We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel very hot bedrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
KING's HOTEL Center
Ranked #51 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
oldham UK
Level Contributor
230 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Nice hotel very hot bedrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights as we visited the Xmas markets
Nice hotel we had room on first floor which was a smoking room our fault for not asking for a non smoking room the corridor was really smelly
The bedroom was so hot and even knocking off the air con did not help much had to open the window to cool the room
Had breakfast first day ok but only had a choice of scrambled egg boiled egg or hot dog type sausages as the hot food
used the rail station the next day for a brilliant breakfast
Drank at the bar both nights nice atmosphere and drinks reasonable value
Very central location and good value for money
Staff very helpful with any request

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevekathybithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    529
    142
    19
    10
See reviews for
151
554
52
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Maior, Portugal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 night in order to visit the Christmas markets. Brilliant location as a very short walk (5 minutes) to the hauptbahnhof Munich (the main railway station) Staff were very pleasant and friendly. They were even happy to check us in online for our flights and print off our boarding cards. Rooms very pleasant and powerful shower in bathroom. Good value for money. We will be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1946Siobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very handy location within five mins of main railway station. Clean comfortable room, only complaint was that the room temperature was too high so we had to sleep with the window open to cool it down to a reasonable level. I would consider this a minor point though as everything else was great value especially the breakfast which was plentiful and refreshed continuously during service. All staff seemed very pleasant. Stroll down to Marienplatz and back an easy walk, just enough to work off some of the beer and Gluhwein!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_PaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We were in Munich for a concert at the Olympiahalle and wanted somewhere central to stay for a decent price and comfortable.

Kings center provided both of those. It is probably 2 mins walk from central station and is perfect for all public transport connections. We used trams to get to the castle and both local and underground trains to go everywhere else. It's walk able to the main square in 15-20 mins but so easy to jump on tube. Fast, efficient and cheap.

If travelling by public transport I'd recommend the MVV ticket for 3 days which cost 23 euros approx for the 2 of us.

In terms of hotel, the room was decent size, v comfortable, and great shower.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Only negatives were that the corridor and room smelled of smoke and breakfast was exoensive, although it was plentiful. After payIng once we then ate over at train station cafes the following 2 days.

Would recommend and would use again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and had a very pleasant stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We also experienced the bathroom odour mentioned by other reviewers but were moved immediately and had no further problems. The room was quite small but was very clean, as was the bathroom. There was lots of choice at breakfast with both hot and cold food and as much coffee and juice as you could drink. The location of the hotel is great for access to Marienplatz, the city centre and the station. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a reasonably priced, clean and friendly hotel that is convenient for sightseeing and transport links.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Having spent quite some time searching for a hotel to take my girlfriend on a surprise weekend to Munich I decided based on tripadviser reviews and the unique look to book the Kings Hotel for a Christmas Markets break, I booked the hotel in August.
Upon arrival at midday we were greeted by the receptionist who said that unfortunately it wasn't going to be our day or his and he explained that there had been a glitch in the booking system and they did not have a room for us. At this point he explained that he had booked us into a superior 4 star hotel and tried to sell this as a bonus to us, after much effort trying to explain that this was not acceptable and that we had specifically booked this hotel 4 months earlier it didn't seem to get us anywhere and through pure frustration and the want to get on with our holiday we got in a taxi and headed to this supposed superior hotel. Even though they had told us that they didn't have any rooms for people to check in that night a family of 3 easily checked in with reception as we were leaving!!!! 15 minutes out of the city we arrived at this supposed superior hotel which was on an business park miles out of town and as it turns out is 179th on the tripadvisor listings for Munich not better than the 25th we had booked and were looking forward to. We asked the receptionist at the new hotel to contact the Kings hotel and with my girlfriend at this point on the verge of tears spoke saying that we were not accepting this alternative and that having myself got a degree and background working in hotels know full well that hotels get gready when they see the possibility to take bookings at much more value than the advanced ones I was not accepting what was on offer. Amazingly after previously saying that there were no hotels available in the city centre when at the hotel earlier they managed to find us one within 5 minutes walk of their hotel which was better than the one being offered but no transport back into town was offered and we had to take 2 trains to get back to the main station.
We stayed that night at this bland inoffensive hotel and were impressed by the staff there but the Kings Hotel had refused to put us up for 2 nights as they had space for us on the 2nd night and had promised an upgrade and a free breakfast for this night (even though it was a Sunday and the hotel quiet!)
Upon arrival that day we were greeted by the same receptionist who went overboard in trying to impress us and personally took us up to our room. It is hard to comment on the room as clearly they had given us one of the biggest in the hotel which was nice but our feeling of resentment and anger towards the hotel meant it was hard to relax and enjoy.
We turned up for breakfast on the final morning and were asked to sign a receipt for 24 euros for the cost of the breakfast so had to go down to reception to remind them of there agreement before we could have something to eat.
Having had a limited amount of time to enjoy the city we cannot for one minute accept what the hotel did to us having wasted 2 hours of our time on the first day sending us to the other hotel and making us trek back into the city at our own cost and a further hour on the 2nd paking up, checking out and moving hotels.
No financial compensation was offered for our inconvenience nor would they accept that the problem was through their own greed rather insisting it was a booking glitch, they lied to us saying that no one could check in that evening and clearly had we paid the 180 euro rack rate for the room I am sure they would have accommodated us that night!!
Our memories of this trip will be one of anger and inconvenience which is a shame as the City itself and the markets were really enjoyable. I would avoid this place at all costs as we would not like any other couples to have an experience like ours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arriving in Munich without a place to stay, the tourist information center found this hotel for us and we were very happy for the tip! The hotel is located around the corner from the main train station and a 20 minute walk from Munich's main attractions (Hofbrauhaus and the Marienplatz area).
The hotel itself was cozy and ornate while fully modern. I enjoy boutique-style hotels and found the rooms to be charming, clean, and comfortable.
My favorite part of our stay was the breakfast. The dining area was consistent in its charm and the buffet offered perfect hard boiled eggs, sausage, cold cuts and cheeses, yogurt, pastries and jam, cereal, fresh fruit and juice, and a nice coffee and tea selection with three varieties of honey. Did I mention I loved the breakfast?
The staff s helpful and offered same-day dry cleaning services, a full bar, and even a bowl of apples as a courtesy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgdn1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#38 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#10 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KING's HOTEL Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KING's HOTEL Center

Property: KING's HOTEL Center
Address: Marsstr. 15, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Munich
#32 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KING's HOTEL Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KING's HOTEL Center is your affordable accommodation choice in central Munich that still offers luxury fit for a king (or a queen). Our 3-star superior hotel offers a quiet, peaceful retreat decorated with loving attention to detail and where you'll feel right at home at a great price. A four-poster bed in every room and furnishings to contemporary hotel standards will make your stay in the Bavarian metropolis an experience you will not forget. Whether here for business, an active vacation, or a quick city getaway, this is the perfect accommodation for your time in Munich. DEHOGA, the German hospitality association, has awarded the KING's HOTEL Center 3 stars for years and added the Superior rating in December 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your KING's HOTEL Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Hotel Munich
Kings Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing