hotel Munich
Kings Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing